Freedom of Education - Which Hat and Which Side of the Fence?

in Abundance Tribe4 years ago (edited)

The biggest challenge in debating and wading through the myriad of arguments and decisions about education, is knowing which hat you're wearing and which side of the fence you're on. As if there are only 2 sides... 🤣

I wear more hats than most people I know, which clouds and colours things and makes most issues less tidy.

asia1822454_1920.jpg
Image by Sasin Tipchai from Pixabay

For starters, I am a business owner and an employer, in Thailand, with a post-graduate level education from Australia but working with often illiterate and functionally-illiterate people from multiple language groups from across Thailand and Burma. My business struggles enormously to find people to work in the office, do the accounts, to package orders for delivery etc because literacy and numeracy are not really standardized.

I have had endless problems with low-level production workers who can't measure out 100 grams on a scale. I have staff who need a calculator to work out 16 x 3 and can't manage courier or postage calculations. There are many more vague educational issues that are hard to define; just yesterday, I needed a shipping box for 8 bottles and the young woman brought me a box that barely fit 4. She doesn't have the spatial or conceptual thinking skills to be able to guestimate something.

Yesterday I needed receipts sorting for the 2019 end of year accounts, and it was an issue that the young woman I asked to do it struggles with the dates when they are in numerical format.

But I'm also a mom of an exceptionally intelligent young woman who turns 16 this coming Wednesday. My daughter, Ploi, is half-Thai and is fluent in English, Thai and Korean. Actually, she is far more than fluent and has earned awards at national level for English and Thai languages, Public Speaking, Science and Art. As it happens, right now, we're having lots of conversations at home (just her and me - a little solo-mom-2-wheeled-bicycle family) about university, gap years and what skills, study, career desires expectations she has.

As I said, my thoughts about Freedom of Education depend on which hat I'm wearing and which side of the fence I'm on, that day.

person916181_1920.jpg
Image by Pezibear from Pixabay

In many ways I would like my daughter's education to be more free. For example, in order to study chemistry, she HAD to also study Pure Math and had to do it in a different class group away from her friends, who all chose the "easy math" stream.

Mama, have you ever really USED calculus since you left school?

🤣🤣🤣

I was honest with her. I have owned my own business in both Australia and Thailand for 29 years. I can't even remember what calculus IS!! 😆 I told her, up front, that really the ONLY math I use daily is percentages, calculating area and volume, simple addition, multiplication etc,and basic formulas for spread-sheeting. I use a calculator and I have an accountant. End of story.

In the end, she CHOSE to do calculus because she doesn't want to dumb herself down and she wanted to prove to herself that there IS no boxing in of "humanities people" vs "math-science" people. In her Year 11 mid-term exams 2 weeks ago for calculus, she got 55/50 for the pre-test (bonus question) and 82% for the real exam. Her logic? Keep the options open and the GPA up.

With my mom-hat on, I would prefer her to ditch calculus and to study Chinese as a 4th language. And I'd like her to study art history, only it's not taught here at secondary school level.

So would I, personally, like the choices for education to be freer?? Oh Sweet Goddess Yes!! What I'd REALLY LIKE is to have her at school half-time, doing concentrated classes in core subjects of our choice. Sort of like a buffet. We'll take 2 biology and 1 chemistry, 4 Thai language and 2 Advanced English, with 2 Korean classes, 2 Chinese lessons, a side of world history and a tiny helping of functional math once a week. Instead of the one hour a week for art, let's have one half-day per month art seminar and let her finish her project, in her own time, in the well-equipped school art room or at home. I'd like her to be part of an entrepreneurship team, working on a real-life entrepreneurial start up. I'd like her to be able to go to crypto-currency seminars. School sport? forget it. But a regular yoga class and gym time she can build on when she's off to college? Yes please.

