Some problems of an immigrant

in ReggaeJAHM3 years ago

I always thought about migrating, but to a developed country, it is not that I am unhappy with being in Colombia, luckily I have done well, I must say, and I have also been able to achieve great things, some good friendships, in short, my stay in general terms has been good, with its ups and downs as is to be expected when one is a migrant.

I left my country almost to the races, because of the difficult situation that is going on, and that has been getting even more complicated. At the institutional level it is truly a chaos, and this is something that affects me deeply. Before leaving I left my professional papers with a "manager", who was supposed to finish the process of legalizing and apostilling them, so that they would be valid worldwide, however, I was swindled and finally the pandemic arrived and this process has stopped completely.


image.png

Edited imageSource

Recently I have another situation, and it is that my passport expired, and in order to get it I must go to Venezuela, because in Colombia there is no Venezuelan consulate, due to political problems.

And it is not only a question of going to my country to try to obtain the passport, but everything is so uncertain, I must have an appointment, to be able to have it and then it is a process that takes months before you can have it, that is to say, I would have to go looking for it, who knows after how long, of course, there is a faster way, and it is the fact of paying, that speeds up a lot, but they have spoken to me of amounts of up to 3000 -5000 dollars to be able to have a passport.

I know that my friend and brother @justinparke has had a complex situation regarding this issue of being a migrant, but I must say that I am happy to know that he is overcoming it with his family, and I wish them a great journey to a great stability, together.

And counting on getting the right contact and not getting scammed and losing that money, which I obviously don't have. So, it is a bit frustrating, because many things have been paralyzed, I would say too many, and I repeat, I am not complaining, because I am not starving or anything like that, but, that degree of "legality and illegality" that I have in this country that has received me is a bit complex.


image.png

Source

I emphasize that I have a special permit to stay, which gives me peace of mind, however, if later I have the possibility of leaving this country to one with more stability and in search of better options, I could not, because without a passport, it is impossible, so, the situation is complex, I hope that in one way or another everything manages to stabilize in my country and I can have my passport, without having to gather a fortune to even try.

I know that many of us are immigrants, and that we have gone through situations that we have had to deal with at the right time, and without a doubt that fills us with a great learning experience. It is not a sad story mine, not at all, I must say that I am very fortunate, but truly that life has its hard ways to teach us.

Finally, I want to share this video, which I got and I thought it was a good lyric:


Irie Souljah - Who Is The Immigrant [Official Video 2016]

image.png

image.png

I authorize the use of this banner to everyone who wants to do it.

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

That is a sticky situation. I can imagine how worrying it can be. I know you will remain positive as that’s the way the light will shine.

Who is the immigrant indeed. We want the work to be more open but it seems it is getting more closed unless we are digital beings.


Posted via ReggaeJahm | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Yes @dmilliz, somewhat worrying, especially these days that the political situation has become a bit difficult, however, I remain hopeful that everything should get better.
Thanks for the support Broth


Posted via ReggaeJahm | Reggae Culture Rewarded

 3 years ago  

The lyrics emphasize it very well how we all come from the same land (earth), have the same blood, etc. Borders are a man made concept that those in power want to keep up, to stay in power.

I hope that you'll succeed with your papers. All the best and enjoy the weekend 😊.

Yes, borders are man-made, unfortunately those in power are not necessarily the most open-minded.


Posted via ReggaeJahm | Reggae Culture Rewarded

 3 years ago  

Not the most open-minded yes and also for reasons to stay in power.

I know the struggle you are going through brother, and I can only hope for good things in your future. Is there any Venezuelan representation in Panama, Ecuador, Brazil, or Peru you could access that would be easier than returning home?

We have begun immigration paperwork for the USA, filed about a month ago after spending nearly three years gathering documents and bribing officials. Now we face a problem that our youngest daughter's passport will expire before we are able to leave Suriname.

We now must think to the future, and know that the USA and Cuba hold the only Cambodian embassies in the western hemisphere. Since we can't go the USA yet, it means that they will have to attempt negotiations with the Cambodian Embassy in Havana for a passport renewal. It will likely end in them going back home to Cambodia, where I am still unable to secure a visa. I definitely don't want to risk our daughter becoming stateless, but it's not quite as awkward as your situation.

This would only mean we may have to live here until she could get a Suriname passport, another two to three years. The world is mess, and I hope someday we see the dissolving of borders around the world, acknowledging we are all citizens of Spaceship Earth. Much love from Suriname.


Posted via ReggaeJahm | Reggae Culture Rewarded