Bangkok, Thailand before Covid-19 | Lumpini Park, Night Markets, and Chao Phraya River

in TravelFeed4 years ago (edited)

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience


It's tough to pass through immigration when you're traveling
by yourself. I hope you won't get offloaded.

The grab driver said while we're on our way to NAIAA terminal 2.

3days after my birthday, I flew all the way from Manila to Thailand alone.

I feel confident as I step in front of the immigration officer. I politely greeted her Good Morning.

This time, I don't have anyone standing in my back to defend me in case the officer question my purpose of travel. I'm pretty confident to travel alone because of the complete travel documents I prepared. The officer is a young charming lady. She immediately stamped my passport without any question and wished me a safe travel

Thank you!

I said and happily head to the boarding gate.

I always get the window’s seat.

[Read my commuting story blog from Suvarnabhumi Airport to Bangkok City(https://travelfeed.io/@monkeypattycake/commuting-from-suvarnabhumi-airport-to-bangkok-city)

This is the view from our hotel. The Royal Sports Club is on the right side of the photo.

I rested well in my first night. The next day, we picked up Nanay Fancy at the airport. Charles attends his work from Monday to Friday from 8am to 4pm. Most of the time I go out with Nanay Fancy to explore the city.

Image galleries are not supported by your current frontend. View this post on TravelFeed.io for the full experience.

The city is famous for its street foods, and night market attraction. But because of Covid-19, there were only a few tourists roaming outside. Some areas like this floating in this floating market, you can only see the seller as I wait for my order. She happily assists me and said that I was her first customer that night. I slowly felt the pain in my chest as to how she said that. The main livelihood in Bangkok depends on tourism. They were drastically affected because of the pandemic.

The park is in the shade of lush green.

During the day we enjoy going to a public park nearby. Lumpini Park has an artificial lake inside with lots of trees. This place is known for joggers or for people who simply look for a short escape to the hustling city of Bangkok.

There were few infrastructures going on the right side of this photo. Bangkok is still upgrading its skyline.

Look at those incredible skyscrapers! There's a lot of bench around the park. Where visitors can sit and read a book.

We saw a few lizards swimming in the water and walking at the corner of the lake. At first glance, I really thought those are crocodiles.

Look at this bird, it entertains the foreign tourist. I'm impressed by how these birds work for the food of their babies.

At night, this is how vibrant the city transform! We visit in Palladium and Pratunam Night market. They got everything from clothes, jewelry, toys, shoes, kitchen cookware, and food stalls.

One afternoon we also visited Asiatique the Riverfront in Charoen Krung Road. We get there via a free service van from the hotel. The market faces the Chao Phraya River. Like Palladium and Pratunam Market, this place is perfect for shopping.

What makes it stand out from other markets in Bangkok is its entertainment like the Boxing show, Mystery Mansion, and this Ferris Wheel.

Going back to the hotel, we ride a riverboat and train

Image galleries are not supported by your current frontend. View this post on TravelFeed.io for the full experience.


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I like the bags friend. 😍

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #872.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Congratulations @monkeypattycake! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Project Activity Update
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Congratulations @monkeypattycake! You received a sweet smile from TravelFeed. We love your work so keep up the good job. 😊

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@invisusmundi (TravelFeed team)

PS: TravelFeed is in social media to reach out more people, follow us on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.