You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Family Matters ❤️ Honor Your Father & Mother 🎶 #APART

in ReggaeJAHM3 years ago

No problem. Yeah the words suggest that the song writer was reading Exodus 20:12 and Ephesians 6:1-2

Honor your father and your mother that your days may be long on the land.

This is a direct quote from Exodus 20:12 and is the 5th commandment.

Children obey your parents in the Lord for this is right.

Ephesians 6:1. The entire chapter actually gives advice on relationships in the context of that time.

The rhythm is actually SKA (late 50s) which is a pre-cursor to reggae. Since I wasn’t around at the time, lol 😂 I checked and this particular song was written in 1963.

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited) 

Ah nice. Thanks for the fact checking. I did see from the cover and the sound that it was something before my time.

Happy I've found it though 😊 and listened to more of this musicians music and I've got to say it has a nice relaxing vibe.

 3 years ago (edited) 

Yeah I recall hearing a lot of this kind of music 🎶 on the radio 📻 on Sundays in Jamaica. It somehow has a nice 👍🏻 Sunday vibe to me.