LONDON


In my last post I was threatening to head to town and take photos, in an attempt to escape my creative rut, by photographing something other than the park. Well, I did it! My husband and I were going to dinner at the house of some friends in Barbican on Saturday evening, so I decided to head into London early, catch sunset, and then meet my husband afterwards for dinner.

There was quite a long gap between sunset, and our dinner gathering at 7.30pm. I ended up lugging all my camera gear for miles, in a pair of trainers that I haven't worn much this winter, because I work from home, and rarely need to go anywhere that requires anything smarter than wellies. Consequently, my feet got quite sore walking around in unfamiliar footwear.

We had a lovely dinner with 4 friends that we hadn't seen since the beginning of the first lockdown, nearly 2 years ago. It was so nice to catch up. A decent amount of wine was consumed. Because the whole of London now gets taxies everywhere, we couldn't get a cab, so jumped on one of the last tubes back to Hammersmith. There were no taxis at Hammersmith either, and it was now chucking it down with rain. A slightly booze hindered attempt at getting the electric scooter hire to work at Hammersmith Bridge was unfruitful, so we ended up walking the last 3 miles home in pouring rain. By the time we got home, soaking wet, at 1.30am, I'd done 21km according to my watch. It had been a long day out.

Anyway it was worth all the miles and sore feet because I took some photos that I really like, and I want to share a few.



The Shard

London01-2b.jpg

ISO 100, 48mm, f/14, 20 sec, 10 stop ND filter.

One of my favourite buildings in London. It looks so space age. The sun was setting to the west (frame right), and I love how the windows of the square building are reflecting the sunset. I put a 10 stop ND filter on my camera lens to give me a 20 second exposure and smooth out the water in the river.



Ted's Grooming Room

London01-5.jpg

ISO 3200, 85mm, f/7.1, 1/30 sec

This salon looked so cool, I couldn't resist it. All that reflected light and glass. The 4 chaps in the bottom right corner of the frame are all looking so stylish...



St Pauls from the South Bank

London01-6b.jpg

ISO 100, 52mm, f/11, 25 sec.

I love the super modern Millenium Bridge, juxtaposed with the Baroque architecture of St. Pauls Cathederal.



On Friday I am going into the office for the first time in goodness know how long. My London photograhy sesh was so enjoyable, that I think I might take my camera in with me again....

Thanks for looking!

Sort:  

Absolutely worth lugging the gear and suffering the trainers! That shard shot especially is sublime. Love the quality of light on it.

Thank you Kieran! It was a tiring and quite cold few hours once the sun had gone. I didn't want to get on any tubes, which would have made things a lot easier. But I'm so glad I made the effort. It was really refreshing photographing different places. Am glad you like the Shard shot - I am really pleased with it. The light was perfect for the subject. :)

Hi @cathgothard,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Making me want to get back to London. I love the Shard. I know it was controversial but its a cool building.

Yeah it's a wonderful building. I love how it reflects the surrounding sky and weather, it's very photogenic. NY resolution is to head into town more often with the camera. :)

I love how it contrasts with the old parts of town also. I took this one from the tower of london many years ago.

Tower of London.jpg

You had some great light! Love the low sun and the dark menacing clouds. These conditions really suit London. :)

I'd done 21km according to my watch. It had been a long day out. soaking wet, sore feet

wow. seems too much indeed. well, it may be fun but maybe once in 2-3 months but not too often

you was lugging the tripod too (judging by the 20-sec exposures)?..

St.Paul shot is my fave here.

and a !PIZZA for you.

Hehe it wasn't the most thought out photography trip. In future I won't try and combine it with a dinner party. ;o)

Yes I had my tripod. It would be such a cool skill for a photographer to have, to be able to stand so still for that length of time. Not having to carry a tripod would be ace! :)

Glad that you like the photo of St Pauls. It's a lovely view across the Thames.

Have some !PIZZA too!

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@cathgothard(1/8) tipped @qwerrie (x1)
qwerrie tipped cathgothard (x1)

Join us in Discord!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more