Sort:  

Hello and welcome to the group. I had similar issues with the DJI support for Android phone versions. I'm usually on newer models of their phones, and when phone updates would come out, it would constantly break the app. Not to mention having to bypass normal controls, do manual non-store installs, etc. I ended up going two routes, first I kept an old support phone and dedicated it to just flying the drone, then later I just started using the "Smart Controller" and "RCPro" Controllers. This has been a MUCH better experience. The screens are better, the controls better, and range better and charge lasts much longer. Highly recommend going that route for anyone that flies more than infrequently.

Hi there @ksteem and thank you for the welcome. This community is just what I wanted to find.
You know a problem shared is a problem solved.

I've been in touch with dji about this phone compatibility problem and they assured me that they are working on it? I won't hold my breath 🤦‍♂️😂👍🏼

I know what you mean about getting a dji controller. It's the sensible thing to do but the iPhone 8 plus is working great. It doesn't have a sim in it so I don't get notifications mid flight 😂👍🏼

I think the thing that bugged me was the marketing strategy of dji. It was misleading.

I had to dig deep on DJI's website to find what phone worked?
The list is tiny and they often stop supporting phones that they previously supported.

Come to think of it.

It's a pretty slick way to get people to buy their dedicated controllers? 🤦‍♂️🤯

I must say the drone is totally amazing. I've got some incredible landscape footage of Scotland. I'll upload it when I get time to edit it.

As you can see this post is not new but has some important information that I felt needed to be shared with people in this community.

Thankfully I just discovered cross posting was a thing! 😂🤦‍♂️👍🏼

Don't vote on it. There are no rewards for cross posting.