Saying Goodbye to a Talented Musician & Friend

in Threespeak2 years ago


The other day, I learned that a gifted musician friend, Roman Bunka, passed away. He was 71, but it was still hard to believe, since he was young at heart, as a person, and ever-curious, as an artist.

I'd gotten to know Roman when I lived in Egypt, nearly two decades ago. As a German, he came to view Egypt as his adopted, spiritual home and Munich where he lived, as a 'green hell'.

I found myself in happy tears remembering my fond memories with this thoughtful and sensitive soul, who I consider myself lucky to have known. Roman had a deep connection with music from my part of the world & the oud (a guitar-like instrument used in Arab countries) which he played with virtuosity.



As one reviewer put it:

... there, between his fingers, the modi and scales of the Arabic mystic meet with the electrifying ease of the urban Bluesmen. Roman Bunka is the mediator and the center of a world-music fusion, call it success, joy or utopia if you want to describe it!

May he be free of all suffering, surrounded by Celestial Music 🤲🏼

إِنَّا لِلَّٰهِ وَإِنَّا إِلَيْهِ رَاجِعُونَ

You can find out more about Roman’s remarkable musical background and collaborations on his website, here