You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Kids, don't do this at home.

Oh, that is sad. I imagine it took quite a bit of effort to start it from a seed too. I'm germinating (I hope) a small batch of milkweed from seeds I collected last summer. They can be kind of temperamental. I'll be disappointed if none make it, but that would be nothing compared to nurturing them for two years.

Sort:  

It is not easy. They are very picky and very sensitive. Especially when they are very small (during the first year) they can easily die due to overwatering, underwatering, too cold, too hot... And I killed tons of them like that!
And cacti need at least 2-4 years to reach the blooming size. The most common at lest. So that was a bit of a bummer :(
I have some 4 year old ones that will bloom for the first time this year and they are still smaller than a tangerine :D