The New Me!

in Lifestyle2 months ago

The Beginning

image.png

You may have met me before when I wrote about my life as an actress and then I disappeared! That was a long time ago. But I am back! Why am I back? Well, I got cancer. The nasty kind. Initially, my surgeons were high fiving themselves, and me, as we had caught it so early. "Thank your lucky stars!" they said. "Thank your appendix for rupturing and bringing you to the emergency department!" they said. I felt truly blessed. All I needed was right hand hemicolectomy and I was good to go.

image.png

The last 2 years and 9 months

Sadly, cancer can be tricky, and that's how mine went. It jumped to my liver, peritoneum, and my ovary. But I sucked it up and told myself I would make a full and complete recovery. All day every day, I told myself I was getting better. I spent over four months in hospital vomiting until we changed to a lighter chemotherapy. Once that settled my ovary grew to the size and weight of a baby. I had surgery. I remember waking up feeling like a million dollars and the surgeon declared "Clodagh, No stoma!". So how lucky was I? A stoma is a bag that collects your poo and I was told that I would most likely need one. To Hell with that, I was again so lucky to meet a group of stage 4 Colorectal cancer friends and together we established Bowel Cancer Ireland and co-hosted the first Colorectal Cancer Seminar in Ireland in 2023 and again in 2024.

image.png
(Speaking at the 1st Colorectal Seminar 2023, Prof Grainne O Kane, Brendan Donlon and myself)

Where I am on This Journey

Since then it has been a rollercoaster chess game, living from CT scan to CT scan (tests to see where your cancer is at). I have had miraculous scans and devastating ones but man have I learnt a lot about life. I have seen the best and worst of people. I have been loved by strangers and betrayed by close friends. I have walked slowly through Hell mentally and physically but I have also been privy to remarkable beauty and astounding kindness.
Do I have faith? Yes, and I believe in some kind of God - because I found myself on floor praying to him/her but gosh there is no one in the world that wants to live more than I. For my son (9 years) and my husband (@ammonite) and my family.
If you are like me or close to someone like me, I wish to lighten your load with this blog and maybe give you a laugh every now and then.
untitled.gif

Sort:  

Well aren't you a sight for sore eyes! That ammonite fella said you were ill but no more than that. Delighted to see you. Welcome back!

Following your journey. Keep fighting!

Thank you so much. Apologies for taking so long to reply. I am still learning how to navigate this site. Clodagh 😀

Wow 😲

You really are the definition of a strong person. You have been through a lot and most especially you are a conqueror. Keep praying to that God if for no reason for the save of that 9year old cute boy, the miracle would be completed.

Good luck to you 🥺🥺🥺

Thank you so much. I really appreciate it. One day at a time!

Greetings @clodaghdowning ,

When reading your post...'Do I have faith? Yes, and I believe in some kind of God - because I found myself on floor praying to him/her but gosh there is no one in the world that wants to live more than I. For my son (9 years) and my husband (@ammonite) and my family.'

I was reminded of a post from @ammonite a few years ago...

https://whaleshares.io/@ammonite/sliced-nativity-sand-sculpture-137

The Nativity scene centred on Christ, (God's Son) Whom God in His great love for mankind sent into the world to die as a substitute for us. John 3.16 For God so loved the world that He sent His uniquely born Son so that anyone who believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life. It is faith alone in Christ alone for salvation. Nothing else. It is that simple. Another verse from the New Testament reads...For by Grace are you saved and that not of yourselves it is a gift from God, lest anyone should boast. Ephesians 2.8,9 Believe on the Lord Jesus Christ and you will be saved.

First things first.

Okay so that takes care of Eternity...what about now...Once you become a believer in Jesus Christ...You become part of God's family...His plan will unfold for you...As He is a perfect God, absolute Good, His plan is perfect...God knows best.

You will be in my thoughts and prayers. ^__^

Kind Regards,

Bleujay

Thank you Bleujay. That means a lot. This group has been a great source for comfort to us both. Clodagh 😀


Hey @bleujay, here is a little bit of BEER from @isnochys for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Hello @bleujay
This is my own !BEER
Have fun with it!:)

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment STOP below

I'm so sorry, I didn't know @ammonite was going through so much at home, though now thinking back he may have mentioned something about his wife's health.

A friend of mine discovered she had stage four bowel cancer about 8 or 9 years ago. Luckily she pulled through her treatment. She's lost a lot of weight since, but I guess that's the least of her problems in the scheme of things. She still leads an independent life now.

As to those close friends who have betrayed you, shame on them. Who needs friends like them!! Quality over quantity!!

Stay strong and positive!

Thank you Livinguktaiwan! It is amazing to hear about your friend. That is incredible and very uplifting to hear. Thank you for your support, I am truly grateful. 😀 Clodagh

Congratulations @clodaghdowning! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 300 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Really nice to connect with you on here and to have the opportunity to follow your healing journey. It has been an intense one though I imagine, from what you have described. xxx