Help Save Cross Culture

in Cross Culture2 years ago (edited)

F7A85CD4-225A-4F46-980F-0C4AC657F3A6.jpeg

My goal in starting the The Cross Culture Collective was to make it easier to start conversations with people from a wider variety of backgrounds and perspectives. I also hoped to encourage people to introduce their daily life in a way that was culturally informative to people from other parts of the world.

I wanted a place where we could learn more about how others see the world, especially to connect north and south and east and west. One of my strongest convictions is that culture belongs to us, it’s not only something that we inherit but something that we can create, and I want to co-create with a wide variety of people with different backgrounds

I’ve had ideas to do more with this community but I’ve always felt that it should be a team project and I wanted to focus on what I know could actually get done and so our curation account @crossculture has been the main focus of the project. I did not want to get in over my head with things that were not sustainable or that would have required more commitment than I or others could give.

I’ve never really had strict control over the community account. The fact is that I hardly log on to the account, though I try to keep tabs on it. My role has just been finding dedicated people to keep the project alive and setting guidelines for what kinds of posts to curate and what rate to set beneficiary rewards, things like that. I also try to moderate the chat room and occasionally leave prompts to encourage certain kinds of interesting conversations.

I’d like to thank publicly the current and past team members @starstrings01 @ceparl @kemmyb @kenechukwu97 @romeskie @ailindigo @jizzyjie @la for all having helped to keep this community afloat. @starstrings01 and @ceparl specifically have kept the community going when I was too busy to get involved. It’s not just empty words when I say “There would be no Cross Culture Collective without you” I hope we can keep it going.

The project is a team effort and I try to be less of a boss and more of just a coordinator, bringing the right people and the right ideas together.

For reasons I don’t think we should get into here, our main delegation and trail support have left Hive and in doing so has powered down their HP. @crossculture has gone from a $6-10 upvote on posts at peak to a $1-2 upvote. Our curation posts (which help pay both our curators and the curated posts) have gone from $20-50 at peak to around $3.

I’m very grateful to our main delegator up until now, but we could really use some new delegation.

At peak, our community was channeling $500 a week of rewards to dozens of users for helping us all understand their world. I would like to get back there eventually and keep encouraging quality posts and engagement among new users who are having a hard time finding a specific niche. I also want to make sure our curators are paid because they keep the project alive.

I will try to keep this project alive even if we aren’t able to significant rewards. I see some curation projects that keep grinding at it with rather low HP and trail support, but I still appreciate getting a $1-2 upvote from them from time to time. That being said, a larger upvote makes it much easier to keep people active.

We have two options:

1 The first is to find daily support for our curation posts and delegation, which I encourage any larger (or small) investors reading this to contribute. @crossculture is where to delegate.

2 If we don’t get more daily support on our curation posts, I will have to temporarily change the rate of curator pay from 25% of curation post to 80+% of curation post. That will cut the rewards distributed to curated posts in half. If our total VP is high enough, this won’t be a problem because we’ll have a significant upvote for curated posts.

I am open to other ideas about how to keep this community strong as long as it’s something that we can manage. The point is to have fun and connect, I never wanted this to feel like a job for anyone.

If you are close to someone who has a significant amount of HP to delegate please share this post with them. I don’t want to tag anyone here because I don’t like to be tagged randomly but I hope that enough people share this post to help us get significant delegation so we can keep rewarding everyone for quality content and interactions.

Even if we can’t get any large delegations, if we manage to get 20 delegators of 500+ HP, it will help a lot to keep us strong.

Also, please don’t feel discouraged from using our community. Even if we were to lose all our curators, I would still curate from the Cross Culture community with my own account. I think we have an interesting collection of people to learn from and connect with so please keep posting there!

🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎

My work:

📕 Confessions of the Damaged psychedelic spiritual fiction

🎸I + Everything - ambient folky music

🎬Self Help For Trolls - vlog

Confessions of the Damaged 1.1 - Out now!

