Procrastination is a Thief of Destiny

in Humanitas28 days ago

Have you ever made plans to do a particular thing, but after you might have expended your energy and time to make sure you execute that plan, it is miscarried no matter how hard you try? I have been there many times, and as a matter of fact, procrastination is one of the things that I have to deal with as a person before it gets too late. I am hopeful that God will help me. Procrastination has been, from time immemorial, defined as the thief of time. But I will like to modify this age-long definition. I will like to add that "procrastination is not only the thief of time, it is equally a thief of destiny" as it has the ability to make people who fall into its claws a complete failure.


Source

I discovered a long time ago that I have to resist procrastination when I had a very strong passion to write a book. I could clearly remember when that passion was burning irresistibly, I used to dedicate a greater percentage of my time to writing. I was writing at such time when it was convenient and when it was not. I usually went out with my book and a pen regardless of where I went to – church, event market, etc; and I will write anywhere and anytime the inspiration came. I was in the habit of going to bed late in the night after I had spent hours writing and I will wake up at cock crow with my books.
After a while, I was no longer responsive to my passion to publish a book. I would even procrastinate writing down those beautiful inspirations that often evoked in my mind. I gradually got accustomed to procrastination that at a point, the passion began to diminish, up to the extent that I had to struggle to write just a few lines. I seemed to have lost it all when procrastination took its full course on me.
It was after that time that I discovered that procrastination was something I should be conscious never to give any room for. I'm trying hard to fan my talent into flame again and I know I will be fully restored.

I love making plans and I don't like doing things extemporaneously. The only time I feel sad and sometimes feel discouraged too about making plans for anything is when I do not have the resources to achieve my plans. During such times, I prefer doing whatsoever I wanted to do when I have the resources available even without planning than to plan and lack resources to bankroll my planned projects.

I was not familiar with the 5 am club until a friend of mine recommended it for me many months ago and as I noticed, I am becoming more productive. Since I realized this , I am giving more of my time and dedication to the 5 am club as I look forward to being completely transformed.

This is my response to the mayinleo prompt procrastication, planning, 5 am club

Posted Using InLeo Alpha