Today's Hardest Truth

in Abundance Tribe2 years ago

IMG_20191218_155158752_HDR.jpg


I’ve been pondering this week’s @abundance.tribe’s bi-weekly question, What is your hardest truth? since an hour or two after it was posted. My reasoning went round and round for nearly a week. I got very hung up on a couple of things. Question begot questions and I started asking some big ones.

What is a truth? Sounds so simple, as if truth were a hard and fast thing. Is a notion true if it cannot be proven wrong? Is it possible for something to be so very true, that all humans capable of critical thinking would surely agree on its validity? Is there such a thing?

What is meant by hardest? Whenever one hard truth is finally learned, it is no longer quite so hard, and we are on to the next hardest truth to learn.

I got quite stuck.

So I headed over to poetry, a great vehicle to both discover, and express, the inexpressible. But page after page and five days later, I still couldn’t pin down what I was trying to say.


When I enter discussions like this one, I don’t read the other entries before publishing mine, for fear those posts might contaminate my own thinking. But after five days of producing many pages of incoherent ramblings, I decided to check the other entries out. Lo and behold, many of them skirted the concept I had been struggling so hard to know.

Here’s a little compilation of those posts:

@merit.ahama - I am responsible for my own life

@kennyskitchen - It's all on me. I am responsible for my experience

@tezmel - The hardest truth is you are you and your life is yours

Finally, @trucklife-family published her thoughts on the question and, while her hardest truth was not what I was trying to write about, one short sentence in her post summarized my concept almost perfectly the only way to really know the truth, is to feel it

To me, these posts presented one common thread - we ultimately can only discern truth from falsehood deep in our own blood.

Alrighty the deadline to this contest is very soon. I have to publish these musings. How best to bring inchoate understandings to a conclusion?

Poetry of course.

Yesterday I went back to all the poetry I’d written earlier in the week. I easily pulled out three bits that almost said what I was trying to say.

text15.png

The simplest things
are the most difficult to understand

The hardest truths
are too simple to tell

text15.png

Look for the simple in all things
we are distracted to think think think
or we won’t know know know
truths that have been crafted for us
not by us

all we need to do
is be still and think from our Selves

text15.png

Slavery -

influences from outside the self
are false for any self

money as a factor in any decision
leads to a false decision

all that I have been taught is false
all that I innately know is true

The hardest truth
is that truth can not be told

text15.png

A week of deep pondering finally paid off this morning.

My hardest truth hit me hard when I awoke with a clear childhood memory of my sense of self: I believed I had no opinions of my own, that I was incapable of telling good from bad, right from wrong. I believed that I had to learn truth from others, not from myself.

That there is a hard truth to swallow - that for years I had no connection to the many truths that I alone could feel.

I hope this makes sense to someone out there. If you're spending time in Oracle Girl's bandwidth, you might be better able to understand.

Thank you so much for reading. The image is mine.

Sort:  
Loading...

Brilliant, as always! It may take you several days to labor and give birth to these creations, but look at the result! Gestation and delivery of a much-needed message. Sorry it's taken me four days to get to this. So much going on in my neck o' the woods, but I'm here now, and glad to have found this.

@futuremind, you nailed it for me:

Spoonfed ideology ... A warrior preparing to fight a battle he has been told is just.

And all that.

I'm ever wrestling with "truth" and expectations that others have for me.

I had to double the Deep Breathing time (to no avail), then head into the meadow, wetlands and woods (also to no avail), then have my son enter the room and hear me out and tell me not to let anyone else trouble me with their judgments of me. Wise words.

This has taken me far too long to learn, and I'm still not "there" yet:

That there is a hard truth to swallow - that for years I had no connection to the many truths that I alone could feel.

More later. I'm still a mess.

To me truth is an Instinct, you know it intently. If it takes time to decide then beware of a false truth.

If you are unsure about something, be still, do nothing. Thinking hard won't help. Listening to advice will not help. The right action will be effortlessly done.

One lesson it took me 60 years to learn is that, if you have a feeling something is wrong, something is wrong.

(especially if you're about to put a cake in the oven)

That old thing called intuition..

Which we've been taught not to trust, starting at very early ages. We are systematically cut off from our most powerful resource.
This makes us so very easy to enslave, and is painfully clear at present.

Like you this question would've had me pondering all week. And then some. And ending up with bigger musings. You made a good choice with the poetry @owasco

Thank you. This was a very tough, but ultimately highly enlightening, task.

Also one that most of us do - or should - question at some point in our lives

I have been waiting for your response, it took me a while to write mine as well. Thank you for the poetry, for diving deep with this question, it is so ingrained in us from an early age to look to others from others, this journey back to self is a life long one xxxx

Oh did I ever dive on this one. I often try to write for your questions but I have never come up with anything sensible. This one I was determined to finish, and I did nothing else on Hive for the entire week. Thank you for asking such a great question.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you so much! One of these days I will check this community out. I just subscribed. I have some questions. Who is good to ask these questions of?

The hardest truth
is that truth can not be told

I feel this says it all.

I do too. It's a really good statement. I almost used bold on it, then decided it stood on its own. Thanks for seeing it so clearly.

I've pondered myself so many times about it and find it inexplicable. One can only express it in art for oneself or see it in the arts of others.

I believed that I had to learn truth from others, not from myself.

Ah.. yes. That's so true. I wish I had headspace to grapple with this question, but struggling a bit this week. Love how poetry can help us express what we feel, over think.