Finally -- A Pleasure Drive

in Just Because2 years ago
September 24th, 2022
Temperature 46F/8C




Our First Pleasure Drive of the Year

We decided to take a trip down to Homer to visit a friend on Saturday. The day started out pretty nice a mix of clouds and blue skies. We knew it would not last long, and by the time we got to Ninilchik it was mostly overcast skies. the sun did peek out for a little bit around Anchor point, but only for a little before it started to lightly rain.



First picture of the trip, not to far down the road from where we live. It is fall and I was glad to see that we still had a lot of color after all the rain and winds we have had this month.
DSC_1257.JPG


I do not ride as a passenger very often, but today I got to practice my out the window point and click and pray for some nice shots. It is not easy taking pictures at 55-65 MPH on the road and I do not have a lot of practice at it.

DSC_1258.JPG


You'll see some window glare in this photo, but it looks like light rays from the sky. I like the way this picture came out.
DSC_1263.JPG


Most of the pictures were from out of the passenger side window. I did try to get a few through the front windshield. This was were we were getting close to the mostly overcast sky condition.
DSC_1282.JPG


Fortunately it was still semi clear skies to the west out over the inlet which was the direction I happened to pointing out my window.

DSC_1272.JPG


It did not take long however before the clouds were expanding and we were getting a little bit further away from the inlet and the overcast clouds were beginning to fill in.
DSC_1259.JPG


We turned a short corner and got another reprieve from the clouds as the sunlight decided to dapple the trees and bring their colors out for all to see.
DSC_1262.JPG


I was surprised when I looked through the pictures that I did a pretty good job of keeping the mirror out of the way, but it did creep into this shot. Not as much as one picture I took bud did not post,
DSC_1260.JPG


Last picture of the sunshine area, things turned pretty overcast for the rest of the trip, no sun, no real color popping tree color. I hope we have enough time and energy to take a trip to the mountains before the freezing weather, and that we get a few more nice days, and pleasure trips.
DSC_1270.JPG


Most outings this year have been for doctor visits, hospital visits, lab work visits, pharmacy visits, and then the normal everyday grocery shopping trips. It was real nice to have this trip, sun shine to start, but then back to solid rain for the trip home.

Before heading home we took the short drive up the road to the Fitz Creek post office/general store, my wife wanted to see what kind of deserts they had. I am glad she did, because they had half barbecued chickens for sale, and I have been wanting some chicken for several weeks now, so rain on the way home and a nice BBQ'ed chink leg to munch on. It was nice tender and juicy.

I hope you enjoyed the point and click photo's, I did have fun taking them.


Tiny Picture links back to my blog:

Sort:  

I love the feel of Autumn/Fall in the air and you've captured the mood so well!
Enjoy the chicken <3

Kind of like your last year and a half, things have been a might tough for me this year, still it was a super day and very enjoyable.

Congratulations @bashadow! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-09 - Winners List
Be ready for the 10th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - October 1st 2022

That was a lovely trip down Autumn lane.

Thank you, it was a nice drive to start, until the rain came.

But rain is always welcome

Sounds like a fun little ride and what a great bonus to have some BBQ chicken to eat on the way back.

Glad you were able to get out for a while. The trees are really pretty. We are just starting to have slightly cooler nights, so it will still be a few weeks before we have fall colored trees here.

I hope we can get at least one more trip out, it would be nice if it was a mostly sunny day for the whole trip and not just the start of it.

Hey there!
You've captured some awesome shots there!
The look of autumn in the air...NICE!
The shots are steady, and the clarity is good.
They all look postcard perfect.
BTW - I just discovered your community too...Just because of this "pretty" post:)))
Have a lovely Sunday!

Any time you have a post that doesn't fit somewhere feel free to use Just Because, because sometimes we have things that don't fit the molds of others.

Thank you.

Yeah, I like the concept. I'll definitely pop by sometimes 😄

Those are some nice photos. Taking good photos from inside a car is quite difficult, and you manage to get some nice shots with a fast moving car, so awesome.

anyway 8C, I better stay inside the house. way too cold for me.

You acclimate to the weather after a few years.

I'm glad you got to go on your pleasure trip. When I take photos from the car, I call it armchair photography. I thought if I gave it a name it would cover my idleness up! You can get surprisingly good results even if you don't get out the car. I enjoyed your post and hopefully there will be more pleasure trips to come.

I hope we are able to get out more, it has not been a pleasant year for us with my health issues.

You've got to have some good luck from now on.

I hope. Things are finally starting to heal, and appointments are finally decreasing.


Hey @bashadow, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

Congratulations @bashadow! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Be ready for the 10th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - October 1st 2022

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 124 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
7

Thank you.