LONDON

Photography in the Capital


After writing a little bit about being in a creative rut last week, I decided that a trip into central London with my camera should be high on my priority list.

I've only been into London with my camera once - a fun summer's afternoon wander with a friend that I met on Instagram, @ottoberkeley (definitely worth a follow for anyone on the platform!). He is a master of London photography, and when a photographer who's work I really admire suggests that we meet up in person and do some shooting, there is only one answer. :) We met a Waterloo station and had a brilliant few hours, wandering down the Thames before heading north around the Bank area. It was a grey and cloudly afternoon. The sort of weather I wouldn't dream of going out in, to take photos in the park. London seems to be more forgiving in this respect, although off course there is no substitution for great light.

I've posted a couple of images from that wander already on Hive, so here are a couple more from that day.



St. Pauls Cathedral from One New Change

London-2.jpg



This shot one was taken in the One New Change building. Tripods aren't allowed, so this was hand held, taken at 18mm. The escalator handrail in the foreground, is very close to camera, so it was tricky to achieve this shot without loosing the symetry. A centimeter left or right totally throws the composition. Taking this shot is also totally addictive as there are an infinite number of variations from different heights and focal lengths...



The Gherkin

London-4.jpg


This shot was taken at the Gherkin building. The flat light works rather well for this subject matter. I love how the glass and other reflective surfaces interact with the ambient grey day.



So that's the plan. Head into town and take some photos. I figure if I say it on here, I am much more likely to go and do it. In fact, the forecast is quite decent today.....

Watch This Space!
Sort:  

Stunning perspectives, a different look to the city.

Thank you! Really glad you like my photos from London. :)

Hi @cathgothard,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Thanks for the support @teamuksupport !

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you @brumest and @qurator ! The support is really appreciated! :)