Dreams to Reality Productions on Blurt

in Abundance Tribe2 years ago (edited)

photo_2022-04-28_10-24-35.jpg

I with Solange Brezina are maintaining a social presence on Blurt!

I will keep posting on Hive for my personal use but the main blog updates for DTR will be on the Blurt blog. So occasionally, I will repost the Blurt link here.

Blurt to me is a great idea and it has promise to exceed the limitations of Hive. So, let's give it a go!

I just wrote a post recently called -

Blog Update - A Message from Monty - Check it out here!

photo_2022-04-28_10-24-09.jpg

Sort:  

wow really? Blurt? Did I miss something? I know of its existence, but never really considered to start using it. In the initial days I explored it a little and felt votes going to a selected group of peeps. That said, I donno know...

Blurt to me is a great idea and it has promise to exceed the limitations of Hive

I would like you to elaborate a little on this. What are the limitations on HIVE that are 'solved' at Blurt?

This discussion has been had by people better informed than me.

I wish to use a blog platform that focuses on community and assists in incentivizing me and others to make high quality content. This should be Hive.

What I HAVE discovered on Hive however is a few closed groups of people that circle jerk and within this is also the incentivization of onboarding as opposed to content quality. This results in a few key users that have a great following but consistently put out poor quality content and yet are rewarded extremely well for it.

This creates a downward spiral of content quality - Echo chambers and circle jerking.

Within this - you have soft censorship by whale accounts for perspectives they don't agree with on a 'free-speech' platform. This has been an ongoing problem and is likened to bullying.

Blurt has no downvotes and seeks to resolve these problems with other methods.

It's still an open community where proverbial land has not been claimed.

I will still use Hive for my personal postings for this moment. I am just now also using Blurt like a lot of Hive people fed up with the cartel that runs it while claiming to represent principles of free-speech and decentralization. I understand the efforts to make Hive more 'mainstream' in order to increase its value in the greater market but this kind of behaviour is not what a lot of us came on here for - infact it is the kind of behaviour a lot of us left other platforms as a result of.

If you wish to know more about the censorship situation and the exodus from Hive, you can read posts by @urasoul or @kennyskitchen.

Anyways, thanks for your comment and curation - I appreciate it! No hard feelings - we just keep going forward!

Yea, I know what you write. And that is indeed something that is still problematic at HIVE. Though I wonder if this is any different at Blurt, I mean the circle-jerking. Sure, it doesn't have a downvote. IMHO, social networks should not be on the base layer, but 2nd layer. ie remove HIVE rewards for posts and comments and move the social aspect of HIVE a layer up with its own token. HIVE chain is (or should be) a general-purpose chain imho. I believe that solves a lot of issues since the whales on HIVE control the content rewards at the moment. When moving content rewarding to a different layer and token, we simply remove the problem you describe. I may check out Blurt a little better when I find the time somewhere :)

Loading...

Congratulations @montycashmusic! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 2000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 2500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Be ready for the 5th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2022