Quit job moto trip (part 4)

in TravelFeed4 years ago

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience



Switzerland - Austria

On the second morning of July I find myself driving with Tobias, both leaving his house behind where he hosted me but for different reasons. My plan was to cross all Switzerland up to the Austrian border, he was just riding for his routine way to work. He was kind enough to ride with me for a few km. I say goodbye to one of the best friends I made through my trip and then we split. I head North East in great weather conditions.

As you may already know or imagine, Switzerland's countryside is like a fairytale. Therefore, it doesn't make that much sense to follow strict guidelines like “follow this route, visit that place” because even if you don't you'll probably find another nice place on your way, at least as long as you don't use the toll road. It's just that there are some places that look even more beautiful than the rest already nice ones, and I will try to mention only these exceptional ones from all that I've seen around there otherwise I;d be writting a book about Switzerland's eye candies.

First of all I've passed through Col de la Croix which is right before Les Diablerets.

I met a bunch of bikers at Col de la Croix

The route was good enough so I didn't pay too much attention on the mediocre (for the Swiss standards) condition of the tarmac.

Epic scenery, below average tarmac

Right after Les Diablerets, heading East is the also interesting Col du Pillon at 1546m.

The sign spares the caption

Later on, riding on the 11 was a really nice route that passes through Weissenbach, gets even better around Boltigen but what really touched me was the city of Thun. It is a medieval city built right by the Thunersee lake.

Iron horse rests and cools by Thunersee lake

It really worth spending some time there even if you are in a hurry to walk around this gorgeous city and tour around the lake. Especially the route on the North side of this lake is amazing as there are spots where you cross some tunnels dug in the rock while the water of the lake is right beside you. The Brienzersee lake right at the East of Thunersee is as beautiful. The whole area actually is very attractive and offers countless chances for refreshing stops.

I made a mistake later at Innertkitchen and instead of continuing east on 11 I took the 6 going South east. As I told you before though, you can't go wrong at Switzerland and wherever you go you'll expose your eyes at wonderful views. This “mistake” of mine first led me to lake Raterichs,

Raterichs lake

then to Grimselsee

Grimselsee lake

and the Grimsellpass, with the nice lake Totesee beautifying this special place. Guaranteed attraction for the tourist buses.

Alps don’t miss snow even in the heart of summer

Funny bus

At the end of the deviation that this “mistake” caused, I passed Furkapass which has a unique wild beauty, lies at 2436m with a lot of snow and cold, while the weather was about to rain which restricted my joy a little bit.

Myself pictured by a cyclist who was ultra excited he made it up there

Too cold to wait and try the goodies of this food truck

Two guys with their bicycles – super happy to make it up to the top – asked me to take a photo of them under the sign as a proof. They did the same to me (hence the picture of me above) and I decide to continue riding before weather goes worse. I wish I make more mistakes like this on my next trips. This one offered me super scenic km on almost perfect tarmac with nice bends in a snowy rocky landscape much higher than the tree line.

Heading for Austria I cross Lichtenstein which once again didn't impressed me (I was there last year) and the main road crossing it has a lot of traffic. I enter Austria leaving it behind and I stay at Hohenems, a mediocre town where I found a nice hotel with great breakfast. I needed a good place to rest after 400 km on non toll roads crossing all Switzerland at once. As I was getting closer to Austria I saw more and more cars with waving German flags. Later I was informed that the German football team had a great victory against the Argentinian one. Football fans where still noticeable wherever I went as the world championship was still on but fortunately they where less noisy this time.

After an overnight stay at Hohenems I leave it behind for the nearby town of Dornbirn. This is where I would meet my friend Luna. Among other things in her life she has done a tour around South America for a year and a half alone on a Royal Enfield and while I write these lines she is riding her Transalp with her partner (on a BMW 650 GS) heading for Mongolia. When I arrived she was away for the weekend and so I would meet her sister Marianne first. I was early on our appointment so I decided to go to the river where I found a place in the shade to sit for a while as the day was quite hot.

Austrians thirsty for swimming spots. Greeks wouldn’t even look at it - we’re so spoiled sea wise :)

I found some shade for my soulless partner

I was looking at the families passing by on their bicycles, others enjoying the river's water and I find the perfect soundtrack for the whole view listening to “Ready for drowning” from the Manic Street Preachers on my netbook though I was not “Ready for drowning” in the river at all. The whole audiovisual thing made my eyes more wet...funny when/how humans get emotional...in my case I think it was due to digesting my travel experience so far. I already had quite a few thousands of km and still wasn't even close to return back home.

