Two full moons trip

in PHOTOGRAPHY [DAC]4 years ago

OK it has been a long time since my last post. Maybe too long! Actually I feel like I have to introduce myself all over again. But we'll see about that. Maybe it wasn't so long after all and just maybe you still remember me :)

My previous post was in August 3rd and ironically it is titled Time flies. If only I knew that it would have been my last entry before the biggest (as it turned out) break from my blog, since the beginning of it at March 2018.

It all started as a small van trip. My partner and I are living at the east side of Crete, in Greece, for more than 6 years (you see I am re-introducing myself bit by bit) and we had never done a proper tour at the west side of the island. We were planning to do that trip in June but we didn't made it, so we rescheduled for July. But in July it wasn't possible either! And then it was August and we hate to go on vacation in August! But we needed a break so we figured to leave for a few days and consider September for a bigger trip.

On August 3rd it was the full moon which we enjoyed at an archeological site next to our home. The next morning we prepared our van and hit the road going west. On September 2nd there was one more full moon and we were still on the road :)

Don't imagine that Crete is so big that you have to drive for weeks in order to cross it but it is so fascinating that you can spend many months wandering around and still it will have more to offer! The most remote place that we have reached was 300 km (186 miles) from our home but we managed to make a 5 weeks journey of 1500 km (932 miles) out of it!

You will be thinking by now that I come back with tons of photographs but I didn't! In contradiction to the common habit to document in every possible way our vacation, I have found myself in a state of denial about taking pictures. So this is the first time that I am writing a post without having ready the photographs to illustrate it!

IMG_1049PanoEdit3.jpg

IMG_0729Pano.jpg

I made a pause here to check my pictures and edit a couple of them. Yes, there are a few hundreds of them in my phone but I don't think there is anything worth posting there and yes, I did use my camera a few times! So for starters I have chosen 2 panoramic ones.

The first one is from the most unexpected and secluded place on the coast, literally under the noise of thousands of tourists that do not have a clue! Totally charming, totally unknown and I am totally not going to say where is it :)

The second one is from a plateau at an attitude of 600 meters (almost 2000 feet). The mountain you can see is part of the mountain range "Lefka Ori" meaning in Greek "White Mountains". If you look the top of it you'll understand why!

Those two sceneries are illustrating pretty good our trip. Gorgeous secluded beaches and harsh, remote mountains, that was our daily routine. The perfect places to satisfy the hunger for new discoveries and at the same time the ideal places to listen to your own thoughts.

A lot of things happened during those weeks and the ones right after, some of them I'll probably share in the following posts, some others I'll probably not :)

Anyway I am glad to be back! I hope you are all well and active, I'll check on you :)

All the pictures and the words are mine.

Thank you for reading and if you want to know more about me you can check out my introduction post.

Commenting, upvoting and rebloging are highly appreciated!

Sort:  

Hey, welcome back! :-)
I've been checking your blog from time to time, and wondering, how you were doing. I'm really happy for you that you had such a great vacation!
Seems like it has been a very important trip :-) The unexpected ones are often the best.

Actually, we are still "planning" to go to Greece next (if they let us in, without doing a test).
We made it to Bulgaria in the meantime and we need to go somewhere for the winter, where it won't get freezing cold, so we can survive in our van without heater ^^
We'll see.

Anyway, it's great, that you are back and I'm looking forward to read more about your amazing trip :-)

Thank you very much! I wasn't sure if anyone would have noticed that I was missing :)
It was an important trip indeed. I am glad that you understood it because I think that my writing was a bit vague about it.
I hope you make it to Greece and even better Crete!
Nice to see you are still around :)
Cheers!

@tipu curate :)

Thank you very much :)

bro.gif

You have just been bro-fisted by the guys in the man cave and now have 1 more BRO. Enjoy!**

For more info, please give us a look in here: https://discord.gg/qd8J2x3

so now you know all the cool places, i can get inside information :D

Oh yes, I have kept notes :)

Yay I am glad you are back and what a great, long trip!! Sometimes it is great to just enjoy and not always have the camera. I am super impressed with these two!

Thank you Sara, I am glad to be back too!

it looks very nice, if i think of Crete, i see tons of Dutch and English people partying and drinking :p

Haha yes, that's one way to picture it :)
Thank you for stopping by!