Light trails

in Photocircle3 years ago

Light trails

This post is for #SublimeSunday is inspired by @c0ff33a and #BeautifulSunday is initiated by @ace108.

Tried to come up with something a little different for this post, these shots all came about after one morning I was by the pond in Buttonwood Park, waiting for the sunrise colors to start, and wasnt to confident at the time that they would ( as it happened it was a nice sunrise and I will get to that in a future post).

As I was waiting I noticed traffic along the road and thought I would try and catch some light trails, and this post came to be with a few light trail shots I have got over the lats couple of weeks, and ending with a light trail that went wrong shot.


light trails.jpg

Sony A7iii 45mm F13 13 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



How light traisl like these are done is a long exposure and fairly dark at the time, then you do not see the cars themselves but you see the trail of their lights


light trails-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 112mm F20 15 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


That firts shot was a 15 second exposure and this next one a 20 second exposure so of course you need a tripod to get shots like these, or somewhere steady to sit your camera if you do not have a tripod, it is pretty impossible to do these sort of shots trying to handhold the camera.

This next shot is another 20 Second exposure from when I did a visit to an Island between New Bedford and Fairhaven, that is connected with the bridge seen in the next shot, I was there that morning to catch two things the sunrise and this bridge closed and opened, I will talk about it more in a future post


light trails-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F7.1 20 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


Althought its a cool bridge its also a pain if your driving and the barries come down as your just approaching the bridge as you know your stuck there for 15 minutes that happened to me this morning, I was up early as usual and decided to go to a Fort in Fairhaven to get some steps and catch the sunrise since the weather apps said no rain till 7, well I got to the fort to find they lock the gates and it doenst open to 7:30, so I headed back towards New bedford and my timing was perfect to see the bridge open aas I was first in the line of cars that got queued up LOL
then I headed to a beach here and the rain started, so a morning walk today just was not meant to be


light trails-4.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F9 30 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


Next up is a spot beside the harbor walk a place I often go for morning walks and this is not exactly a light trail in the conventional term I guess, but how I did this one is another long exposure as it was dark and then zooming in the camera near the end of the exposure to get the effect of light trails.


light trails-5.jpg

Sony A7iii 42mm F16 13 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And as I said a tripod is needed for these types of shots, and you camera needs to be mounted firmly on the tripod, something I didnt do yesterday morning when i went to visit another lighthouse in the area, in this shot when I zoomed in a clearly moved the camera a little, but althought it is a failure in regard to what I was trying to get, it has a sort of double exposure feel and I kind of like this image


light trails-6.jpg

Sony A7iii 32mm F13 13 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And that’s all folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA JJ hive.jpg

TeamUSA is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord


!pinmapple 41.628254 lat -70.952496 long Buttonwood Park New Bedford MA d3scr

Sort:  

The amount of bot comments in this post is frightening.

Point taken :)

I think I have tried such photos only once before with my son. We have photographed an oncoming train and the photos have been quite nice, if I remember right, at least they were better than we thought 😎

It's a great idea to use the time you have to wait and the photos came out nice. I like the first shot and the last one of the lighthouse most, but I wouldn't have thought that you had zoomed - cool 👍


!BEER and !WINE - both make a nice dinner with !PIZZA :)
!invest_vote

Thanks its fun to do something different, doing these reminded me when I did some shots of spinning steel wool on fire a few years back thats something i want to try again sometime

!ENGAGE 30
!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

Yep, doing something different from time to time is interesting and fun. I have never tried to photograph spinning steel wool on fire but seen many images - looks cool 😀


!ENGAGE 30
!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

It was fun to do
A lot easier if there are a couple of people

Hope your weekend has gone well

!ENGAGE 30
!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

I believe you, playing with fire is always fun ;)
I have tried lightpainting with led lights a while ago, but that's too much work for me lazy guy 😎

I had a rainy morning on the road and a rainy and lazy afternoon. Hopefully next week the weather will be nicer.

I hope your Sunday is better, JJ, and you can see some sunshine 🌞


!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

No sunshine yet
Was meant to be clear this morning so went out early started to rain as I parked so gave up on the idea

Led lights are fun to play with as well haven’t done that fir ages

!ENGAGE 30
!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

My morning was clear too, but then I was driving in the rain till I got home and it's still wet ⛈️


!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

Connect

Trade


@johannpiber! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @tattoodjay.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (4/10)

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Connect

Trade


@tattoodjay! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @johannpiber.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (7/20)

@tattoodjay denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@tattoodjay thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @johannpiber, here is a little bit of BEER from @tattoodjay for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that you can use BEER at dCity game to **buy dCity NFT cards** to rule the world.

Connect

Trade


@johannpiber! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @tattoodjay.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (3/10)

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Connect

Trade


@tattoodjay! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @johannpiber.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (5/20)

@tattoodjay denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@tattoodjay thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @johannpiber, here is a little bit of BEER from @tattoodjay for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that you can use BEER at dCity game to **buy dCity NFT cards** to rule the world.

Connect

Trade


@johannpiber! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @tattoodjay.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (2/10)


Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Congratulations, @johannpiber You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINE With @tattoodjay.
You Earned 0.100 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/3 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINE Token Discord Channel
WINE Current Market Price : 0.160

Connect

Trade


@tattoodjay! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @johannpiber.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (1/20)

@tattoodjay denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@tattoodjay thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @johannpiber, here is a little bit of BEER from @tattoodjay for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that you can use BEER at dCity game to **buy dCity NFT cards** to rule the world.

