STREET ART #132 - The island of São Miguel, Azores (Portugal)

in StreetArt2 years ago

DSC_01.JPG

My visit to the island of São Miguel, the largest of the Azorean islands, started in the largest city Ponte Delgada. We only spent one whole day here, before we went to the north coast and the second largest city Ribeira Grande, where we stayed for the rest of visit on the island. Both cities has street art. This is a selection of what I found. I know there is a lot more, especially in Ponte Delgada, but time was limited here. We didn't come back either. Except for the day we went to the airport to go to the next island.




Ponta Delgada has lots of narrow streets in the center of the city. That's where we went to find a place to have dinner. In one street we past this mural with animals.






In another very narrow pedestrian street we came across this huge whale. It was impossible to take good photos because I was way too close. The Azorean islands does see a lot of whales.One of the activities you can undertake as a tourist is a whale safari. There are also several museums that tell about whaling, because it once was an important industry. I visited one of the museums on the island of Flores.




Another small street where we accidently came across this wall painted on old doors. The face of the old woman is really good I think.


Outside my hotel, by the carpark there is a wall with a colorful, abstract painting.







I found these colorful doors on another wall opposite the hotel I was staying at. Some are painted on the wooden garage doors and some on the window shutters.


A beautiful portrait of an old woman. I did wonder why the top of the head is missing! I wish the face had been complete. I think it would have looked pretty cool.


By the harbour there were street art too. Along the entire quay there is a long painting with a maritime motif, but it was so worn that I had to guess at some of the details. I only took a photo of this octupus.




These are found in Ribeira Grande, which is the second largest city located on the northern coast of the island. The one in the midle is found on a house close to the church. I found the advertising posters that hang down from the balcony disturbing. I really wanted to remove them. If only they hadn't hung so high!

I haven't been able to find out about the artists in either Ponta Delgada or Ribeira Grande, but I enjoyed the street art I came across, never the less. I was very surprised to find amazing street art on the small and westernmost island Flores. I will come back with a post from the islands when I have forted out the photos.

You like street art? Join our street art contest ->
CCC's Street Art Contest #112 | 100% Liquid Payout and ecency points as Prize Pool & Winners of #111


Please do follow if you want to keep up with my next street art. Any upvotes or reblogs are hugely appreciated!

Latest street art post, check out :
STREET ART #131 – Amazing street art in Aalborg (Denmark)


U.J

Kristiansand, Norway

All the photoes are mine, Ulla Jensen (flickr, Instagram and facebook)

[//]:# (!pinmapple 37.78598 lat -25.49532 long STREET ART #132 - The island of São Miguel, Azores (Portugal) d3scr)

#72

Read about us? // Main page!
Latest content: Travel, Art, Article, Photo

Sort:  

They all look great and wonderful to me. We came across every awesome thing my friend Thanks for sharing. Regards @digi-me

 2 years ago  

Yeah I was happy to discover street art on the island, even we didn't have time to actually go looking for it

Wow very creative street arts, I really liked them all specially the image of famous painting of Monalisa. 3D arts look good on wall.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

wow you´ve found some really cool streetart. Thanks for sharing. I will be there end of october :)

 2 years ago  

Sorry for late reply. (been a away on a short vacation) You can look forward to vist the Azores. Absolutely beautiful islands. I started on the island of São Miguel, then Flores, Pico and Faial. Even I didn't get too much time to look for street art, there were great finds on all of the islands!

sounds good, thanks. we only visit san miguel this time. looking forward to it

 2 years ago  

That is the most diverse island. You will get a little bit of everyhing by going there :)

Very cool selection. I really like the mural with the weasel playing in the grass. Thanks for sharing these pics on The StreetArt Community.