You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🌎🌎🌎 Cross Culture Question: What is something you love about the country you grew up in? 🌎🌎🌎

in Abundance Tribe β€’ 4 years ago

Yes, I see some triggers going on and I appreciate this question, @whatamidoing
I was born in Romania and though I physically left the country 17 years ago, I have no other passport or nationality. I appreciate the questions because I struggle a lot with love for my country. The moment I left, I was so grateful to start living more freely, in my mind, and also thanks to the various languages and cultures I adopted and have incorporated. Yet in every place I went to, and every person I met, I could find a spot inside of me that was born in the place I am from. And those subtle streams connect me to the vast world and the numerous people I have been meeting.
I think Romanians are collectively dealing with a lot of trauma, yet somewhere inside of me, and therefore somewhere inside of others as well, there is a hope that we can shift this and be part of something more beautiful.
So I think what I am saying is that what I like about my country is the hope it has planted in my heart and that is what has been a trusted guide throughout my life.

Sort: Β 

Oh we will definitely have a chance to go into some of the trauma of our home countries with some future question if you wish to go into it. Talking about this kind of heavy thing in a way that heals and connects is one thing I hope to do in this community.

It's great that you've been able to overcome it though.

The longer I live overseas the more I feel like where we were born and to whom we were born is a kind of karma that allows us to thread together something unique to us as individuals.

The longer I'm away from the country I was born, the more I realize I can be a bridge πŸ˜€

I really hope to hear more from you!