Learning arnis and making sungkaw in our physical education

Hi everyone! In this blog, you will have something you may not yet be familiar with or haven’t heard about it. In the previous blog I had shared about my life and even some creepy ones. So now, in this blog I'll share to you all one of my experiences in our subject Physical Education. Let's start!

Have you ever heard about Arnis?

How about sungkaw, have you seen one?

What is Arnis?

Arnis is part of the Philippine culture. It’s a martial art that the Cebuano believed was applied by Lapu-Lapu way back in the time when we fought for our rights against the conquest of the Spaniards led by Portuguese Magellan. The fighting used sticks as a substitute for swords or any fighting weapons. There is are lot of history of Arnis not only in Cebu but also in Iloilo, Batangas, Ilocos, and other provinces. It also reached Hollywood where Bruce Lee used stick fighting in his movie Enter the Dragon, where it became famous. Nowadays, certain people strive hard to make Arnis known, so they formed an organization. They preserved arnis and they inspired people especially the young ones to know more about Arnis or Eskrima. In today's generation Arnis became a sport with some body protection with different shape of sticks, it can be flat or round. But, still they preserve Arnis as a fight using stick.
Just like our PE teacher Sir Jude, he is an Arnis enthusiast and he is part of the Pamilya Eskripula. In his subject, I got to experience making sungkaw the weapon used in Arnis, and learned some techniques.


How to make sungkaw?

  1. Prepare the materials needed
  • Rope
  • Varnish
  • Flattened bamboo
  • Sandpaper
  1. You have to clean the bamboo so it has smooth edges using sandpaper.
  2. Put it in the fire to achieve a burnt-like color, but you have to flip it every seconds so it won’t totally be burnt down.
  3. You have to put varnish on it using a brush so it will have this shiny-looking weapon.
  4. Lastly, put the thin rope on the part where the handle would be. The width of the thin rope in the handle depends on the size of your palm.

Screenshot_2024-04-13-12-54-33-02_c0d35d5c8ea536686f7fb1c9f2f8f274.jpg


We also got to perform through video and we performed it without and with a partner the 12 basic techniques in Arnis. My partner in every PE making video is my mother.

The photos used in the striking and blocking are the screenshots of the video I made for our project and I apologize for the ruined quality.

12 striking techniques

Strike 1- targets the left temple

Strike 2- targets the right temple

Strike 3- targets the left side of the body

Strike 4- targets the right side of the body

Strike 5- thrust to the stomach

In 6 and 10 when you attack the hand should be facing upward. For the 7 and 11 the hand should face downward.

Strike 6- Targets to stab the left chest

Strike 7- targets to stab the right chest

Strike 8- targets the lower left leg

Strike 9- targets the lower right leg

Strike 10- targets to poke the left eye

Strike 11- targets to poke the right eye

Strike 12- target to strike the top head


12 blocking techniques

Block 1- defend the left temple

Block 2- defend the right temple

Block 3- defend the left side of the body

Block 4- defend the right side of the body

Block 5- defend the stomach by hitting the attacker's sungkaw downward

Block 6- defend the left chest

Block 7- defend the right chest

Block 8- defend the left leg

Block 9- defend the right leg

Block 10- defend the left eye

Block 11- defend the right eye

Block 12- defend the top of the head


My mother and I performed both the 12 striking and blocking techniques after I performed them individually. In addition, I invited some kids too to teach them and perform arnis with the sungkaw.

After I submitted the video to Sir Jude he later invited me to join Pamilya Eskripula. But, I wasn’t able to accept the invite due to the distance, it was still during the pandemic. I hadn’t been vaccinated at that time so I couldn’t keep on traveling.

Indeed, in our physical education subject, I learned a lot and I always learn something new. I get excited every time we will have a task to do and it's very challenging to learn only by watching the videos he sent to us. If it wasn't because of this subject I wouldn't be able to experience performing something that I like to do. I was able to gain knowledge about a lot of stuff, especially arnis and sungkaw.

You're in the last part of my 4th blog. Thank you and shalom ka-Hivers!✨🤗

Sort:  

Congratulations @leetalks! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 100 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 250 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thank you for this information ✨🤗

That's great @leetalks! We're excited to see your accomplishments on Hive! We keep cheering you on for your next goal!

BTW, we noticed we miss your support for our proposal. Mays we ask you to check it out and consider supporting it?
All you need to do is to click on the "support" button on this page: https://peakd.com/proposals/248.
Thank you!

Thank you for this information ✨🤗

Go for it, @leetalks! Set your sights on that new target and keep pushing forward. Remember, every small step brings you closer to your goal.

BTW, we noticed we miss your support for our proposal. Mays we ask you to check it out and consider supporting it?
All you need to do is to click on the "support" button on this page: https://peakd.com/proposals/248.
Thank you!

My apology, I supported the proposal minutes ago✨🤗

Thank you for your support @leetalks, much appreciated!

Wow! You executed like a pro. 🤭 I've known you as a super shy and soft girl, so it's amazing to see that you indeed performed so well. I'm proud of you!

