Do I really remember those moments?

in Throwback Thursdaylast month (edited)

IMG_20240314_102858.jpg

It is interesting to think about this phenomenon - our ability to remember things that happened in the past. Have you ever asked yourself how memories are formed in our minds? I have no correct answers; I didn't study this matter thoroughly and my conclusions are not scientifically backed. {If this were a post about finances, I would say this is not financial advice hahaha}

I understand that everything we experience in this life, what we learn - in our conscious and unconscious is processed and stored in some kind of files in our brain. To what extent we can extract this information and memories depends on the triggers and our ability to let these stored data come to light. Those are moments we lived one day and we can recall them... but can we remember the moments we lived in our very early childhood?

We were told that the earliest memories we can recall date back to when we were about four or five years old. It was confusing... as I thought I was remembering some moments that happened when I was younger. Fortunately, some new studies say people can recall memories as young as two and a half years old. Good - it seems that I am not crazy!

IMG_20240314_102816.jpg

What happens is that I remember - or I think that I remember this garden and all the cacti my grandmother had. According to these photos, I was playing there, with some petals in the puddle after a rain, in the cracks of the old concrete.

That is me - I know my face is not seen here but I clearly remember that I was running away from the photo cameras. I was hiding when my parents wanted to take a photo of us, so it was easier to capture that little mi when she was not aware of the presence of the photo camera. That phase lasted for some years.

Besides many cacti (you can see only a part of them in this picture), my grandma had many indoor plants and roses in the garden. It was an old house where I was born and lived in my early childhood before we moved to the new house when my parents finished the construction of it.

Grandma felt sad to leave that place, as did I. That was the house where I fell into the basement (and survived - without many consequences 😁)... where I ate soap and ran from my mom who wanted to catch me and take it out of my mouth... where I ate flour while my grandma was baking and where I remember my first Christmas and my parents holding me and sister in their hands and showing toward the sky and stars. The star which guided the Three Wise Men... It was also the house where we had the old grand piano - my first contact with a musical instrument that in a way became part of me.

IMG_20240314_102747.jpg

I found this morning these photos from an old photo album - I know these are not digital photos, but I was born in times when only analogue cameras existed. Do I really remember the shared memories or they were just told so many times by my family that I formed them as my memories?


{I do remember them 😉}

mipiano_-_MP.png

Sort:  

That's interesting!
Some years ago I've read that even the things we remember from many years ago, we do not remember as they really happened. Each time we think or talk about events from our past we (or our brain) slightly change elements of it, intentionally or unintentionally/unconsciously. Since I read that, I am more careful when telling a story from my past, as it may have never happened that way 😉

That can indeed be the thing. Our perception even changes from day to day, not to mention the memories from childhood. Although the essential facts can't be changed, we probably colour our own life story adding different nuances each time we recall a memory. 😃

a trip down memory lane... ❤️

who cares if the recollections are real, formed, or reshaped... it's the feelings that hold the truths!

True, and what is even more interesting is how the feelings can hit when memories are recalled...

I hope you are well? 🤗

well, I am ;)

your post did touch up on some of my memories... and it'll give me some endurance to what I am doing... sometimes it's tough to remember why... but it's the feelings that make it real after all.

Endurance for you 🙏

(...did you notice that in one of the photos, my grandma can be seen watching over me? I don't know if it's a coincidence the way it was photographed. In any case, maybe we can find some additional meaning in terms of who looks after whom at certain moments of life...)

I lost all my photos when I was a kid. I remember those photos in my mind, though...
But I only remember a few childhood memories, haha. Usually the embarrassing and unforgettable ones..

You're lucky you still have them.. 🥺

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@jane1289, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @mipiano and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/12 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

I don't have many of those photos either, but something - this small photo album and one another at my parent's home. I am sorry you lost all your photos of you from that time, but as you say, you still can remember them 😇

Have you ever thought @mipiano what photos will we keep now if our cell phone and computer hard drive breaks. Your photos as a child are a precious memory. And you were very pretty. My regards, nice Thursday.🤗🥰❤️

Maybe we are lucky that we have these photos and not many digital photos on phones and hard drives as it is the case nowadays... Thank you, I think I was a bit chubby as a toddler hahaha but I like that hair. Now it is straight but I remember a phase when wanted to have it curly or at least wavy 😂

Thank you Mamani, a nice day to you too 😉

✨😃

I was just talking to my brother a while ago about the accumulation of memories in the brain and how it works. It is a subject that I am also passionate about. It turns out that our brain erases many memories and changes others. Our brain always protects us.

