You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Does traditional social media stifle creativity?

I am posting only once every few months on IG. It's dead to me (other than the 45k followers who wonder where I am). Decentralised social media is the future. Algorithms are not all together bad (and can be helpful) but you should be able to choose which ones you use (if any) and switch between them.

Sort:  

I am still a little sentimental about IG, as it was the place I first started sharing my photos. I met some nice people on there, some I've gone on to met in RL.

The things I hate most about IG are the adverts, and the closed system that makes it impossible to link to anything external.

I like the idea of choosing which algorithms are being used. That could be a powerful tool for the user...

I was forced onto a commercial creator account when I got to 50k followers and they cut my reach overnight by 2/3. They then just ask me to promote the posts to get it back. When that happened I realised you don't own your following on any Web 2 platform and committed to web 3. Imagine if you had a third party gatekeeper in between you and your relationships in real life. That could turn on and off your access at will.

Wow that's really shitty. Absolute control. I see why you're not a fan.

Strangely my current growth is slower than when I was a camera newbie. I post much better photos now, but get less follows. I spend a lot of time blocking bots and shadow accounts. Any account that follows me that has zero posts, a random number at the end of their handle, and a nonsensical bio, is an automatic block. I only have 5k followers, so most of the time it's a manageable task.

I just use it as a portfolio and not much else. It was more important to me when I did work for state tourism bodies etc ; but now with the pandemic all that has dried up so its irrelevant to me.