Confessions_of_the_Damaged_1.1_cover_final.png

F4CD1B1ECCD442A1B52D9F956DCA8A5B.gif

Come join Hive Cross Culture and Join our discord

Please consider delegating to @crossculture or following our trail 🙂

🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱a

Sort:  

Investors come and go in many projects. It's sad that we lost Tribesteem on the chain, but the team Crossculture are still together are ready to move forward.

Whatever the case may be, we will surely find a solution to this.

It can be frustrating if we focus on the biggest investors but we have numbers so we’ll figure it out. Thanks for the hard work.

There are so many worthy projects and communities in the Hive Ecosystem, and this is definitely one of them. I'm sad to hear you lost your primary delegation for @crossculture, but hope you decide to keep plowing forward, regardless. I know it can be frustrating at times (which I say as a niche niche community founder) but we need all the communities we can have that add value, and I don't mean NFTs!

=^..^=

Well i haven’t really plowed along for a long time, more like rolling flopping along and sometimes hitting a rock and taking a break cause ouch! But yes, we will keep going! Thank you!

I noticed the listen change when I finished exams. Because I haven't been active with hive or crossculture during my exams. I was like what's wrong.

Now, I decided to check @tribesteemup account and found that it is already a lost project.

Crossculture is still strong since we have a lot of culture based community and we can still build it. In time, all will be well.

I don't disagree with all Kenny's issues with Hive. My point though is that he actually had the power to make things a little better but it would have taken a lot of maturity and patience. He could have actually gotten two or three other whales on his side for some issues if he didn't demonize them. I don't fault him, I know very few people who could have handled that well, most people get emotional when they feel attacked.

Hive is imperfect but as long as good people are here and it's not getting worse and worse, I'm sticking around.

It's good to always have you around friend. All would be better in no time.

Hello,I am sad that @tribesteemup has withdrawn,in general this curation trail has supported me a lot ,now I am placing my publications at 100% I want to raise my hp,but do not doubt that my first delegation will be for this curation project.Thanks guys for supporting me ,even though at the beginning I did not keep constant ,you always make me feel welcome and show me that Hive is an excellent option to create content and invest.I know that this project will continue because it has a great team.

Glad about that. Our goal was always to keep people who make an effort feeling supported and get them talking with each other more. We will still be here and still offer our votes even if some things change

Thanks for the update, you are such a wonderful soul! I believe these things happen. Don't worry, it would get bigger with time.

Hi! @theycallmedan , could you please help assist this community with a little delegation?. It is a very strong community with strong unity and goals. This community helps us to learn from each other's culture. Thank you.

Thanks for trying with him. The only problem with Dan is everyone wants his attention and support so he doesn't notice or have the ability to help a lot of them. He is one of the good ones, but we shouldn't rely on one or two supporters I think.

We got good people here though and a lot of them so I will keep focusing on the conversations and relationships.

Thanks man

Cross culture community is no doubt a place where people accross the globe come to understand each other. When I joined Hive, it waa one of the most flourishing communities. But that's the truth that the upvote is a motivation for people to publish content. They want to ve rewarded for their efforts.
I can't delegate right now, as I am still a red fish 🙈 but i can give you prayers @selfhelp4trolls .
May God help the community to regain its strength

Yeah, I just feel attention goes where there is money. It doesn't mean we can't do good stuff without it, it's just easier to gather people if we have it. We will figure something out.

I am hopeful that there will be a supportive group here soon

It won't still stop or discourage me from joining the Community.

Great! I hope everyone feels the same.

Congratulations @selfhelp4trolls! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 17

Sorry to hear about what just happened. Investors come and go on hive. You'll likely get more investors as time goes by if you don't give up on the project.

That being said, have you tried to apply to ocd community incubation project? I don't know, but you might get lucky and get incubated. I know a lot work has gone into this project and the community is active. Perhaps you can go to ocd server and apply.

Good luck, bro.

Oh man!

We hope for new investors. Meanwhile, we're still here and will continue being active.