DUTY CALLS: SEMINAR/WORKSHOP FOR SCHOOL HEADS & SDRRM COORDINATORS

Hello there, friends. Last week, I was with @richdreamer – our school head for this 3-day seminar workshop for school head and school disaster risk reduction management coordinator with the topic – Development and Enhancement of Contingency Plan which was held at ALTA CEBU Resort initiated and sponsored by the DepEd Cebu Province Division.

1.jpg

Honestly in the first place, I wanted to decline the request for I am out of budget and I am not in the mood to spend money for miscellaneous. Secondly, I am only an assistant DRRM coordinator in our school. But then the primary DRRM Coordinator declines which makes me of no choice but to represent for our school. And something kicks into my mind that I should appear to this workshop seminar. And I know God wants me to join in this type of seminar to improve my capabilities, effectivity, my efficiency and my sole purpose of serving the public particularly for the students.

2.jpg

And so , I happily agreed and started to prepare my things necessary for the seminar. With the aid of our mayor, we, together with other school heads and SDRRM Coordinators were given a service bus for us to arrive early and safely as possible. But one thing I forgot; I mistook that our venue is a big school capable of catering a batch of 6 municipalities. It was not written on the memorandum nor announced in our group chat. For me, a school is the appropriate venue because again I thought we have a hands-on training or something as the topic suggests about disaster risk reduction management which I understand to have encompassed the primary measure in dealing with hazards, fire, typhoons, before-during-after a calamity, maybe first aid, and some paperworks. The fact that I packed with me matting, towel, blanket, soap, extension wire and many more because I thought the venue is just any random school. With my delight, A beautiful hotel resort is our accommodation site. A perfect place to unwind, strengthen my eagerness for my job as a teacher.

3.jpg

When we arrive in the venue, it was really hot. It’s city I know but the impact of the concrete walls, its shiny paints and the hot glare of the sun hurts my skull. I do not fell sleepy because I slept on the way. Having nothing much to do for it is just day zero of our seminar, I thought of doing some devotion moment with God. So, I get my bible, water and my cellphone and find some cool and windy place to relax and proceed on my spiritual study.
4.jpg

First day of the seminar workshop appeared to me as simple usual seminars that I have experienced. The facilitators explain and present to us their part on the contingency plan. I listened very well so that my efforts on joining the seminar won’t be going to waste. Then on second day, the workshop is on hype or intensified for the 6 districts involved are separated to fast track the delivery and for better catch on the lessons. Suddenly, our district DRRM coordinator has chosen me to represent on behalf of the secondary to discuss and share my complete contingency plan (12 forms in all) in front of everyone. I am shocked for a moment there but my mind tells me to accept the opportunity for me to defeat my fear on stage. And presto, on the third day, I have achieved and defeated my personal record in speaking in front of big personalities in the government.
5.jpg
6.jpg
7.jpg

Contingency plan is only a two word but has deeper meaning with regards to the anticipation, effectivity, mitigation, and regularity for any unexpected or unimaginable hazards, disaster or calamity to occur or hit within the vicinity of the school. It encompasses the background of the school with regards to experienced previous hazards including the aerial view and news reports, and data analysis of hazards both natural and human-induced. It also bears the particulars on the number of students, personnel, infrastructures, and non-infrastructures; and projections on probabilities of affected individuals. Even on the budgetary estimation on emergency kits, tools and equipment, injuries, and damages; and clusters on the response team and agencies.

This responsibility is on me though it is not included on my work as a professional teacher but God puts me here for a purpose and I know it deep in my heart, with all my strength and all my perseverance to serve my country. I gladly accept the challenge and obligation that has appointed on me as the school disaster risk reduction management officer. I truly thanked God for the opportunity He has given me to improve in my work and to better serve His people.

Thank you, friends, for reading till this part of my blog. See you on my future experiences.

8.jpg
9.jpg

10.jpg
44.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations Sir @batanggwapo and Ma'am @richdreamer You presented your school contingency plan very well.