Kids, don't do this at home.

in Succulent growers4 years ago

As every morning I got my coffee and camera ready and I went to look out on the balcony to see what new (not that there is much happening every day, but gotta do something on this lockdown). And of course some cacti keep having flowers, some grow their buds nicely. Some are small and I check on them too if they are healthy and have no bugs.

And then I looked at this one. Every so often I lift them to have a closer look.
Looks good, all green, new spines are popping... Awesome! I always wanted on of those Mammillarias (google images here so you know how pretty they are)

dead mammillaria.jpg

Something made me look to the base.. something dark was there. I though it was some dead leaf so I tried to remove it....

And then this happened!!

dead mammillaria 2.jpg

dead mammillaria 3.jpg

The poor thing did not handle the recent rains well. Looked good in the outside, inside it completely rotted off. Roots rotted off. If I noticed it earlier I could have saved it.
I cleaned the top part and will leave it to dry. I don't think there is a chance of saving it, but I will wait and see. Not all is always

I had only one like that.
Grown from seed.
2 years old.

Shite...

Here are some other cacti that did manage to bloom:

Click on the image to view full post.


Chamaecereus hybrid

Sulcorebutia Canigueralii

Mammillaria camptotricha

Mammillaria Glassii

Gymnocalycium baldianum

Mediolobivia mudanensis

Lobivia Arachnacantha

Rebutia hybrid

Mammillaria Bombycina

Mammillaria Gracilis Snowcap

Mammillaria haageana

Mammillaria backebergiana

Chamaecereus silvestrii

Mammillaria prolifera

Rebutia Fabrisii var. Aureiflora

Lobivia Wrightiana

Aylostera Flavistyla FR756

Parodia concinna

Mammillaria Copper King

Gymnocalycium Brushii

Mammillaria backebergiana

Gymnocalycium damsii

Echinopsis subdenudata
image.png
Rhipsalis pilocarpa
image.png
Mammillaria Prolifera
image.png
Lobivia arachnacantha v. vallegrandensis
image.png
Mediolobivia atrovirens
image.png
Mammillaria magnimamma
image.png
Sulcorebutia langerii

cactus banner.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.

»»-------------¤-------------««

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, even on HIVE I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Sorry, no beers or deranged or trdo yet... waiting on steem-engine to make the move to HIVE...
Week 2 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!

I want to cry 😭

Yeaaa I wanted too :(

I'm sorry. It was the first time I saw a cactus rot in this way. that's interesting. Congratulations on photo shoots. after that will have to deal with them more :).

It was the first I saw it rot this badly!
Thanks a lot :)

Oh, that is sad. I imagine it took quite a bit of effort to start it from a seed too. I'm germinating (I hope) a small batch of milkweed from seeds I collected last summer. They can be kind of temperamental. I'll be disappointed if none make it, but that would be nothing compared to nurturing them for two years.

It is not easy. They are very picky and very sensitive. Especially when they are very small (during the first year) they can easily die due to overwatering, underwatering, too cold, too hot... And I killed tons of them like that!
And cacti need at least 2-4 years to reach the blooming size. The most common at lest. So that was a bit of a bummer :(
I have some 4 year old ones that will bloom for the first time this year and they are still smaller than a tangerine :D

Hi @ewkaw, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @hafizullah!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON

Thank you very much :)

Aw too bad for your loss. But you do have quite a wide collection of cacti. Beautiful! Thanks for sharing.

Thanks! Yea I do... but not this one :p
I think its more upsetting that it was already 2 years old and still managed to kill it.