I'd also like it all to be paid for by someone else. 😆

I'm NOT a fan of 100% home-schooled or unschooled, simply because we see SO MUCH of that here in Thailand among westerners who are exempt from the strict attendance requirement for Thai citizens. Chiang Mai, Thailand, is a mecca for disillusioned westerners who want to homeschool without rules, or unschool, but who don't always have the resources or the skills to manage or support that well.

Consequently we know more than a few young kids my daughter's age (15-16) who WANT to do things in their later life that they are already not able to participate in. Cos they only speak one language (English) or they have no solid grounding in math or science. We actually know Thai children who have one home-schooling western parent and a Thai mom who defers to whatever he wants; subsequently, the child can't read or write Thai properly (although speaks fluently) and consequently is already unemployable in their own country at age 16. We know half Thai-German kids whose western parent thinks they will miraculously learn German to full fluency in 6 months during their gap year, so they'll be able to avail themselves of a free university education back in the motherland. 😲

My employer self would like the opposite. Hard core rigid math and language curriculum, standardized task tests (externally monitored) that I, as an employer, can request to see. Cos I'm really at the stage of having to revert 50 years and setting my own simple entrance exam to assess numeracy and literacy before I waste my time to go through a job interview!! Quarterly exams for potential employees, no guarantee of employment but we'll short list you if you get great scores. 😆 Mostly, in that exam, I'd like to set basic problems for them to resolve:

We have received an incomplete address in our online store. Do you (a) google it via google maps and complete? (b) phone or email the customer to clarify and give more details? or (c) delete the order so your work is finished on time?

An unexpected wholesale customer arrives without an appointment. Do you (a) phone the boss and ask what to do? (b) take their full contact details and make an appointment for when the boss is back? or (c) tell them the boss is not here and close the door?

🤣🤣🤣

Personally I would prefer far more relaxed years of education, with half-time schooling being possible. I would like MORE STANDARDIZED TESTING GLOBALLY at Years 3, 6, 9 and 12, as they have it here in Thailand. What I've learned is that my 15 year old is MILES ahead (by 1-2 years) of her Australian peers in languages, math and science, but lagging behind in world history and "softer" subjects like geography. She's not had nearly enough sport (ball skills lacking) but is programming a computer like a pro and earning her own crypto-currency on #Hive already. Today, Saturday, she's hanging out at school (voluntarily) to paint a mural on the new Green Shop that the Student Council (she's the Vice President) is initiating as an entrepreneurial fundraising-educational project. She's currently studying for IELTS and SAT tests that she expects to take privately, as proving her competence for global college options is just considered normal here.

Funnily enough, preparing this Hive post, makes me realize how much more flexible education has been here for us in Thailand. No, it's not cheap to go to a world class bilingual school here but it's far more affordable than it would be in Australia. Ploi is hoping to study at the Incheon, South Korea, campus of the University of Utah (a world top-100 university), and she currently wants to double-major in Psychology and Communications. Classes would be in English but she's fluent in Korean so could manage to live and work there quite easily. During Covid Quarantine she has been keeping up her Korean language skills using Duo Lingo. Next term, starting in October, we hope to find her a private Korean tutor.

Ultimately, what this post has made me understand, is that the freer the educational systems and structures, the MORE hardcore the Standardized Tests MUST be. Not just Standardized Tests for university admission, but for any future employment.


This post was written in response to the #educationdebate challenge hosted by the Homeedders community #hive-199420: Education Debate Challenge #2 How Important is Freedom of Education?. You still have time to respond and join the debate - entries close Monday 10th August.

HiveOnBoard1.gif

Get Your FREE Hive Account

Come check out my natural Thai herbal business… yes, we ship world-wide

pure thai naturals 3.png
Visit our online store here



Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive


ABUNDANCE TRIBE.gif
Creating Abundance for & on Hive

Sort:  

Can I choose (c) for both those questions, please? 😜

I always thought it strange why parents who have different mother tongues wouldn't raise their children bilingual. It's so much easier for them to grasp languages when they are young and learn different writing. My grandmother was German and I always felt that if she'd raised her children bilingual, then my mother could have done the same for us. I kind of understand why she wouldn't, however, considering it was so close to the end of the war.

