You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: US's supreme court ruling to ban abortions is stupid, unaware and biased

You assume my premise was an external force or authority telling the mother how to deal with her body and is nothing of the sort.
Again. Regardless of whether there is a soul or not. And whether science can determine if a soul exists. It's still a part of a human that required two other humans to come together to create. Therefore it should be at the very least a decision of those same two humans to terminate it. One individual's choice does not over rule the other.
Abortion is a major surgery and can have many major consequences both physically and mentally for all parties involved. You are correct that it shouldn't be a decision made by a ruling authority and that is exactly what the court agreed with. It should be a decision made closer to home for the people involved. It is not a Federal issue.

Sort:  

For the sake of the argument, and following you line of thought - if the father agrees to leave the decision solely to the mother, would then abortion be accepted?

Yes. Absolutely 100% agree. If he is waiving his rights he waives his rights.
But its still not a federal issue.

Lol. Sorry about the other comment. I didnt realize you could edit a comment.

But its still not a federal issue.

Not federal, not state either.
It's inconceivable to me that someone else would tell a woman what to do with her body. To advise, yes, by all means.

We agree there 100%. Except that its inconceivable that someone else would tell anybody what to do with their body. Woman or man. Government should stay out of our lives period. Government should only provide border security & infrastructure.
And stay out our pockets, lol.

One unique aspect of pregnancy though is that there are two bodies involved. Not just one. I agree with a woman's right to do whatever she wants with her body. I also believe that there exists a right to life. But if the right of a woman to do whatever she wants with her body conflicts with the right to life then I see the right to life as being more important. That is why to me the important question is about when the right to life begins. If I understand correctly, you believe that the woman an child can determine that on their own, I'm not so sure. I say that because I think many abortions happen out of fear vs. a "conversation" (for lack of a better word) between mother and child.

The main difference between us is that I associate life with consciousness and you with a physical body.
I will not be able to convince you, ever, because consciousness must be felt separated of the body in order to be convinced. If you are interested, you may google "out of body experiences in dreams" as a starting point.

That's not quite true. I associate life with consciousness / the soul as well. It's just that I don't think that we as humans have a firm grasp on when that comes into existence. Hence I tend to err on the side of it existing earlier rather than later.

Understood. I jumped into conclusions too fast.
I can only speak for myself when I say that I am in a close connection with my soul self and not just intuitively. Moreover, I do believe that pregnant women receive clear messages from their fetuses' souls and their own (based on a survey I made with my three sisters when they were pregnant) :-)