Who likes Owls? Ephraim, Utah Cemetery

in PHOTOGRAPHY [DAC]2 years ago

Tips and Tricks with Another Well-Known Utah Photographer on Owl Photography

WHO wants some photography of owls today? WHO loves a bit of owl humor? WHO is getting my jokes here? Anyone? Ha! Today's post shares photos of owls and the tips and tricks needed to capture them properly.

I joined a very well-known Utah bird photographer, Lydia, found on Instagram as lydebug, on her trip to a a cemetery in Ephraim, Utah back in 2020. She showed me how to find owls and the tips and tricks on photographing owls. If you would like to see more of her work over here on PeakD, please make sure to comment on this post. Let me share some of her great tips and the results of her suggestions with my owl photos for you to enjoy.

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

The challenge is that they're most active at night, but it's very hard to photograph them if not impossible at night. Sunset and twilight are the next best thing, but it's also pretty dark and to use a zoom lens and get in close on them in the twilight of the night is quite a challenge.

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

Luckily owls are less fidgety and less scared of those approaching them compared to many other birds so getting decently close to them is also a little bit easier.

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

It's pretty cool how they just chill up in the tree.

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

I haven't gone back and photographed owls too many other times, but I sure would love to go again!

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

This was also the trip where I decided that I would buy a mirrorless Sony camera because of how well it focuses and its vibration reduction image stabilization abilities.

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

Hope you enjoyed this happy owl couple today!

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

Want to see more photography like you've seen today in this post? Then click here for more photography from my extensive collections.

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

Professional Photographer of Jarvie Digital

You may know me as one of the co-founders of PeakD and PeakMonsters, but one of my favorite passions is photography. I've been a full-time photographer since 2008, and I've traveled to many places and captured many amazing moments on my journeys. You can visit my gallery to explore and purchase my photography located on my website at https://www.jarviedigital.com/. You'll find me in various photography communities here on PeakD where I'll post many of my travels, photoshoots and scenic photography. Thanks for stopping by and reading my posts.

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

Sort:  

I love owls beautiful photos

 2 years ago  

Haha i know... I've bought several of your OWL NFTs!! yay

Those are awesome shots
I would love to get photos of owls sometime

I do :)

Great photos of magnificent birds.

@tipu curate

Wow man, 👌 owls are fascinating indeed. But its hard to keep them as a pet. I read about them and then had to drop the idea, haha 😄. Nice clicks

These are some amazing creatures, you were so lucky to capture them with these amazing pictures , and we are so lucky to have a post like this!
Thank you for sharing this with us!

Grat photos! I love owls, they make me very interesting birds

Wow great shots. You should go again! I would love to see Lydia's work here on Hive too.