[Eng-Esp] Overcoming My Fears: How I Learned to Drive and Conquered the Road / Superando mis miedos: Cómo aprendí a conducir y conquisté la carretera

in Lifestylelast year
ENGLISH

Hello everyone! Today I want to share with you my exciting experience learning to drive my first car. It has been a journey filled with challenges, laughter and a great sense of accomplishment. Let me take you through the ups and downs of this fascinating chapter of my life.
It all started with a dream of freedom and autonomy. After a long time of saving and comparing different options, I finally made the decision to buy my own car. I felt a mixture of excitement and nervousness when I picked up the keys and sat behind the wheel for the first time. It was the beginning of a new stage in my life.

ESPAÑOL

¡Hola a todos! Hoy quiero compartir con ustedes mi emocionante experiencia al aprender a manejar mi primer carro. Ha sido un viaje lleno de desafíos, risas y un gran sentido de logro. Permítanme llevarlos a través de los altibajos de este fascinante capítulo de mi vida.
Todo comenzó con un sueño de libertad y autonomía. Después de mucho tiempo ahorrando y comparando diferentes opciones, finalmente tomé la decisión de comprar mi propio carro. Sentí una mezcla de emoción y nerviosismo cuando recogí las llaves y me senté al volante por primera vez. Era el comienzo de una nueva etapa en mi vida.

FOTO PRINCIPAL.jpg

The car was synchronous, which made learning much more difficult, my first obstacle was to familiarize myself with the controls and the layout of the vehicle. I had no previous experience, so I had to learn everything from scratch. Fortunately, I had a kind and patient driving instructor who guided me through each step. I learned how to adjust the seats and rearview mirrors to make sure I had good visibility. In addition, I understood the importance of the pedals, the handbrake and how to use the gearshift correctly.

I remember my first driving lessons in an empty parking lot. With trembling hands, I turned the key in the ignition and slowly started to move the car, but as I didn't know how to release the clutch and put the car in gear the car would turn off hahahaha it was really frustrating, the car looked like a horse that was slowing me down all the time. It took me some time to get used to the feeling of controlling the vehicle, but little by little I began to gain confidence.

El carro era sincrónico, lo que hacía mucho más difícil el aprendizaje, mi primer obstáculo fue familiarizarme con los controles y la disposición del vehículo. No tenía experiencia previa, así que tuve que aprender todo desde cero. Afortunadamente, tenía un instructor de manejo amable y paciente que me guio a través de cada paso. Aprendí cómo ajustar los asientos y los espejos retrovisores para asegurarme de tener una buena visibilidad. Además, comprendí la importancia de los pedales, el freno de mano y cómo utilizar correctamente la palanca de cambios.

Recuerdo mis primeras lecciones de manejo en un estacionamiento vacío. Con las manos temblorosas, giré la llave en el encendido y lentamente comencé a mover el carro, pero como no sabía el tema de soltar el clutch y poner la velocidad el carro se me apagaba jajajaja era verdaderamente frustrante, el carrito parecía un caballo que se me frenaba a cada rato. Me llevó algún tiempo acostumbrarme a la sensación de controlar el vehículo, pero poco a poco empecé a ganar confianza.

WhatsApp Image 2023-05-16 at 11.10.44 AM.jpeg

I do not forget how my body felt, I felt stiff, stressed, like all the time I was with my bones without free movement hahahahahahahaha and guys, that feeling lasts for a while, as you get on the road and all that is released, it is completely normal and is part of the process, it's like everything, as you learn something and you are gaining confidence.
After mastering the basic skills, it was time to venture into the city streets. The first time I drove in real traffic was an exciting challenge. I was constantly watching for traffic signs, intersections and pedestrians. As I gained experience, I learned to anticipate the behavior of other drivers and make quick but safe decisions.

