It's pronounced 'cull ee-la'

in Whisky/Whiskey2 years ago

On my recent cruise I decided to treat myself to something from the drinks shop. They had a fair few whiskies. My brother-in-law is a Scot and likes whisky, so he offered some advice. I went for this one.

Drinking out

Caol Ila distillery is on the Isle of Islay off the west coast of Scotland. This is the most expensive bottle I have bought myself, but it will last me a while.

Label

It has a fairly strong taste. Maybe my own terms are different to the professionals, but I would call it 'smoky', whilst they say it has little or no smoke. It is one to enjoy slowly rather than swigging down. A little water smooths it off a bit.

Box front

I do not know who writes the blurb on these boxes, but it is very flowery stuff.

Box back

I think I made a good buy to expand the range of my small collection. I really need to get to Islay some time to see where it is made.

Cheers!

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @steevc ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

My dad would love this and I’d happily assist him when we visit and stay a night with them.

I've never seen this before, maybe it's because hubby don't usually go for Islay so I mainly see what he looks at in the shops. It's always good to get advice off another whisky drinker, even better when one is a Scot!!

Man, damn, I've never seen a bottle of alcohol decorated with poetry before 😂😂. Are these guys dramatic or what? 😂😂.

Well, it's a beautiful idea I must admit, it piques my interest and if I found it in a shop I would have surely want to try that one out.

"The smoothness and fine balance of CAOL ILA 12 year old suggests the rounded shapes of the stills, softly outlined in a cloudy day's first glimpse of the sun."

Whoa! That's some seriously flowy words for a strong scotch. Makes me want to go see the "rounded shape of the stills..." while sipping on a glass.

Enjoy!

I've been thinking I need to start getting into some more of the peety/smoky scotches. I haven't really had a lot of experience with them though to know what is good. I know there are some that can be really really intense! I am glad you treated yourself to this!

I have never seen that one, not surprising as there are so many but it looks tops! Islay is lovely, you would definitely like it