I bring you the recipe for Sorrel

in ReggaeJAHM2 years ago

CD7EBAF6-C366-4F45-A99A-6318E4D03665.jpeg
As promised, I back with the recipe for my sorrel drink. The ingredients are :

  • Dried sorrel 85g (if you can find fresh sorrel that would be great.)

  • fresh ginger

  • pimento seeds or cloves
    Options
    Sugar
    Rum
    Red wine
    Stones ginger wine

image.jpg
With these three ingredients, you can make a delicious drink. I have always seen my granny boil the sorrel but recently many people blend the sorrel. This is because they are trying to get all the nutrients from the sorrel. Some of the wonderful properties contained are lost when it’s boiled they claim.
Next time , I will blend it to discover the difference.

Method
In Jamaica I never saw my grandma measure anything, well not literally. It was look , taste and pour. I still largely cook this way. Anyway, method grandma style.

  1. Wash your ginger and cut it in small pieces or crush it.

  2. Throw ginger, pimento and dried sorrel in a big pot.

  3. Fill said pot with water.

  4. Boil until hot for about 5-8 minutes.

  5. Let the pot stay covered for about 2 hours or until cool.

If you are having the ital version then pour mixture through a strainer and into
A bottle. Store in the refrigerator or in a cool place. The longer you keep it outside the refrigerator and in the container, the more it will ferment.

8DB07B07-E95D-4DCF-9123-6CCD6FC25E74.jpeg

FE77F142-D54C-460E-86CF-2B3D4D1EAF94.jpeg
Now for the decadent version.
After straining the sorrel, sweeten with sugar.
Add a half a glass of cheap red wine - in Jamaica people would use red label wine.
We don’t have that in Japan so I got a bottle of cheap red wine (only because I would be using other alcohol). If you plan to only use red wine , then get a good tasting one.
I used a half glass of wine , and mixed that with stones ginger wine. Then I added a half cup of spiced rum. Any rum plain rum would do but I prefer spiced rum. Try not to use a rum with too much flavor or this could negatively affect the taste of the drink.
76349F4D-E802-499B-8962-9DD2832DC429.jpeg
If you make the drink with alcohol, drink with friends, family or by yourself . Chill on ice and have a cold one ☝🏿 but drink responsibly. Don’t drink and drive. If you store this outside the refrigerator, it will ferment so be careful not to over indulge.
4DFC8D8A-2C99-4A88-9817-9E4630B5E012.jpeg
I shared mine with some friends and in Jamaican terms , hol a vibes afterwards.
A3A66EBF-7873-4CA1-B4EA-D2EB239690C8.jpeg

If you try the recipe, let me know how it goes. How do you make or take your sorrel?

2DA4E2C9-374B-4C7D-89C0-A1ED42A58C1F.jpeg

Sort:  

Mmm, often we buy ready-made in green bottles from one of the local stores and drink it over a little over proof rum. If I'm in charge (rarely), I like to fuss with some slices of orange and a little ice. But we also buy the dried sorrel and do the same as you - bring to the boil with chopped fresh ginger, allspice, cloves and slices of orange and allow to infuse before straining and adding sugar to taste ... and then pouring over overproof rum 😂. I like it as a long cool soft drink, too, with soda, orange slices and mint, spiced in the winter and less so in the summer when it is very refreshing.

 2 years ago  

Soda and orange slices ? I’m liking the sound of this. Shall give it a try with the next batch :)

 2 years ago  

It was look , taste and pour.

Hahahaa same here with parents and grandparents. I'm in the middle, when it's something I'm not familiar with or if it's a new recipe, I'll measure, but if it's something I've prepared a dozen times I'll just add and taste.

 2 years ago  

Right , first time measurement only :)

I have never seen anything like this. Must be strong and healthy.

Congratulations @missaj! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 15000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 7
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 2 years ago  

I didn’t realize it was so easy to make. I gotta try it. My aunt sent me some years ago and me end up give it way.

 2 years ago  

Yes man - just like making a cup of tea.