No olvido como sentía mi cuerpo, me sentía tiesa, estresada, como que todo el tiempo estaba con los huesos sin movimiento libre jajajajajaja y chicos, esa sensación dura un tiempo, a medida que van agarrando carretera ya todo eso se va liberando, es completamente normal y es parte del proceso, es como todo pues, a medida que aprendes algo ya vas agarrando confianza.
Después de dominar las habilidades básicas, llegó el momento de aventurarme en las calles de la ciudad. La primera vez que conduje en tráfico real fue un desafío emocionante. Estaba constantemente pendiente de las señales de tráfico, las intersecciones y los peatones. A medida que ganaba experiencia, aprendí a anticipar el comportamiento de otros conductores y a tomar decisiones rápidas pero seguras.

WhatsApp Image 2023-05-16 at 12.03.50 PM.jpeg

My learning also included unexpected situations, such as driving in heavy rain or facing a traffic jam. These experiences taught me the importance of staying calm and adapting to different driving conditions.

Windshield wiper confusion: During a heavy rain, I realized that I didn't know how to activate the windshield wiper. Instead of finding the right control, I ended up activating the turn signals. So there I was, driving with the turn signals on while trying to see through the fogged windshield. It was a comical moment and it took me a few minutes to figure out how to properly use the wipers.

The side mirror scare: At first, I had a hard time figuring out the distance between my car and surrounding objects. One day, while parking, I turned a little too far and heard a thud. It turns out I had hit the side mirror against a pole. Fortunately, it was just a scare and the mirror moved without breaking, but I definitely learned to pay more attention to nearby objects when parking.

Confusion with high beams: One night, while driving down a dark road, I noticed drivers coming in the opposite direction flashing their lights. I thought it was a form of friendly greeting, so I began to enthusiastically return the gesture. It wasn't until one driver flashed his lights at me repeatedly that I realized I had my high beams on all the time. I felt a little embarrassed, but at least I was able to correct my mistake and learned how to properly use my car lights.

The Accidental Honking Incident: On one occasion, I was waiting at a stoplight, deep in thought. When the light turned green, my mind was still distracted and, instead of pressing the accelerator, I unconsciously pressed the car horn. Suddenly, all the drivers around me looked at me with surprise and some even laughed. I laughed at my own distraction and quickly realized my mistake, continuing on my way while blushing at my little unintentional "serenade".

Mi aprendizaje también incluyó situaciones inesperadas, como conducir bajo la lluvia intensa o enfrentar un embotellamiento. Estas experiencias me enseñaron la importancia de mantener la calma y adaptarme a diferentes condiciones de manejo.

La confusión del limpiaparabrisas: Durante una lluvia intensa, me di cuenta de que no sabía cómo activar el limpiaparabrisas. En lugar de encontrar el control adecuado, terminé activando los intermitentes. Así que allí estaba, manejando con los intermitentes encendidos mientras trataba de ver a través del parabrisas empañado. Fue un momento cómico y me tomó unos minutos descifrar cómo usar correctamente los limpiaparabrisas.

El susto de los espejos laterales: Al principio, me costaba calcular la distancia entre mi carro y los objetos alrededor. Un día, mientras estacionaba, giré un poco demasiado y escuché un ruido sordo. Resulta que había golpeado el espejo lateral contra un poste. Afortunadamente, solo fue un susto y el espejo se movió sin romperse, pero definitivamente aprendí a prestar más atención a los objetos cercanos al estacionar.

La confusión con las luces altas: Una noche, mientras conducía por una carretera oscura, noté que los conductores venían en dirección contraria parpadeando sus luces. Pensé que era una forma de saludo amistoso, así que comencé a devolver el gesto con entusiasmo. No fue hasta que un conductor me hizo señales de luces repetidamente que me di cuenta de que tenía las luces altas encendidas todo el tiempo. Me sentí un poco avergonzado, pero al menos pude corregir mi error y aprendí a usar adecuadamente las luces del carro.

El incidente del bocinazo accidental: En una ocasión, me encontraba esperando en un semáforo, absorto en mis pensamientos. Cuando el semáforo se puso en verde, mi mente seguía distraída y, en lugar de presionar el acelerador, inconscientemente presioné la bocina del carro. De repente, todos los conductores a mi alrededor me miraron con sorpresa y algunos incluso se rieron. Me reí de mi propia distracción y rápidamente me di cuenta de mi error, continuando mi camino mientras me sonrojaba por mi pequeña "serenata" involuntaria.

