You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Community Token Talk - The Cutting Edge of Web 3 - Ep. 14

in Threespeak2 years ago (edited)

The issue here is that if you follow a downvote or upvote trail, that trail will eventually do things you dont agree with.

It's really time consuming to personally get everything that is upvoted or downvoted. The informationwar has upvoted stuff before that we had to later remove the upvote, but everyone who follows the trail also has to remove the upvote which they have to manually do. They usually dont remove it as who has time to be on hive daily.

That can create scenarios where people dont know their power is being used to downvote stuff they wouldnt want downvoted(or upvoted).

Lately the downvoted people are responding back, which creates bad PR for the downvoters and headaches to deal with theh didnt previously have to. Any bad PR with downvoting on Hiveis bad PR for decentralized and or free speech movements, there isnt any way to explain ones self out of it.

I think the best thing for most situations is to not join a Downvote Trail. The old ways of people being downvoted by huge amounts or nuked and accepting it are over, ideological downvoting has consequences. Some of the top witnesses will start to see they arent so high up as their support is eroded by the people they ideologically downvoted. @logiczombie and others are banding together and getting the word out to people to unvote the witnesses who downvote things that arent spam/illegal content/plagiarized content/etc.

Nobodies reign lasts forever and some of the top 20 witnessed could lose their spot just by asking 1 or 2 people to stop voting for them. Nobody is going to put up with this stuff any longer, this is a 5 year old chain and we need to move past ideology based downvoting permanently.

Sort:  

Which is exactly why i am downvoting anyone who thinks the downvote utility is working.

The downvote is broken, and its VERY OBVIOUS it needs to be acknowledged IMMEDIATELY, before long term damage is sealed into the chain for ever.

Burning the downvoted rewards would be a much less bias approach to downvotes, instead of returning the rewards to the pool, we burn them so the biggest payouts dont benefit from downvotes.

I can get behind that.

Delegate to @logiczombie or just follow him with your votes as I did if you want a show of force here.

We upvote him previously with our 500k hp curation trail.

nicely done!

Thanks for the upvote on my comment :)

If you would like to help our project grow please consider delegating 500 to 1,000 HP to @informationwar.

The more delegations we get the better we are able to upvote reward people who post in #informatonwar #deepdives #politics #news etc.

Thanks!

I am powering down all hive until the witnesses start acting like individuals, if I can't vote for 20 unique individuals who do not share a collective interest, I don't plan on using this mafia blockchain, the conformity is sickening.

If the witnesses do manage to diversify in real time, real world acted out fashion, then I will potentially return my stake.

Until further notice I will just be cashing out 100% of what I make due to the time I wasted getting downvote.

DPOS is a volatile and dangerous governance for a blockchain.

Deep Dives will be coming out soon. I've talked with V4Vapid just yesterday about it for 3 hours.

Its coming as a second layer for DD AND IW content.

Dont give up yet!

Here's an idea.

I had 12,000 HP before I rage quit over hives downvoting issue.

If you could Peg the value of my vote, as that was my main purpose to have staked hive, to the equivalent of my highest held Hive Power. Then that would incentivize it for me.

You could potentially do this for all people, offering them a share equal to the largest sum of powered up Hive that the account had ever held.

You would be buying back the lost vested interest in Hive, from people who were committed to the idea and likely just left due to down voting. I know at least 5 people who just vote on Hive and have upwards of 25,000 HP, they don't post because whales downvote them.

If you could Peg the value of my vote, as that was my main purpose to have staked hive, to the equivalent of my highest held Hive Power. Then that would incentivize it for me.

You could potentially do this for all people, offering them a share equal to the largest sum of powered up Hive that the account had ever held.

You would be buying back the lost vested interest in Hive, from people who were committed to the idea and likely just left due to down voting. I know at least 5 people who just vote on Hive and have upwards of 25,000 HP, they don't post because whales downvote them.

Deep Dives can't make a token that is pegged to the value of people's upvotes on Hive. The purpose of Deep Dives is for people to also earn rewards from a 2nd layer token as well as the 1st layer token. The 1st layer token is always going to have the most value, there are no chains that exist where a 2nd layer token is worth more than the 1st layer token that I have seen, so we couldn't match someone's Hive upvote it would be impossible.

Well I would like to think we achieved something if we found a way around that, Proof of Brain was close.