To be honest I couldn't have a better guide than Marianne in Dornbirn. She took me to Luna's place where I'd stay and as soon as I left my luggage there we went to the Bodensee lake where we made a very nice tour with her sailing boat after swimming for a while first – was too hot to say no to the lake's attractive water regardless the sea wise spoiled self of mine. The lake was full of people who had the same idea with us (swimming and/or sailing). Quite expectable on a Saturday that felt more like part of a Greek summer rather than an Austrian one.

Sailing the Bodensee

Lovely green shores

Lindau ahead

More lovely green shores

Marianne hadn't run out of interesting things around the lake to show me yet,

Once more being the only Greek around

A bit of art never hurt anybody

as well as in the centre of Dornbirn,

Lovely old part of Dornbirn

where I was lucky enough to watch a great band from Rimini Italy playing for the local festival. What I really want to mention though, was her father's project. It has to do with a full restoration of a steam machine from Stuttgart, the oldest one around as it was manufactured on 1858 which used to work for textile industry.

Luna’s father put life in this very old machine

It is placed inside a glass frame and if you put one euro you can see it working for a while. For some reason my euro made it work for more than that (maybe all through the night as it kept going!) but I really don't know why...maybe the Gstoehl family's products where generous to me like the Gstoehls themselves were! I was invited by the family for launch next day and since the weather was nice Marianne proposed me to go for hiking at the local canyon (Rappenlochschlucht). Of course I said yes. It is actually a triple canyon, impressively narrow at some points and you have to walk inside a dark tunnel for a few meters.

Insane water resources offer images like this

Between a rock and a...rock

No, I didn’t jump

Thirsty locals again

I didn’t dive here either - he did

Somewhere in the middle is an artificial λίμνη which was made for the second oldest hydroelectric plant that was built there about a century ago.

Artificial but cute nevertheless

After a lot of hours hiking in the deep forest with the rich vegetation and the extra tall trees we arrived at the cable car station which made our way back.

Yes, it was as tall as it looks and even more - missed a significant part of it

View from the top almost 1000m high

The local cable car station

Dorbirn's view from the top there just before 100m high is gorgeous and you can have a complete image of the whole area from there.

Even better view from the top

Cable car view...

...going down

Another worth doing thing is visiting the well known Rolls Royce museum which is located before the canyon and has the richest collection of cars. The whole area is very nice and even if you are lazy enough not to go hiking you can just drive up to Ebnit and have an easy but beautiful route on the way.

On the same afternoon I was stopped by the local police as I was walking back to Luna's house. Two guys come out of the van followed by a gorgeous police woman. All officers were very kind and apologised for this routine control – I just believe I looked quite different than the locals do hence they decided to check me out. Fortunately they were speaking English quite fluently and combined with their totally decent behaviour the whole procedure turned out to be a nice chat with all of us laughing on them trying to pronounce my name reading my Greek ID. At the end they offered me a ride to where I was walking to, they asked me if I need anything in general, but I was in all ways pretty OK so I thanked them and continued walking. Later Luna arrived as well so the day ended with the two of us drinking and chatting about her Mongolia trip at her balcony.

I was thinking about heading East next morning leaving Dornbirn behind, though the forecast was quite rainy. What I had in my mind was not how much rain I would face the next day but the fact that I had just crossed Switzerland a couple of days ago, a biker's heaven country, and I just had a remarkable weekend at Dornbirn where except visiting some of the must see places there I feel lucky that I managed to meet the whole Gstoehl family (almost) and I want to thank every single one of them so much for everything they done for me while I was around.

Stay tuned for part 5!


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

Very enjoyable series. A lot of cool photos here :) Looking forward to the next part. Good job!

Thank you! See you on the next one(s).

Congratulations @orestistrips! You received the biggest smile and some love from TravelFeed! Keep up the amazing blog. 😍 Your post was also chosen as top pick of the day and is now featured on the TravelFeed.io front page.

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@invisusmundi (TravelFeed team)

PS: Why not share your blog posts to your family and friends with the convenient sharing buttons on TravelFeed.io?

That's so heartwarming! I super appreciate it. I do use the sharing buttons! Does it show that I don't? I tweet and share the link. I'm not prompt on the rest social media but will thinking about restarting my FB page shortly just to share them there too. Thanks once again.

We always see your posts on Twitter, that's awesome :) Facebook can be a great way of getting more views on your posts as well. Keep up the great blog!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @ItchyfeetDonica here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #980.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

So excited to read this - thanks a million for all!

You're welcome. Why not come and join our haveyoubeenhere community for greater support on Hive, hope to see you soon!

https://peakd.com/c/hive-163772

Congratulations @orestistrips! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Update for regular authors