You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hey 3speak - I am new here!

in Threespeak2 years ago

Congratulations on your wise decision to broaden your horizons to new platforms and allow that more people be able to perceive and appreciate your audiovisual content. :)

By the way, did you have to provide your Active key in order to complete the 3Speak registration process when you associated your 3Speak account with the one in Hive? };)

Sort:  

Hey thank you for your kind words! Happy that i did that step for sure. About the active key: there was the option to use keychain but I decided to go the active key way.

Now you can do it through Keychain ;).

Now you can do it through Keychain ;).

Well, the Chrome extensions of Keychain is not working well at the moment. And therefore, I can't use it and I don't feel very confident about using it in order to complete my 3Speak registration at the step of associating my Hive account.

Besides, the fact that you can use Hive Keychain to complete the 3Speak registration process, does not give you any guarantee that Keychain is not supplying your ACTIVE key without you even knowing it, since it is an automatic process that occur in the background.

Uhm... what still strikes me as a very curious and intolerable thing. it is the fact that they have finally modified the page to add that new button with the option to continue with the registration process through Hive Keychain and yet they have not corrected the discrepancy and confusion between having to use the "Active" key or the "Posting" key in the original option. Or that at least they openly confess that what they really want is our Active key which they should clarify exactly why.

As you know, I've been making this same complaint for more than two years. And unfortunately we still have not received a satisfactory answer, explanation or clarification on this matter from the responsibles of 3Speak. };)

 2 years ago (edited) 

For what I know, to give the posting authority, you need to use the Active key. I think you have not understood that. Try giving the posting authority just with the Posting Key and you will not be able to do it.

I know, it's confusing, but that is how Hive works.

Nope, the confused one is you. You do not have to provide your ACTIVE key at all in order to give posting authority.

Try giving the posting authority just with the Posting Key and you will not be able to do it.

That only happens in 3Speak. Since the times of steemit almost 6 years ago, I have never had to provide my active key on any other platform to grant posting authority.

I just tried it and it's not possible, I'm going to record a video as an example, so you can see.

Perhaps they should also add Hivesigner as an option. And obviously finish editing and correcting once and for all that incongruous discrepancy error on the website with the use of the correct key that I've been talking about for more than two years. };)

Here is the video, with examples and proofs:

Thank you for the effort in trying to explain the situation with a video from your point of view brother. :)

But come on Eddie! Don't make me write more than necessary!!

When I post an article from the PeakD website, or Leofinance, or Palnet, or Neoxian, or Stemgeeks, or dBlog, or d.buzz, or from the Ecency UI among dozens of others that I could also mention. All my articles without exception automatically and simultaneously also appear published (posted) in Hive.blog and obviously also registered in the Hive blockchain. Along with all my comments, upvotes, downvotes, etc.

And you know what? At no time, ever, never and in any case did I have to supply my private ACTIVE key to grant "Posting Authority" to these other websites to make this happen as I describe. Everything works as it should without providing my ACTIVE key.

The only second layer platform running on the Hive blockchain that apparently doesn't want to work this way is 3Speak. And I wonder why?

There is no excuse for having to supply your Active Key in order to grant Posting Authority on any website or second layer platform.

The Active Key is only reserved to access your wallet and carry out monetary, financial and/or other special transactions that justify them without exposing the security of your account at risk.

You never have to use your Active Key for anything except when you want to access your wallet to carry out one of the financial transactions that I've already described. And in some cases to vote/unvote witnesses and few other things like that. Period. };)

 2 years ago (edited) 

Eres necio pues...

postingAuthority.png

https://hivesigner.com/revoke/@threespeak/

Para Hive.Vote:

image.png

Te dejo esto y ya no pienso hablar contigo. Investiga más, no se trata de mi opinión. Dar la Posting Authority es dejar que otra app publique o vote por ti, darle el permiso para que use tu llave posting. Cuando solo publicas en un lugar y te vas no es necesario darla, cuando quieres programar publicaciones en Peakd, por ejemplo sí se la necesitas dar y te piden la active.