Blooming Stapelia

in Succulent growers3 years ago (edited)

IMG_20210812_124848.jpg

It was one August day, when the luck knocked on my door. Not precisely on my door, but as I was there, witnessing the blooming of mom's Stapelia, I can say that it was my lucky day too. At the entrance of her house, she has a cacti empire, I showed it on one occasion, back in July in this post. I looked now at the photos from there, and there were no signs that this "starfish" will show itself. One month later, it just happened that we were able to witness the whole process. Yes, I captured different moments of the flower opening. From the bud to the fully open flower, even when it has dried. And also, with one guest on the flower.

IMG_20210812_124903_BURST1.jpg

I know that at first glance it seems that the bud grows from aloe, but that's because my mother planted different plants in one pot. Undoubtedly, the bud comes from Stapelia. In this second photo, we can see that stalk that connects it to its mother plant. It was noon when I saw this huge bud.

IMG_20210812_171514.jpg

In the afternoon I returned to their house to see what is happening with the bud. Then one petal started to open. The appearance of the interior began to show so I saw those red lines, those nice banded patterns. A few hours passed and it was completely open in the evening. Of course, I was there checking on it often during those hours. It was a real fun seeing me that afternoon going out again and again to see in which phase the flower was.

IMG_20210812_171507.jpg

We were talking with my parents about a similar plant that my grandma had. We remember well that the flowers from her plant were smaller and with brown spots. So we were in dilemma, is it the same plant or not, but I am now sure that not. I did a bit of searching, and how I remember my grandmother's plant, I found that it was Orbea variegata, like this one . The flowers were not hairy, and as I mentioned, they had brown spots, like a lizard or a toad.

IMG_20210812_191245.jpg

As our flower was slowly but surely opening, and I was checking on it sometimes, we also remembered the smell of the other flower. It is very well known that the smell is like rotten meat or dead fish. I was trying to determine the smell of this one, but it had no scent the first day. Well, the second day it had a more developed odor. Even a fly came to enjoy it. It was there, for a few minutes, it gave me time to get into the house and bring my phone and take a photo. You will see it in a few photos from here.

IMG_20210812_185342.jpg

IMG_20210812_185337.jpg

What is attractive is that the petals are hairy. They are adorned with long white hairs, and the surface is interspersed with a banded pattern. The lines were something between purple and red, on a lighter background. It even looks like meat, it is not just the smell that attracts the flies. This flower is pollinated by them, instead of bees. An interesting method that Stapelias use.

IMG_20210812_193221.jpg

IMG_20210812_193308.jpg

IMG_20210813_122450.jpg

IMG_20210813_122515.jpg

So by the evening, the flower was open. However, the next day it was even nicer. That’s when the petals folded down and gave it a pretty look. Now I am thinking about which type do I have here in Spain. Is mine Orbea Variegata or this Stapelia gigantea. I suppose that I have to wait a bit of time to see when the first flower will come if the plant survives. Btw, all my succulents survived until now, it is now the official statement by me! Me - not a plant killer jet. Those that were not in so good shape improved a lot... yeah, they just missed me hahaha.

IMG_20210813_122502.jpg

The flower was open for two days. On the third day, I didn't go to my parents, so I don't know what the flower looked like, but this is what was left of it on the fourth day. Drained. Obviously, nothing lasts forever.

IMG_20210815_190714.jpg

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

I never get tired of these giant hairy stink monsters!. I'm impressed that your mother keeps it outside her door although I just put a pot of these outside my front door haha, they also smell awful, like dead mice or something

That scent is great to drive away thieves and uninvited guests 😅

Ow, how nice purple color of your ones!

 3 years ago (edited) 

Yes, I thought it would be great for those who come to the door to sell their weird religions.
The purple bells are Stapelia leendertziae and they grow wild in nature in the same area where I live so they are very happy at my house

Plant more of them to be safe :D

Btw, it was only this one that bloomed this summer at mom's house. I couldn't travel last year to their country so I don't know when was the last time it bloomed, she could not recall whether last year it had flowers or not.

Grandma had her cacti and succulents in the garden, many many of them, in pots but in the middle part of the garden. It's a pity I don't have photos, it was when I was small but I still remember them. And the brown spotted smelly flowers :)

 3 years ago  

It's not easy to forget 😉

Lol...and I was about to talk about how beautiful they look😂😂😂

 3 years ago  

They are beautiful... but...

😂😂😂 the stench triumphs the beauty...

You can still enjoy them from the photos :D

Hehehe...They are so lovely...I'd hate to imagine they smell bad...that's like having a beautiful baby that only poops💔

There are some exceptions in these stalepias. For example this one Stapelia Flavopurpurea has a sweet smell.

Fuzzy stinker! :D
I like when they open the petals ones by one... You can stand and watch and the puffff another one detached.

Fuzzy stinker 🤣

It would be cool if I had the tools to make a time-lapse video out of this, eh... But we have to be satisfied now just with the photos :D

I didn't take a single photo of my one this year. It bloomed a few times. My one is dark red.
This time I just enjoyed the view...
and Suzi enjoyed all the visiting flies :p

Not smelling the flower, just being entertained with the flies, I imagine :)

I don't think she minds the stink :p
But the flies... oh so much hoy! You should see her hunt... First she sits like she doesn't care and waits for the fly. I think sometimes she thinks the fly will end up in her mouth on her own.
And then when she finally moves her fatty butt and catches it she wants around with the fly in her mouth and meows... Meows like crazy!
Eventually she will spit the poor fly either way to the floor or inside a shoe. If the fly moves, she will tap it a few times. If the fly is dead she will leave it and wait me to clean it.
Diva!

Let me just say this. You have a beautiful mind.

Thanks for sharing!

How did you guess that? :)

Thanks for stopping by Jin 😇