Hike to Šmarna Gora

in TravelFeed4 years ago

Hi guys,

Last weekend we stayed in Ljubljana and went in the city for a walk on Saturday, on Sunday we decided to go to Šmarna Gora, also known as Mount Saint Mary in English.

20200607_164717.jpg

My sports watch says that ascent was 330 meters and we needed 50 minutes with few stops as our toddler was with us in a backpack and he was constantly trowing his hat to the floor. OK, I will admit it was also my pleasure to stop and catch a breath. Our condition is not the best and it is very different to hike or to run for example. My average heart rate was 140 bpm, while at running I have at least 160 bpm, but I was sweating more when I was hiking. It might be that also almost 15 kg toddler was a reason why my legs were hurting that much and I was sweating that much as well. That was second time that he was in the backpack carrier, so my body has to adapt, but most importantly the little one liked it and wasn't complaining at all.

On Sunday there were some showers and one caught us just as we arrived to the top. It was great reason to sit inside and have a meal as well. The little one had some vegetables soup, while me and my wife had strudel, me apple, she cherry. We all enjoyed and in the meantime clouds were not that dark anymore, so the rain stopped. We went down to end this beautiful hike we had. We hurried a bit down in order not to be wet if the rain would start again, so 30 minutes was the time spent for descent.

Photography are not at its best and there are not manny of them as rain was chasing us and there was no time to take photos.

20200607_174111.jpg
This is how the trail looks like

20200607_162549.jpg
First view

20200607_162908.jpg
When you get to this open place, you have only one climb left

20200607_163029.jpg
This is my favorite part

20200607_164305.jpg
Clouds announcing the rain

20200607_165822.jpg
Food stop is a must :)

Have a great day dear hivean friends!

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Good for you to get back in shape, lovely place. After all it seems I do have my own mountain, mountain Mary lol

Haha, these translations...

Good your boy isn't complaining 😬
And I love the soup bowl you have on the table, looks refreshing after the hike 😊

I didn't taste it. My boy ate it all :)

😁😁 he s cute little guy 😊

I love it how your kid thinks you don't get enough exercise with carrying him uphill, and throws his hat around for fun!!! 😆

Btw, not sure if you are aware of our Haveyoubeenhere and Pinmapple community https://peakd.com/c/hive-163772/created. You can post your travel post from the community and pin to Pinmapple (which I know you will of course). The community is supported by OCD under their community incubation program

Thanks for stopping by, but no thanks for supporting my kid's bad behaviour! Just kidding :)

I will stop by at the community in the next days and ask the question if anyone has been there :)

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #874.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thanks!

You're welcome @crazy-andy 👍🙂 well deserved!
liz

So nice... I have found your post on Pinmapple. We visited yesterday this place and enjoyed the Hike a lot. Best regards. 🙃