The Burden of being the first child in the family

in Lifestyle16 days ago

Being the first child in the family can feel like carrying a big responsibility. You're the one who sets the example for your younger siblings. You might feel pressure to do well in school, behave properly, and be a role model. Sometimes it feels like all eyes are on you, and you have to pave the way for your siblings. You might also be expected to help out more around the house and take on extra chores. While being the first child can be tough at times, it also comes with some advantages like getting to do things first and having a special bond with your younger siblings. Overall, it's a mix of challenges and rewards that shape who you are as the oldest in the family.

Being the first child in the family carries a significant burden that often goes unnoticed. From the moment you enter the world, you are pushed into a role of leadership and responsibility, setting the tone for your siblings who come after you. This position comes with both challenges and rewards, shaping the course of your life in a very serious ways.

    A STATE OF WORRY

20230818_142028.jpg
That's me looking worried in the picture above. As you can see, that's not a happy face at all. (lol) as I was on a call with one of my siblings, telling me what she needed.

My younger siblings look up to me. Even before I graduated, I've been like a father figure to them. When I was in school, they always asked me for things. They would say, "Bro, tomorrow is salah, buy me clothes," or "I need to change my phone, my friends all have better ones." Being an undergraduate, this gave me a headache always. I knew they were naive since I'm the oldest. They automatically looked to me for support. It worried me because I couldn't always get them everything they wanted.

IMG-20240414-WA0000.jpg

That's just a screenshot of my chats with the last Born of the family. He's fast to demand things from me ehn 😂.
And I act as if everything is fine with me financially, so they won't be disappointed.

!

Until now, whenever my siblings' messages appear on my phone screen, I feel shocked. I always think they want something from me again. Because of my current financial situation, I'm not always happy to see their messages. Even though they don't actually want anything from me. Even though they just want to say hi to their brother.

Talking about the last Born of the family, one thing I love about him is the manners of showing appreciation, it always make me feel happy anytime I'm able to assist him financially be it little or much assistance.

IMG-20240414-WA0001.jpg

Despite the challenges, being the first child also comes with its fair share of rewards and privileges. You have the privilege of experiencing many milestones before your siblings, These experiences shape your identity and contribute to your sense of self-confidence and independence.

A heartfelt prayer for all first children. May the Lord grant us the financial strength to fulfill our roles within our families. Amen.

All images are mine.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Congratulations @monsoor1! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 300 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

https://inleo.io/threads/monsoor1/re-monsoor1-pext8yfg
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( monsoor1 ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

so many societal pressures and customs. it sure sounds like high expectations and demands placed on you as firstborn.

would you like to pass that on? or try to find a different way for the generations to come?

i have pretty much laid down all i have been taught as the vast majority of it turned out to be false. specifically the norms and 'have to's' of modern life in germany.

blessings to you and your family

The Burden is just too much for me.. A heavyweight for real 🤦‍♂️

Thanks I appreciate your concern

as the saying goes: "when the student is ready, the teacher appears."
so either you are ready to use the challenge and grow, or you choose to change things to something different with your own kids so that they can grow up freer.

bit what do i know? i grew up in germany and am living in a car on permanent travels. ahahahaha.

good luck to you either way!!

Smile, thanks for the advice.
Growing up in Germany will never be as difficult as growing up in Nigeria though 😂

yes, there are different kinds of problems in different places. i guess the ones that affect us locally always seem most difficult.
blessings

Hello.
There is reasonable evidence that this article is machine-generated. We would appreciate it if you could avoid publishing AI-generated content (full or partial texts, art, etc.).
Thank you.

Guide: AI-Generated Content = Not Original Content

If you believe this comment is in error, please contact us in #appeals in Discord.