WhatsApp Image 2023-05-16 at 11.56.15 AM.jpeg

These funny anecdotes reminded me that we all make mistakes when learning something new, even though they may seem embarrassing at the time, they are experiences that make us laugh and help us grow as drivers. I learned not to take myself too seriously and to enjoy the ride, even when things didn't go as planned.

Over time, I became more confident and skilled behind the wheel. I enjoyed road trips, exploring new places and discovering breathtaking scenery. Every kilometer driven was an opportunity to learn something new and perfect my technique.

Today, I can proudly say that I feel comfortable and confident driving my first car. I learned to take proper care of it, maintaining regular maintenance and following the recommendations given to me by family and friends. Not only did I gain independence, but I also discovered a love for driving that I had never experienced before.

Estas anécdotas divertidas me recordaron que todos cometemos errores al aprender algo nuevo, aunque en el momento puedan parecer embarazosos, son experiencias que nos hacen reír y nos ayudan a crecer como conductores. Aprendí a no tomarme demasiado en serio y a disfrutar del viaje, incluso cuando las cosas no salían según lo planeado.

Con el tiempo, fui adquiriendo más confianza y habilidades al volante. Disfrutaba de los viajes por carretera, explorando nuevos lugares y descubriendo paisajes impresionantes. Cada kilómetro recorrido era una oportunidad para aprender algo nuevo y perfeccionar mi técnica.

Hoy, puedo decir con orgullo que me siento cómoda y segura manejando mi primer carro. Aprendí a cuidarlo adecuadamente, manteniendo el mantenimiento regular y siguiendo las recomendaciones que me daban familiares y amigos. No solo gané independencia, sino que también descubrí un amor por la conducción que nunca antes había experimentado.

WhatsApp Image 2023-05-16 at 11.57.06 AM.jpeg

Through this process, I also realized the responsibility that comes with driving a car, and road safety became a priority for me. I always make sure to follow traffic rules, wear my seat belt and respect other road users. Sharing the road with other drivers and pedestrians became an essential part of my driving experience.

Throughout this journey, I also discovered the importance of patience and perseverance. Sometimes I made mistakes and faced challenging situations, but I never gave up. Every obstacle became an opportunity for learning and growth.

In addition, I cannot fail to mention the gratitude I feel towards the people who supported me in this process. From my driving instructor to my friends and family who gave me words of encouragement and helpful advice, everyone played an important role in my success.

If you are at the stage of learning to drive your first car, I encourage you to keep going. Don't be afraid to face challenges and enjoy every moment. Remember that every mistake is an opportunity to learn and improve.

So get ready to start this exciting adventure and enjoy the freedom and independence that driving your own car gives you! You won't regret it!

A través de este proceso, también me di cuenta de la responsabilidad que conlleva manejar un carro, la seguridad vial se convirtió en una prioridad para mí. Siempre me aseguro de seguir las normas de tránsito, utilizar el cinturón de seguridad y respetar a los demás usuarios de la vía. Compartir el camino con otros conductores y peatones se convirtió en una parte esencial de mi experiencia al volante.

A lo largo de este viaje, también descubrí la importancia de la paciencia y la perseverancia. A veces cometía errores y enfrentaba situaciones desafiantes, pero nunca me di por vencido. Cada obstáculo se convirtió en una oportunidad de aprendizaje y crecimiento.

Además, no puedo dejar de mencionar la gratitud que siento hacia las personas que me apoyaron en este proceso. Desde mi instructor de manejo hasta mis amigos y familiares que me brindaron palabras de aliento y consejos útiles, todos desempeñaron un papel importante en mi éxito.

Si estás en la etapa de aprender a manejar tu primer carro, te animo a que sigas adelante. No tengas miedo de enfrentar los desafíos y disfruta de cada momento. Recuerda que cada error es una oportunidad de aprender y mejorar.

¡Así que prepárate para comenzar esta emocionante aventura y disfruta de la libertad y la independencia que te brinda el manejar tu propio carro! ¡No te arrepentirás!

Sort:  

Congratulations @dayanass! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - May 15, 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!