Those photographs are beautiful and a faithful memory that you may not remember. I have few memories of my childhood... or rather I erased them due to many circumstances.

What if I told you that memories are not in our brain?😉

I don't know where they are stored, I was just thinking aloud :D

That is true that some memories are probably erased for our own good, as you say, our brain protects us 😇

For these photographs awaken some dormant memories, sometimes it happens.

And they are beautiful!🤗

It's great that you remember so much of the past. I have very few pictures of me as a child. More when I was a baby lol. There are some things I can remember from the past. All good times, well most of them XD

I have just one photo from when I was a baby 😁 and a few as a toddler and small child. Later we had a bit more opportunities to take photos.

Tomorrow is Friday... XD but I will work even longer than usual as I have one rehearsal... maybe we can play one Adele song now, in advance? 😇🎶

Of course if you join us we can play it 🙏

Do I really remember the shared memories or they were just told so many times by my family that I formed them as my memories?
This is a very good question, because when I relate a memory one way, it turns out to be another way, but in my mind it doesn't look like that, so what is the real memory?

Sometimes I don't remember what I did the day before but I remember what I did when I was 6 years old haha how does this work? I don't know 😂

What funny and risky anecdotes you have in that house, kids at that age usually put in their mouths the first thing they see haha

so what is the real memory?

Always the one you remember hahaha. Others remember the same thing in a different way - so it is their memory :D

Sometimes I don't remember what I did the day before

Oh, that happens to me too, I tend to forget to do the everyday stuff, like doing some paperwork (that I don't like so I guess I forget them on purpose lol)

What a nice post and what a cute little girl there is in those photos 🥰🤗.

From my early childhood I don't think I remember much. In fact they are confusing the memories I think I have. Sometimes I think they are created by stories told, but there is one from when I was 3 years old that seems so vivid to me....it was when my pacifier was snatched from me because I wouldn't eat anything. I remember every detail of the scene and it even hurts still 🤣.

... and she didn't wear a skirt with flowers 😂

Oh no, it still hurts. A few weeks ago my son told me a few things... something in the style of your episode with the pacifier. How interesting - I saw the situations from a different angle back in time than my son hahaha

I still remember the day and the shelves in one big store when my mom didn't want to buy me a toy 😂

...and she didn't wear a skirt with flowers 😂

Bueno...pero tu predilección por las flores ya se manifestaba, mírate rodeada de ellas!!! 🤣

Jajaja, verdad... 🌺🌼🌸 :))

I love your fashion sense when you were little, and your hair, how beautiful and wavey on the ends!

I wish that wavy style stayed for a lifetime, but it didn't.

My fashion sense hahaha, do you think I would be a good candidate for the Hive's Red Carpet community in that outfit? 😁

Of course you remember!
Oh, but what a cute little girl... playing with puddles and flowers.

She was indeed little at that time.

Maybe I thought the flowers needed water hahaha, which reminded me to check my plants tomorrow and water them 😅

All this talk about your childhood and seeing these photos makes me feel tender. Maybe it's because when I saw you and read you, the door of memories opened in my head and I've been watching myself like that, tiny like you, in my grandmother's garden, asking for something from a glass cabinet, I've sensed the smell of the milk creams that Tita used to cook for me and then the sound of the spoon she used to take the sweet from the cauldron...

Thanks mipiano. 💙

Tita. She can't be forgotten, with all the essential moments that you lived together with her and at her house. I hope that it was a pleasant time for you - to remember your early childhood 😇

I don't think you've outgrown that phase where you didn't like being in front of the camera hahaha .... My friend, there is so much right in what you say, those first memories are quite blurry 🤣 I think you are on a higher level than me, because my memories are like from the age of 4 years old, and many people say they remember from the age of two.

