You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The spring show: mostly cacti

This is a very nice assortment you have, and you are skilled with caring for these cacti.

The second photo down, on the right hand side looks very similar to the succulent I have, but I think yours is a different breed, the more lavender colored ones, very pretty.

The immortal Mammillaria is stunning, I really this one.

Your post gave me cravings, I need some new succulents now :D

These all look fantastic , very nice job with your plants, thank you for sharing!

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Thank you! Spreading the succulent cravings is my aim: me growing cacti again was caused by some people on steem a couple of years ago - I had stopped with cacti and was only growing succulents

The succulent you're talking about is a hybrid of Echeveria and Graptopetalum, your Graptosedum is a hybrid of Graptopetalum and Sedum, the intergeneric hybrids do make interesting plants.

Try the immortal Mammillaria, it is Mammillaria crinita subspecies wildii, they are easy and will flower growing indoors whereas many other cacti won't. Just be prepared to get welding gloves, it has little fishhook spines and is difficult to handle. Or, put it in a flattish, wide pot and let it grow into it

I'm surprised I didn't bump into you back on steem, and if I did and forgot, please forgive my stoner memory, sometimes I forget things.

Thank you for the in depth insight with my succulent! I've done a bit of research on it and never made the discovery that it was hybrid. I'm grateful to know that now.

I'll look around and see how easily I can obtain the immortal Mammillaria, I'll get gloves and will also be prepared to keep my cat Covid away from it. I'll probably have to mount it up high.

 3 years ago  

Put it in a large pot he can't knock over and you are good. The cactus itself is cat-proof