Decentralizing My Content - I Just Joined LBRY!

in Threespeak4 years ago

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Hello there beautiful humans!

Welcome to my first ever cross-platform, HIVE & LBRY upload!

I've been creating content for the last 4.5 years, over on the HIVE blockchain (formerly STEEM), and now that I've completely removed myself from the corporate social medias, I'm excited to start expanding out into more of the decentralized-SM realm.

I write, speak, and teach about a wide variety of things, including mindful living, minimalism, anarchy, cryptocurrencies, science fiction, emotional trauma, and really just anything that is up in my life. Sometimes it's just me sharing what I'm going through right now, and sometimes it's a research project that's taken me months :-)

For those of you who have been following me on HIVE, don't worry: this will still be my primary blog, I'm just branching out a bit.

If you'd like to get started on LBRY as well, this link will get you started with some free crypto :-)


I actually remember speaking with some LBRY folks at Libertopia 2-3 years ago, and thinking it was a great idea, but also being neck-deep in promoting, building, and creating on STEEM (which was in a huge boom phase), so I never joined.

Anyway, my relationship with content has changed a lot over the years, and while HIVE is certainly going strong, I don't find myself doing a whole lot of promoting or anything, because most of the people I know have already joined... or aren't going to leave FedBook until it's gone.

As I mentioned in the video, my biggest questions at the moment are:

  1. Does anyone have a top recommended guide to LBRY? I want to learn more before I start playing around with too much.
  2. How does the community feel about re-posting of content that has already been uploaded other places? (like to channels I am currently taking down)

LBRY Invite Link: https://lbry.tv/$/invite/@kennyskitchen:a



bipcot.jpg


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Hey man, welcome to LBRY! Good to see you on that chain too. Sorry, I don't think I can help you out with the guide. I have discovered it by just playing around on it myself, and in the end I did not go too deep in it. I basically stopped at sharing my books. So it you're interested, I invite you to check them out (literally, and don't even bother bringing them back. That's the kind of library we are!)
These are my sustainability related ones, and these just a random mix of some others.
Enjoy!

Oh, that's awesome, I didn't realize that you could upload various other kinds of files too. Intriguing!

Do you know where they "LBRY inc or whatever" stand on copyrighted materials? Like if I started uploading TONS of literatures... might be fun.

PS: Following you now :-)

Well, I've been wondering about it myself, as I was uploading tons of literature, with the intent of letting it be downloaded by others. But apparently, that's their concept. Though I haven't read their whitepaper, or anything.

I just posted a video asking the community over there what kind of stance there is. The official FAQ says some things, but I'd much rather hear what matters to the actual community since it's a protocol.