City of Flowers.

in Throwback Thursday11 days ago (edited)

The amazement that remains is determined by the speed at which time passes. I've seen some theories I can't trust (as long as they can't be proven) that say that the second of now is no longer the same as the second of 50 years ago, that the second keeps getting smaller and smaller without us noticing it, but still having this impression that time is passing faster and faster, that we are getting older faster.

I don't count the hours, I don't count the days that go by but the calendar doesn't let me, it reminds me of the speed with which the days and the weeks go by. There are other time measurement units, but they have variable dimensions, which depend on our perception, mine in this case.

When I was working, such a unit of measurement was the distance, in time, between the days when I received my salary. Most of the time it seemed to me that time passed too slowly! Of course, I didn't have enough money from one paycheck to the next.

Now it's late Thursday evening, and it seems like yesterday was last Thursday. Time has passed incredibly quickly and I haven't prepared for Throwback Thursday. I wouldn't want to miss the opportunity to share a few more memories. I don't know if I'll make it in time, but I'm trying. It will be a more visual, more photo story, I hope you enjoy it!


Memories from the time I lived in Iasi, a beautiful and important city in Romania.


I know (from movies) that in America people are used to moving to different cities many times, where they find a place to work. In Romania, this does not happen and people don't have to move to other cities to look for work. That was the case a decade ago when I was working. Now things are starting to change...

I was lucky enough to experience a job in another city (Iasi) very far from where I live (Bucharest), almost 500 km.

Because the memories of Iasi are many and are supported by many photos, I will write about it several times. This post is kind of an introduction to getting used to the place.


Iasi is a city of flowers.

There are everywhere, in the city center, in the courtyards and gardens of the inhabitants, and, especially, at the Botanical Garden.

IMG_7267.jpg

I have collected several hundred photos of the flowers from the most beautiful botanical garden. Each flower is a memory and many will end up here. I can't get rid of these colorful and fragrant memories!

IMG_7286.jpg


Iasi is the city where I could see the moon and the sun every evening, night, and morning!

I got lucky with the apartment I lived in. I lived high up on the tenth floor and had no other tall buildings in front of my window.

IMG_8847.jpg

IMG_8829.jpg

Every cloudless morning was a spectacle of sunrise. I just had to get up early enough, which happened many times.

IMG_8835.jpg

IMG_8841.jpg

Then the moon, my favorite!
I even managed to take a few night shots.

IMG_6761.jpg

IMG_6766.jpg

The position of the apartment did not offer me the most spectacular view of the city. I still had a great view of the edge though. The largest building shown in these photos is a hospital. The largest children's hospital.


Downtown

The city has countless beauties, especially in its center.

Cathedral

IMG_8984.jpg

On the same alignment, but on the opposite side, is one of the most beautiful buildings, which houses the National Theatre and the Opera.

IMG_8986.jpg

Stefan cel Mare Avenue is pedestrian, a favorite place for walking for the inhabitants and visitors of the city.

IMG_8992.jpg

IMG_8994.jpg

This avenue stops at the Palace of Culture, the city's emblem. It dominates every view.

IMG_9002.jpg

As I said, there are flowers everywhere.

IMG_9012.jpg

Another famous character, I've shown it several times. He is a theatrical character and is inviting us to the theatre. Remind everyone that there are two theatres and an opera.

IMG_8959.jpg


I've just shown a few highlights of this city where I had the chance to live and work for a year and from where I came away with memories. A few are here now, and many more will be here next week.

There were a few memories from the good part of life. I want most of all to remember these. The best memories and the ones I can document with photos are from my travels.


BeFunky-design (2).jpg


Sort:  

wonderful pictures

Thank you!

What an amazing place, the streets, the buildings and the flowers. The views are beautiful and it is a great memory! Best regards @bluemoon 🤗

Time waits for no man , hehe
I love your pics man, your dedication to bringing quality stuffs is commendable

Beautiful photos! I love watching the sunrise and the sunset at every opportunity I have, but I have not been able to take good shots like yours.
It seems that time ticks faster nowadays truly maybe because one has so much to do all the time.
#dreemerforlife

Gorgeous pics. What a blessing to have that view of the sunrise every morning! The architecture, the culture, and the history on display; this is something I love about Europe. I love that all the streets seem to be tree-lined too. The town planners appear to have done well to make the city feel less claustrophobic and less concrete jungle-esque. I can see how you could fall in love with a place like this. !LUV

I read your post through Dreemport.

#dreemerforlife

bluemoon, samsmith1971 sent you LUV. 🙂 (5/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Especially during summer, the flowers like this become more beautiful and the trees also look more beautiful as the leaves fall on them.