You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Filipino Social Stigma: What makes a Filipino, Filipino? Fuck up the stereotype!

in Cross Culture3 years ago

Thumbs up for this post. Criticism is everywhere and anytime . Let's include here also the status in life. I can remember before when I was small, I was with my friend . Her mother grabbed her away from me and said " Don't you dare make friends with people who came from a poor family ". I took it a challenge to myself that no matter how poor we are, as long as our intentions are good then it's not a big deal.

Sort:  

" Don't you dare make friends with people who came from a poor family "

I experienced it before. I didn't put it to my heart and be worry about it. As you have said, criticism is everywhere and anytime. As long as they don't hurt me physically or become emotionally abusive, I don't care. I think we should be unaffected by this comments. We knew ourselves better.

I took it a challenge to myself that no matter how poor we are, as long as our intentions are good then it's not a big deal.

I couldn't agree more. Thank you for sharing your experience.