You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A potato speaks 3 languages. Which language do you want to learn?

in Cross Culture • 2 years ago

My mother tongue is Spanish and you did amazing 🥰 I can't recall if you mentioned it but how long have you been learning it? AND YOUR JAPANESE? WOW! I know nothing about Japanese so I couldn't say if you made any mistake but it sounded just the TV shows 🤣🤣🤣🤣

I do think there are people who have more like a language brain the same as there are people who naturally understand maths or music really well, but I could say that, as you mentioned, the beat method in my experience has been learning the things I usually am interested and talk about in my daily life as well as learning the verbs to be, to have, to do, and its conjugations, and that kind of everyday verbs that form the 80% of our conversations! And I watch TV Shows and listen to music like crazy 😅

I've been learning French for the past 8 years but I haven't been really disciplined in it :( I would say I might be in a 40% and I have DEFINITELY noticed I cannot study different language at the same time. I need to focus in only one and since I would like to speak like 7 languages more 😅 that makes me go slower.

Sort:  

I learned Spanish for 6 years in high school...the only thing I learned was the accent (Mexican?) and maybe 200 words of vocabulary + Yo estoy, tu eres etc.

My Japanese took about 5 years of inefficient study. I used to read novels but after I stopped speaking for another 5 years now long text is difficult.

I am going to go really deep with this book, deep enough to the point where it isn't about language anymore, it's about personality and spiritual health :-) I can't wait to share it, and I'll be sharing a lot of bits from it at hive too whether video or text.

Yeah, you need either discipline or genuine interest. The interest needs to be in the language itself, not the idea of being able to speak one day. Play!