Your pictures of yesteryear are very nice and I loved the way you have shared them, just photographing you holding them, I think it's great and that's why I admire and follow your steps here on Hive. I also love when you talk about your grandmother, you make me love her too ❤️

I don't think you've outgrown that phase where you didn't like being in front of the camera hahaha ....

Spot on. How did you know hahaha? 🤐😂

I am older than you, I had more time to gather my memories lol. The photos, well, those are what I have, (and some more) they are not in digital form so I photographed them in this way 😉 Thank you Jes, happy Thursday to you 😇

Childhood memories are really beautiful. Our faces smile when we remember our old memories. We want to go back to the moment. And these memories will stay with us forever. ☘️✨

Your grandmother's garden is full of flowers and looks beautiful ❤️

Hmm, we want to go back for a moment, or a few moments, to our innocence and carefree days, but I know we would long to come back to the present, as it is what we live 😉

It is nice to sèe childhood memories flash your memory as I don't remember anyhing of that age.

These things I mentioned, oh and there are more, can't be erased from my memory 😉

we don't have much pictures when we were kids. We had some pictures captured by my aunt who has a camera.

I don't have many early childhood pictures either, but those photos I have I do keep on a safe place 😊

These photographs are worth gold because they are a piece of our past frozen in time.

And I also look like frozen there hahaha, in front of that little puddle 😂

Ahhw you were such an adorable little thing!

If I am thinking about it.. it is actually so strange that we don't remember most things from when we where 3 years or younger considering that small things made such a huge impression on little kids

I was haha, with all the little mischiefs 😂

Yeah, a good question actually...

♥️

Congratulations @mipiano! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 900 posts.
Your next target is to reach 950 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Looks like you have always loved gardening or flowers right from small and that’s so good to know about you
Those are ecstatic moments though and most happenings during this age that we can remember are interesting events
We were young so we were not worried about the sadness of the world

It's just like that childhood memories are only inside the mind and the rest in this way, if we had good cameras in this era, we would have pictures too, there are very few pictures of childhood.

I also have just a few pictures from that time...

Comer jabón para uno es tan divertido, porque somos inocentes y no sabemos lo que hacemos, la niñez es la etapa más hermosa de la vida. Que bien que hayas compartido este bonito recuerdo de tu vida con tu familia, me gustó tu post @mipiano ✌️

Gracias @mardoni, me imagino que también conoces el sabor de jabón de experiencia :D

Every photo contains old memories, Accidently i have lost my childhood photos

Oh, losing all your childhood photos is a pity. I don't have too many, but those that were taken are well kept

Even though I have a similar feeling when getting through the pictures with I as a kid, I often say that the emotion of remembering those times are rather created by the stories we often hear for each image from our family and that slowly makes it such a real memory that gives you the feeling of remembering everything. But I don't think we really remember those moments since the more we grow up, the more we forget our past...

Yeah, as I said I don't know if the stories are told so many times that they stay in our memories forever or if we form them based on what we hear many times from our family. I sometimes forget everyday stuff, chores etc 😂 (maybe it is procrastination so I say that I forget hahaha)

What beautiful childhood memories, I read you and I feel like I'm seeing myself haha (I also fell down some stairs and survived) but at the same time I was very happy in that stage full of innocence, mischief, games and laughter. You were a very pretty girl, your hair took my attention, between straight and wavy, it reminds me of the one in the representations of the baby Jesus. 😊

We are the falling children hahaha

I know it is kind of normal but huh, it was rolling down into the basement 😂

I am not an expert on the subject either, it happens to me that a smell, a song, a meal. Sometimes that makes me remember part of what I lived in my childhood. Excellent post, thanks for sharing.

Those are the triggers (smell, song) that make us recall the memories. It is so powerful, isn't it? 😇

Si amiga, muy poderoso. Gracias bella por responder, saludos.

Great memories happen during our childhood, sadly I don't have photos back then.

Reading your post reminds me how beautiful and wonderful my childhood memories are.