Christmas is in the house thanks to the least christmassy person. ✧ENG/ESP✧

in Lifestyle7 months ago

Christmas is approaching and we all know that December has not arrived when you start to hear bagpipes, or in my case, to decorate the house with Christmas decorations and lights. I remember when I was talking about this with a friend from another country, and he thought it was funny that I had not waited for December to start when I was already dusting off the decorations. Usually in my house we put up a little tree, but my mom wanted this time the decoration to be based on lights exclusively, for one of those ideas that moms find when they spend time on Pinterest (what tremendous ideas you can get there, by the way).

Se acerca la navidad y todos sabemos que no ha llegado diciembre cuando ya se empiezan a escuchar gaitas, o en mi caso, a decorar la casa con adornos y luces navideñas. Recuerdo cuando hablaba sobre esto con un amigo de otro país, y le parecía divertido que no había esperado que empezara diciembre cuando ya estaba desempolvando los adornos. Generalmente en mi casa colocamos un arbolito, pero mi mamá quiso que esta vez la decoración se basara en luces exclusivamente, por una de esas ideas que las madres encuentran cuando pasan tiempo en Pinterest (que tremendas ideas las que puedes conseguir allí, por cierto).


The funniest thing of all is that even though I love Christmas lights, and the decorations that are made in squares and parks, I'm not exactly an enthusiastic person for Christmas, or at least I wasn't so much in the past. Once in a park I cried from happiness for all the illumination that brought me so much joy, but in general since a few years ago I felt apathetic when these dates approached, all I wanted to do was to stay locked in my room watching movies (Christmas, clearly), without having to get ready to go out even though I like to share with my family.

Lo más divertido de todo es que a pesar de que amo las luces de navidad, y las decoraciones que se hacen en plazas y parques, no soy una persona precisamente entusiasta por la navidad, o por lo menos no lo era tanto en el pasado. Una vez en un parque lloré de la felicidad por toda la iluminación que me trajo tanta alegría, pero en general desde hace unos cuantos años me sentía apática cuando se acercaban estas fechas, todo lo que quería hacer era quedarme encerrada en mi cuarto viendo películas (navideñas, claramente), sin tener que arreglarme para salir a pesar de que me gusta compartir con mi familia.


And now, from one moment to another, my mom made me the official Christmas decorator at home, so everything (misguided or not) is my responsibility. She gives me the ideas and I am in charge of giving life to those ideas, while she gives her opinion if she likes it or not and if something is missing or if it looks nice, since that is her concept of "let's decorate"... Something that doesn't bother me that much, since I like to work alone. For this year, near the place where I work I got some beautiful purple lights, some people see them as pink but we'll keep them as purple because I love the color, and my mom wanted to take advantage of a column that we usually overlook when it comes to decorating.

Y ahora, de un momento a otro, mi mamá me convirtió en la decoradora oficial de la navidad en casa, así que todo (desacierto o no) corre por mi responsabilidad. Ella me da las ideas y yo me encargo de dar vida a esas ideas, mientras que ella opina si le gusta o no y si falta algo o si está bonito, pues ese es su concepto de “vamos a decorar”… Cosa que no me molesta ni tanto, ya que me gusta trabajar sola. Para este año, cerca del lugar donde trabajo conseguí unas hermosas luces moradas, que algunos las ven rosadas pero nos quedaremos con que son moradas porque me encanta el color, y mi mamá quiso aprovechar una columna que usualmente pasamos por alto cuando de decorar se trata.


So all the ornaments instead of hanging from a tree, were going to be suspended over this column. I'm thankful I was alone while I was thinking about how I was going to do that, as I'm not exactly the most meticulous person when it comes to working with details, instead I work more by following my instinct and a lot of trial and error. When I got an idea of what I could do, I started placing them with different heights, and then I added to that some beautiful green lights that were a gift from a godmother. To tell you the truth, if it wasn't for her giving us these green lights, I wouldn't have thought to combine purple with green and it turns out that the combination is not only wonderful, but complements each other incredibly well.

De manera que todos los adornos en vez de colgar de un árbol, iban a estar suspendidos sobre esta columna. Agradezco haber estado sola mientras pensaba en cómo iba a hacer eso, ya que no soy precisamente la persona más minuciosa a la hora de trabajar con detalles, en cambio trabajo más siguiendo mi instinto y con la práctica de mucho ensayo y error. Cuando me hice una idea de lo que podía hacer, empecé a colocarlas con diferentes alturas, y luego agregué a eso unas luces de un precioso verde que fueron un regalo de una madrina. A decir verdad, de no ser porque ella nos regaló estas luces verdes, no habría pensado en combinar morado con verde y resulta que la combinación no solo es maravillosa, sino que se complementa increíblemente bien.


We'll see what other creative idea my mom comes up with next year, but for now we are both happy with the result, and personally, I spend more time in my living room just to be able to see the lights. Of course, a couple of spaces away we added the rest of the lights we had left, or I should say that I put them up as my mom told me to, and if it were up to her we would have the whole house full of more and more lights, but she is happy with this different idea to our usual little tree, and I am happy to see her at ease.

Ya veremos qué otra idea creativa se le ocurre a mi mamá para que la haga el próximo año, pero de momento ambas quedamos contentas con el resultado, y en lo personal, paso más tiempo en mi sala solo para poder ver las luces. Por supuesto, a un par de espacios más agregamos el resto de las luces que nos quedaban, o debo decir que las coloqué yo mientras mi mamá me lo indicaba, y de ser por ella tendríamos toda la casa llena de más y más luces, pero está contenta con esta idea diferente a nuestro habitual arbolito, y yo contenta de verla a gusto.


All photographs used are from my personal gallery.

Todas las fotos utilizadas son de mi galería personal.

Sort:  

Congratulations @divinojupiter! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 100 posts.
Your next target is to reach 150 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - November 15, 2023