For us it was always about discrimination. Aussies discriminate against people with accents, and so we were NEVER allowed to speak Dutch at home after we migrated to Australia. 😭 I've been having Dutch lessons as an adult to drag my mother tongue back up to acceptable levels. 😆 It's somewhat ironic having Dutch classes in Thailand. 🤣

For Thai women it's a status thing. Most of the Thai women who marry western men are from farming families. Poor = Thai & farm. Rich = English, urban etc. It's quite the status thing for a Thai mom to admit her kids don't speak Thai well. Many of them have the dream to go back and live in Australia, UK, Germany etc and find out, far too late, that it's most unlikely to ever happen die to visa issues. By then, their little kid with the VERY western name, has missed the grounding in Thai language. When my daughter was little, Thai moms would ask me, aghast, why I gave my daughter a THAI name.

The whole education "thing" is so rooted and entwined with culture, perceptions of wealth, and class.

Great challenge! Thank you. More please....

!ENGAGE 25

Yet if you'd spoken both dutch and English from a young age you would have native accents with each. My sister's friend is German, but her daughter was born in England, so she grew up speaking both languages and her accent in each is like she's a native speaker, which she pretty much is. They've been back in Germany for years now, but she can still speak English like a native.

It shouldn't matter what anyone else's impression of you is, giving your children the most options is the best gift you can give them.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I love the potential employee exam questions!

There are several approaches to this, but it is true that the hat and the side of the fence matter.

In my company, a college degree or at least several years of college level education has become a requirement. Especially since my team often deals with marketing teams of clients that have BSc./MSc. level employees as our contacts. But for our family business (restaurant), it is a completely different ballgame. The approach that worked the best for me is putting employees in positions where their actual talent shines brightest. I often changed part of the scope of the company because I felt it would benefit our team more. I'm not sure it would work in your type of business. Also, I have no idea how hard it is to find bilingual students who want to start their career as low-level production workers in Thailand, but I'm guessing that strategy won't work either.

As for your daughter's case. I could write a whole book on how rigid the educational system is.

Thanks for sharing this story. I made me rethink several things I do myself.

I DO hope you're writing something for this Education Challenge too - whole book not required in one sitting. 😆

It is terribly hard to remember to change hats sometimes - and to change expectations. I really appreciate having the discussion and even voicing this stuff aloud - as a solo entrepreneur this tension lives all too often alone in my head. Pls drop your post URL here for me. 😊

!ENGAGE 25

Oh boy, what did I get myself into 😂.
I'll try to write an entry to this educational challenge today. Link will be dropped when it's online.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I though I had job opportunity to help you out at your workplace 😉

Home schooling in India is not preferable..and parents wants their kids to hooked to their studies...totally a different scenario as to what your kid is enjoying....having the freedom does allow kids to expand their horizon...more towards betterment.....now your post gave me a good idea of checking any online language classes for my kids....may be German or French or Spanish........but Indian prefer first two more..

When I need a special ayurvedic consultant from India, I shall keep you in mind!!

Spanish is smart in terms of South America but perhaps not super useful in Asia - why not Chinese or Arabic? French and German people call all speak OK English, as can many people from Spain. But yes, online language learning is awesome. get on it, papa. Why not start with a few foreign movies in different languages and see if anything resonates with them?? If they LIKE it, there's a huge advantage.

!ENGAGE 25

Hahah..so nice of you...an accountant for the post of consultant.. 🙃 you might get into more mess...

Here in India few of the top rated schools started to alot German and French and Spanish as optional language subject other than Hindi and English. People in India see more scope in EU countries and USA than Asia...Chinese a lit bit but Arabic a complete no, unless you genuinely get a major liking towards it...right now I made her work on her art activity during spare time she got special liking for it...something very natural....to her....and if she love to learn any language then definitely let her do...of course her choice matters.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.