I'm still super shy but not too soft Ann awh HAHAHA but really I was enjoying while doing it. I didn't expect it would turned out like that tho I just really tried to learn every bits of what is in the video.

you performed well😊👍

Thank you @kyla-bacarro it was the time I realized I should have join something like karate before cuz' I really like doing it. But I was too coward back then HAHAHA

I'm not familiar with sungkaw, and honestly, it's the first time I heard of it. I'm also learning arnis (though I'm in a hiatus now because I don't want to impede them in their serious training for the upcoming meet). I'm still a beginner tho, and I'm glad that I learned that arnis have another weapon aside from the kamagong and rattan stick that I knew. The 12 striking and blocking techniques were really familiar with me because I was scolded because I often forgot some of them during our training (lol). Learning arnis was really fun, and I'm glad I also discovered that someone in Hive is also into it.

By the way, I just want to clarify this part (?).

Bruce Lee used stick fighting

I think it isn't stick that he used in that movie, I think it's called tsako or nunchako (please correct me if I'm wrong). Anyway, nice blog! It was really informative!

I think it was a Kali stick. I had just stated it in general since my teacher always mentioned Bruce Lee's stick fighting, my apology.

Anyway, I'm happy to know too that someone here in Hive can relate to my blog. If I had the training together with our instructor maybe I'd experience getting scolded too.

Thank you for reading my blog @ridgette ✨🤗

Fantastic guide in making Sungkaw! Your step-by-step instructions make it seem so accessible. Can't wait to give it a try and learn more about this fascinating martial art. 💪🥋

Yey! You really should try it. It is very useful especially to us women at least we know some of the basics for self-defense.

Just a reminder, take it slow first and then do some warm-up. Because you really would have some body aches, if you really execute them with force.✨🤗

I've already moved on Arnis 😭 My skills just can't.

It's okay Jes atleast we got through it HAAHHA

Thank you for this very informative blog @leetalks, surely your viewers has a lot to say about this since we all have P.E subjects in class. Keep blogging, more blogs to go.✨🍃

Yes @brandonwrites but I think not everyone can relate about Arnis but still I really want to share it. Let's keep blogging and see you around!✨🤗

You are so good in Arnis Ma'am @leetalks
Thank you for sharing on how to make sungkaw and the 12 striking techniques.

Thank you so much @diamondinthesky I appreciate it a lot. You can try the basics of arnis at home too✨🤗

Whoa, is that an official group? Anyhow, congrats! You really nailed it, ate (or wait, is this of the second year?)

Anyhow, I miss the arnis days. I'm totally not happy with the badminton skill issues I'm having TwT

Thank you @elsieyaaa! Yes, it's an official group and our instructor is part of it and he has a position or something (I'm sorry I forgot what it is). That's why he is so naning about it and encouraging us because they are aiming for the Arnis to be known not just here in the Philippines, but, they will bring it internationally as a sport.

And yes again, it was when I was in my second year. Oh and I hope your badminton skill issues will be resolved (or was it resolved already?) But really don't pressure yourself too much. Maybe you're really meant to be an Arnisadora and not a badminton player HAHAHA

It's in my blog how I'm having badminton issues (basically giving myself an April Fool's joke by climbing up and down). But IDK, I miss that first sem though. Hope my school has that as well.

Wow, what an incredible journey into the world of Arnis and sungkaw @leetalks ! Your dedication to learning and sharing your experiences is truly inspiring. It's amazing how physical education can open doors to new passions and skills. Keep up the fantastic work, and thank you for sharing your fascinating adventure with us! 🥋👏

Thank you @keith-allen15 for reading my blog. PE wasn't my fav before but because of Arnis, I get so excited every time we have a task, even if it's tiring and you know some body aches it became so enjoyable! I would agree that PE would unlock new passions and skills ✨🤗

Wow! thanks for sharing as I really don't know what'sungkaw is in my life and now I knew it ☺️
I know Arnis, as this one of our festival here in my town called Kali-kalihan Festival.

You executed it well and thanks to that as I learned from you☺️

My pleasure that I was able to give you some information you haven't known about. I'm curious about the Kali-kalihan festival as it was the first time someone mentioned it. Now we're both learning from each other, thank youuu!✨🤗

Actually it's our festival here at Don Salvador Benedicto, The Kali -kalihan harvest festival.
Well, Arnis also known as kali, the national martial art of the Philippines.

Yes, I was familiar with the Kali but not the Kali-kalihan festival. I hope in the future, I can read a blog of you about the festival (or have you made one already?)✨🤗

To make a long story short, it is a festival dance that showcases performances about Arnis.
Stay tune. I'll mention you if I have a blog on it.

Yey! I would really love to read it, soon!✨🤗

Very good. @leetalks Thank you for sharing.

Thank you @fixyetbroken I appreciate it a lot✨🤗

Hope you continue loving arnis. @leetalks

I will✨🤗

It makes me laugh just to remember this one. I can still remember how I edited my video speed because I was very slow and awkward hahahhhha

WAHAHAHAHAHA but at least Reshyyy we got through it and we've experienced it. I spent days learning it. I even vandalized a tree to practice where to hit before I tried to mama✨🤗