My Strength and My Empowerment

in Abundance Tribe3 years ago


Image Source

I love questions like these which make me go back into myself to look for answers. They reinforce my beliefs and help me refine my actions and decisions even better. My strength and my empowerment as a person comes from within, that would be a simple answer to this question. However, when I go into the layers of truth I know that its not just about me.

My Foundation
The foundation for my strength and empowerment came from my parents. My dad made sure that he gave my siblings and I a firm foundation in spiritual, social, moral and economic values. My mom not only strengthened our beliefs in these areas she and my dad were living examples for us to watch and learn from everyday. They walked the talk. There was no other way for us to live when we saw them day after day live by what they believed in.


Image Source

**Work Ethics **
They had strong work ethics, both worked so hard and were considered as exemplary and honest workers in their profession. Mom taught math to high school students in a prominent high school at that time. She worked to ensure that every student she taught excelled in her subject. There were hardly any failures in her class. Dad on the other hand was a senior accounts professional for the railways. It was easy to be dishonest and earn huge sums of money (like most others did) but he was so honest that we lived a very simple life, a minimalist lifestyle to be truthful. The value of work and what it could bring was imprinted in my soul early on in life by my parents.

Social values
I learned what it was to work hard, to stand by what I believed in. We (my sibs and I) were all taught that it was important to respect people and their opinions. We lived in a multilingual, multi religious culture. With a strong foundation like that we could only grow in strength as we became adults. We had all these social values emblazoned in us from the time we learned to talk.

Education
Education was of primary importance in our household. We were taught that without a proper education we could not survive in our country and that was to our advantage. Our parents did all that they could to help us earn our degrees and accolades in the fields of our choice. It is not about earning degrees, it is about educating ourselves about life as we were exposed to different environments and social milieus, my dad would say.

Life lessons
The lessons life provided pretty early on for me helped me understand life better. I lost my dad to cancer at the age of 12. Life was tough after that, mom did her best to put food on the table, to educate us and take over the roles that dad played as well, imagine handling five boys older than me. She did a splendid job and I only have respect and appreciation for her.

Management skills
I was even taught how to manage time and funds at a young age, because we had little of both. I had to do chores at home and mange my studies well. I learned this balancing act well long before many of my peers did.


Image Source

Discipline and Lifestyle
Discipline was drilled into us. Dad was an ex army personnel and he taught us that it was important to rise early, be punctual and perfect with what we did. This didn't go well with us but looking back I always think that my early disciplining has been my strengthen. I was never late to work/school or a meeting or with any of my deadlines. These were such valuable lessons in life which helped me at every stage of my life so far.

Faith and beliefs
My faith didn't come from following everything my parents taught me. In fact my mom and dad may not (I am not sure though) be proud of how I made this journey. I started to question everything I learned from my parents in this aspect. I read every possible religious book I got my hands on to and found my faith in this journey. I tested my faith at all levels. Just a few years ago I left the catholic fold to the annoyance of my husband and children. Funnily it was I who brought them into this faith and I moved out of this religion.

Thought Life
My questioning attitude did not find favor everywhere, but I could care less. I taught the children who were entrusted to my care in the Sunday school scriptures while I was supposed to teach them 'the teaching of the catholic church'. I was found guilty without trial but those in power couldn't answer the questions I raised. I learned to take everything I am taught with a spoon of salt and a ton of questions. My strength comes from my faith, tried and tested through times of serious difficulties. My God is my strength.

Tradition and Culture
The traditions and cultures I was expected to follow especially as a girl went through the same treatment. I never took anything at face value. I never wore traditional clothes as a child because they were to restrictive. I was wore modest but comfortable clothes and was told that I was rebellious. I always had a couple of my brothers support me in what I did, so it was a tad easier.

Responsibility
Rebellious or not living life on my own terms also meant that I live responsibly. If I fell out I knew I would have no support whatsoever. I not only learned to be responsible for my actions but also for every decision I took in life. I learned to shoulder responsibility and not shirk it or blame others for my failure. I would say I matured mentally and emotionally early in life and learned to be self sufficient in life.


image Source

Family
Family was and has always been very important to me. We have learned to live with our differences but with respect. We may not agree with what the others do, but we never make those things a reason for division in our family. We have always supported each other in their difficult moments and not count the costs. I instill the same values in my boys. I always tell them I may not be around to support them but they need to be there for each other. My family is my strength, my reward and my empowerment. My husband has been my strongest supporter in all these years.

Faith in myself
My empowerment in a society like ours where women were not considered equals (times are changing) came from rational thinking, being able to state my thoughts clearly, make my choices known to others has helped me define myself as a person. I've never had to fight or argue with anyone. I've won my family's respect. I do the same with my husband's family as well. No arguments, no stress, I just tell them what I think, why I feel the way I do and get into action. I am empowered by my faith in myself.

Let me make this clear, it is not not that I haven't made mistakes. I have made loads of them, but I have been able to sincerely apologize, accept, make amends for my mistakes and move on with life. I love peace, I move away without making too much of a fuss from what I don't believe in be it friends or family. I lend support as an outsider because they are mine.

Life is all about being able to adapt to changes, live it at your own pace, with your own faith and with a zeal that makes every moment worth living.

I loved taking part in this challenge. If you are reading this and would like to respond to this question by #abundancetribe please follow this link

It would be interesting to read what you have to say. I am sure that there is something to learn from you and your experience.

Thank you for taking the time to read and respond.

Sort:  

Thank you for being so sincere, I've learned a lot from your post. I wish you the best! 😀

Thank you so much, much appreciated @fjcalduch

That is very deep! I love the things you stumble on in Hive! Nice work, eat !PIZZA

untitled.gif

Connect

Trade


@sofs-su! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @stickupboys.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (16/20)

Glad you stumbled upon this, thanks for the pizza @stickupboys

Hi @sofs-su, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @rem-steem!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON

Thank you @bdcommunity and @rem-steem for the support and the encouragement.

-I loved each word Ma'am @Sofs..your ways, your thoughts the way you give importance to your family, and the way you handle yourself..some of them especially on giving importance to ourselves and family is what I am also applying and doing for myself
A very nice question that covers a wide scope of answers that are so great to think of..!
Have a blessed day!🙏❤🌷

#dreemer

Thank you so much @aimharryanne , yup my family is the most important thing to me on this planet, the rest are secondary.
Thank you for taking the time to read and respond, much appreciated.

Congratulations @sofs-su! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1500 comments.
Your next target is to reach 2000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Another milestone to celebrate, thank you.

My family is my strength, my reward and my empowerment.

Just what the typical gentleman can see ok.

Critical questions are necessary to making us to make a spiritual decision .