Du wurdest als Member von @investinthefutur gevotet!
Dazu noch ein kleines !BEER & VOIN-Token


Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @investinthefutur for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 68 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
10

!LUV some !BEER now and again

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@pixresteemer, you've been given LUV from @tattoodjay.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (1/4)


Hey @pixresteemer, here is a little bit of BEER from @tattoodjay for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Ghostly lighthouse 'error' turned into something to enjoy, early morning with lights not something I have ever attempted.

Nice early morning outing JJ.

!BEER

Thanks I was quite happy with that lighthouse shots sometimes mistakes can surprise us LOL

Have a great day
Cheers and !BEER


Hey @joanstewart, here is a little bit of BEER from @tattoodjay for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @joanstewart for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that you can use BEER at dCity game to **buy dCity NFT cards** to rule the world.

Good photo shots, all of them. Exposure and angle, etc are all perfect.

Thanks thats so kind of you to say

Hi, I have manually curated your content as you have posted a photo that I found interesting. Your post will be included in my Photophile series of posts and let me share you some !PIZZA and !BEER for the curation!


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Connect

Trade


@tattoodjay! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @photophile.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (1/10)

Thanks so much truly appreciated :)


Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @photophile for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that you can use BEER at dCity game to **buy dCity NFT cards** to rule the world.

I should try to experiment with the pro mode on my phone and see if i can achieve these effect

It’s fun and well worth a try

wow!!!!!!!! the light trail of the lighthouse is soooooooooo cool!!!!!!!

ok now i'm curious - have you ever tried to do a light trail without a tripod??? and what does it look like? hahaha is the whole thing just blurry??

Thanks
And yes I have done some light trails without a tripod everything is blurry but sometimes they can come out cool thought

Hope your weekend is going well

its going so nicely - thank you!!!! and yours too??
i got to spend the morning with a friend who desperately needed hugging and loving. and i was so glad that i got to be the one dispensing all of me in that direction.

it was a hard morning but a beautiful one - you know?

because life will have its moments where it rips the heart out of you. and then it will bring the opportunities for the healing to come in all forms

days like this remind me of the collateral beauty (i love that movie)

Sounds like you were just the love your friend needed and from what I have seen of you I am not surprised
I think I have seen that movie but cannot place it at the moment
When I finish catching up on the olympics I will look for it

oh definitely do - but bring tissues. it's a beautiful movie - but definitely cathartic!!!!

what's your favorite sport in the summer olympics??? hehe

Well I would have to say Rugby is my favorite sport
But I enjoy most sports well watching them these days

i didn't know that rugby was even in the olympics!!!! man - i'm out of touch!!!!

i love the synchronized swimming ehehee
they amaze me!!!

Awwweeeesome shots. Yes, a tripod is necessary but, damn, that lighthouse is epic. That's what we call a "happy mistake" or "artistic freedom."

Thanks
I love both those terms I must remember them
On the back of the camera I thought it was bad but on the computer screen I thought that’s pretty cool

Pretty much the opposite of normal lol

What I don't understand is how the camera can capture the light, but not the blur of the vehicle as it passes. Or is it just collecting light rays before the vehicle passes?

Because it is dark and a long exposure not enough light comes from the cars but the red lights do get caught

I hope that makes sense

Yep. Very interesting. Thanks.

👍🙂👍

I like all the photos. But the last one... I love the edits on that one.
What did you do?
WOW on the first three, and the last two as well!
If I were to take the photo, it will look more like the third from the last, hehehe, and that is trying my very, very best!
Hehehe!

Thanks so much these were fun to do
On the last one my camera can’t have been steady on the tripod so when I zoomed in and out the camera angle must have moved a bit I think

How cool! I love light trails on the highway especially when it is busy, but, it is challenging to separate them all out and still get a good shot. The lighthouse is awesome and is out of the box of normal, but, it has that unique quality that I love to get in photography.

Thanks so much for sharing this and honestly, can it get any more sublime than this??

Thanks so much been ages since I did these sort of shots was fun to do
And I was surprised how cool the lighthouse one came out for a mistake lol

Whoa, that lighthouse shot is surreal! And a bit ghostly. I could imagine using that as a starting idea for a short story. :-)

I love the light trails. I don't have a real camera these days, but when I get one I will definitely be trying some of those. Yours are truly professional. My company buys images like that from stock photo services for our website!

Yeah fir a mistake that lighthouse shot was cool

I should get my act together and put my photos on stock websites sometime

Have a great day

Yes you definitely should. I bet it could be a nice side income.

I will try and make time to do some research thanks for the idea

Wow what amazing captures. I am terrible when it comes to nights shots. I have a series of images (failed) of fireworks.. LOL Too lazy to carry the tripod as well.

A tripod is a pain to carry often but essential fir early morning and yes of course fir fireworks

Thanks

Yes Of course.. with a back issue I sometimes find carrying my camera itself a burden.

Sorry to hear that
Look after yourself

Thank you. Most days I make do with my phone.

Phone cameras are pretty amazing these days