Rejuvenating old Crassula Perforata

in Succulent growers2 years ago (edited)

Rejuvenating Crassula Perforata 2022 4.jpg


This giant (for rather small succulents standards) of a plant is probably 7-8 years old. I grew it from a tiny little cuttings that had just a few leaves on and not a single root. In those years I gave away multiple cuttings to various people. I also planted some in other pots - most of the time because some little peace accidently got detached and I didn't have the heart to throw it away. I would put it somewhere else to grow and usually they do.

But this one desperately needs some TLC. I was gonna do it few weeks ago, but didn't have sand, then didn't have soil I use for the mix and the whole thing just kept being postponed.
Until today.
I had the right pot waiting, I had the soil and sterilized sand.

Crassula Perforata


Rejuvenating Crassula Perforata 2022 13.jpg


It is a lovely and super easy to grow succulent. What's more it is also extremely forgiving and hardy. It blooms with a bunch of tiny (and stinky) flowers .

The poor thing was growing in this post for a few years. It got so big that the pot started to tilt, even though it is clay and filled with heavy, sandy soil and rocks. I had to make sure it leans over another pot so it doesn't fall.

Rejuvenating Crassula Perforata 2022 1.jpgRejuvenating Crassula Perforata 2022 2.jpg



But the plant started to get very long and with the oldest part getting dry it didn't look so nice anymore. I wanted to get rid of those parts make it more balance. Repotting wouldn't be enough here, so I decided to cut the healthy parts and just get rid of the rest.

All the old dry stems are very brittle and I didn't even have to use any tools.


Rejuvenating Crassula Perforata 2022 5.jpg


Here is a proof how hardy and hard to kill the plant is.
It will start growing roots from between the leaves as soon as bottom part of the stem is dead and doesn't provide ay water, or when the roots are dead (or when someone forgets to water it for a very long time and it thinks it will die).


Rejuvenating Crassula Perforata 2022 6.jpg


Many of the cuttings I got had the roots so they will start growing in no time. Others will have to root, but that is usually quite fast too.

See all the fresh roots above the dead part?
I just got rid of the bottom dry part and had a bunch of healthy cuttings.


Rejuvenating Crassula Perforata 2022 7.jpg

Rejuvenating Crassula Perforata 2022 3.jpg


So from this big mess 👆..

I got this (this is a 13cm pot)👇:



Rejuvenating Crassula Perforata 2022 8.jpg


I mentioned the soil: I make my own mix for the cacti and succulents. I take regular garden soil you can get in any supermarket, some sand with rocks and pebbles I pick in a park, add some perlite and lava rocks. I use the same ingredients for both, but for cacti I add more sand so the mix has less organic stuff.

The sand I use I sterilize it in a microwave (smaller portions) or in the oven (where there is a bigger batch) to kill all the insect eggs and seeds. I don't need those in my plants.

I probably should do that with the shop soil too as many times the bag brings little, annoying fungus gnats, but I was too lazy for that :p


Rejuvenating Crassula Perforata 2022 11.jpg


It looks very dehydrated right now, but in a couple of weeks when all the cuttings start to grow roots it will plump back. I will also not water it for a couple of days so whatever wounds are on the stems or the new roots have time to heal.

The longer ones in the middle I staked, so they don't fall before they anchor properly. They are also a little greener - those actually come from another pot that I will be changing, so I got the cuttings already.


Rejuvenating Crassula Perforata 2022 9.jpg

Rejuvenating Crassula Perforata 2022 12.jpg


Here you can see the difference in colour between the ones that were grown in more shaded spot - they are more green, and the ones that were getting direct sun for a few hours a day - they get that lovely purple colour.


Rejuvenating Crassula Perforata 2022 14.jpg


Besides that large pot I also got two small ones with the smallest cuttings I just didn't fit in the main one anymore. They are healthy and have those mini roots growing already so I just couldn't ditch them.

I will wait for those to root and start growing and will give them away.


Rejuvenating Crassula Perforata 2022 10.jpg

Besides the Crassula I also repotted some other plants and cacti that needed it. Boring stuff so no photos.

Job done! 😀

untitled.gif

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.

separator echeveria.jpg

Sort:  

Looks great after transplant!

Thanks! It is gonna look so much better when it starts growing :)

I will wait for the photo of the grown up :-)

see email

Hello dear friend @ewkaw good night

What an interesting post, I appreciate all the information you have given us, it is incredible that this plant was only formed from small cuttings without roots.

It's good that you prepare your own compost, that you sterilize the sand you use in the oven; did not know this information. thank you very much for sharing it

I take this opportunity to wish you a splendid night

It took a long time, but it all started from one little cutting :) Amazing how much it grew.

Glad you enjoyed it!
Have a nice weekend :)

WOW!!!

Ok, first some drink so the comment can come 🥃

That big mess, as you called, now became a smaller pot but with a much more bright future! This looks like the succulents I liked in the coffee shop that I saw, I called them towers haha.

Giving away secrets about the soil? That's cool, actually, I have never sterilized the soil (sand) that I bring home to my plants. Never thought about that, but when you say that there can be bug eggs or fungus or similar, it makes a lot of sense. Ok, for the next time I know!

I will wait for those to root and start growing and will give them away.

Lucky those that will get it :D

Cheers! 🥃

I can't wait to see it grow all nice and bushy now.

I remember the ones you mean. I think there were two types. One a little bigger and the Towers were the smaller ones? Mine is the bigger one. The ones you like is called Crassula baby necklace. That one I don't have.

Haha shhh... don't tell anyone :p

Lucky those that will get it.

You wants? :D

Yes, there were two types, one that looks like your one and another, with smaller leaves. But both were towers for me and I liked both of them 😂

Haha shhh... don't tell anyone :p

I will not :D

I should ask first in that coffee shop, are they willing to trade some of them :)
If they kick me out, I will scream and you will hear 😇

I will scream and you will hear

Deal! :)

What flower is that

It's a succulent - Crassula Perforata

woooww...
this is really a very beautiful cactus flower @ewkaw.
you are very good at taking pictures
I really like your post.

Thanks, glad you like it :)

yes you're welcome @ewkaw. thanks again

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Very interesting friend this post, I am a lover of plants, this one looks beautiful, I was fascinated by the photographs you took of it

You should get yourself one of those if you can. It's a very cool plant :)

untitled.gif

Not as cool pots as yours, but it will do :)

untitled.gif

That's a nice looking succulent! I once had a shamrock that lasted years beyond it's 'best before' date; it, too, would seem to grow in spite of all odds. Alas, then cats happened, and shamrock met it's match.

I hope you have continued better luck than me!

Some just refuse to be killed :P
Luckily my cat has no interest in succulents. Can't say that about some other plants that she nibbles on thought.

Dear friend, you are a portent of diversity in your posts!.... This succulent plant is a beauty.... I didn't know that on #Hive we have a community for succulent plants!.... I will subscribe to see the posts from now on!... I have some succulents in my garden, one of these days I will take some photos to show them (I hope I have enough time)!... I send greetings and a round of applause for these photos and the information contained in the post!

Following you is like following a fun magazine of interesting things!

Oh that's awesome! Looking forward to see your plants :))

Thank you! I am glad you enjoy the posts :)