You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Web2 vs Web3 - Let's Talk About It

in Threespeak3 years ago

I really like to listen to your talks & thought ramblings as they're quite entertaining/interesting due to your visionary views. I think you're right with most of what you're saying, but you tend to be a bit idealistic/puristic sometimes and I believe for it to take at last 4-5 more years until fully web3 applications can compete with current web2 monoliths.

As an example, I would expect for most of the world to have internet by now; as the internet is a few decades old already, but roughly 50% of the world's population doesn't have access yet.

So, what I wanted to say is: things tend to take a long time and web2 isn't as bad as you sometimes make it. Heck, even what's currently called web3 oftentimes isn't even truly web3.

The debate by @themarkymark around HiveEngine is a good example. If I'd play devils-advocate, I could say that Leofinance isn't nearly as web3 as they make it out to be.

  • The token is on a blockchain, which actually isn't really decentralized. (Hive Engine)
  • The frontend is closed-source; not open-source.
  • Protocol level changes are made & approved but a small circle of people.
  • They are thinking about adding a centralized database layer to improve the speed (which I can fully understand)

However, even though all of these "problems" exist, it's still providing something unique, that classic web2 can't give, even if it's not fully web3.

Sort:  

I also agree it will take a very long time . Bitcoin's success (and by extension eth and web3) is maybe not within our lifespan. It will always be on the fringe until it's not, but it has to win over the long run.

  • because it can't die.
  • because it's good.

And that's all you need to win.

I would say Hive is true web 3. Same with Bitcoin. Very few outsides of that can call themselves web 3, and I put ETH in that category with their 80% premine moving to PoS where the foundations tokens will have a centralizing vote on which consensus rules are implemented (33% of the network is needed on PoS to fork in new changes)

We see what happens when web 2 ideology tries to enforce itself on web3 fundamentals, you get what happened with Steem vs Hive.

Web 2 is broken. While we have just a foot in the door, going from a shut door to where we are now is 100x easier to gain momentum. In the next 10 years, bitcoin could displace gold as a web 3 store of value. Hive could easily upend several web 2 pain points. If you look at censorship as inflation to their core value as a site, we are looking at censorship inflation on a compounding level we have never seen before. Right now is akin to when JS censored everyone that mentioned anything bad about Steem, that was the death knell to the real users with pride and they left to Hive. That same situation is happening now across all major web 2 platforms. While yes I consider myself a purist, as in I don't allow an inch of tyranny to get a foot in the door when it comes to my morals, I am also a realist and there is no reason in the next 10 years, the internet is nothing like we know it today. I could be wrong but I don't think I am. Web 2 will turn into an advertising ramp for web3, like ad agencies.

Web 3 is more than just blockchain, it's IPFS, is decentralized CDNs and data encoders, storage providers, and everything in between. We need to decentralize each pain point of web 2 before we can grow wings and fully support our own weight. At the pace of innovation, we are currently experiencing vs the lack of innovation from web2, I would not bet against the hungry ones in the long term or even the midterm.