Forming a Habit and Targeting Some Fitness Goals This 2024

in Lifestyle4 months ago (edited)

I feel like I'm still one of the few who is still trying to get back into normalcy coming from the Pandemic. Ever since the lockdown happened, my life went from very active to full sedentary mode due to the working from home situation and family health struggles. That's almost 4 years!

Now that I have more time, one of my goals this year is to get back into Fitness. Pre-pandemic, I would say I was in my peak form considering the very active and enjoyable lifestyle I had. I was very much into sports: Tennis, Football, Freediving, Badminton. Initially attended Yoga classes; then HIIT as soon as a studio opened within my office building. Those were the days.

image source: https://www.jlc.consulting/post/achieve-goals-by-creating-habits-that-actually-stick

Creating Habits


I'm not getting any younger and in some ways, my body has been telling me that. Hence, it is really important to take care of it and prioritize health and fitness. Knowing myself as a creature of habit, it is important that I make healthy activities a part of my system.

1. Be Active Again


Trying to being active again, I started with playing tennis and badminton on weekends. My style of play has always been based on agility (chasing the ball). In one of my casual badminton games, I think the sudden burst in activities and explosive play eventually strained my knees for which bothered me for several weeks now. Just visited the doctor this morning and initial diagnosis points towards "Patellar Tendinitis". The good thing is that it is quite common, so I hope it can be managed well. Due to this, I'm scheduled for 6 Physical Therapy sessions, 2x a week for the next 3 weeks.

2. Monitor Weight


Image source:  whyiexercise.com
In terms of my weight, I used to be (pre-pandemic) on the borderline towards overweight as based on my Body Mass Index (BMI). For my height, it shows that I need to lose weight. My recent scales show that I'm officially overweight, at least for a few kilos. I sense it's really hard to lose weight with my current lifestyle especially with my diet (need to cut off on junk food). Really need to set discipline upon myself.

3. Go to a Gym

Proximity is key! Finally enrolled in a nearby 24/7 gym which is less than a kilometer away from home.

I'm not a "gym bro" as I've been used to just learning through group sessions and suck at DIY workourts. This time, I've hired a personal trainer for 20 sessions to guide me and hopefully I'll be able to workout independently in the future.
Reception area

I bought my folding bike during the pandemic for 'last mile' travel, but haven't really used it that much. This gives me additional motivation to the gym since I can add more mileage to my bike. The gym's 24/7 access is also important to me as it won't give me any reason not to go to the gym.
My bike "Crissy", a 20-inch folding bike

4. Strengthen my Left (non-dominant side)

Already had 2 sessions with my trainer and I realize how weak my left is compared to my right. Understandably, my right has been my dominant side on my usual activities, so no surprise there. As I do more resistance training, I definitely need to workout my left more and in general start small in terms of the weights I'm handling. It really feels like starting from scratch. Hopefully, I can get into rhythm as soon as possible.

Any tips or references you can share for workouts? Will be happy to read about your fitness/health goals as well. Looking forward to learning more and being more conscientious about health this 2024!
Sort:  

Talagang inspiring ang journey mo towards fitness this 2024! Mahirap talaga bumalik sa active lifestyle lalo na after a long break, pero great job sa pag-set ng realistic goals @scion02b

Napili po namin ang post na ito sa aming curation ng MCGI Cares Hive community. Nais po namin kayo na anyayahan sa aming community na nag aaral ng salita ng Dios. Maaari rin po natin i-follow ang aming Official Youtube channel. Keep doing the great job po ❤️

Maraming salamat po sa inyong pagbisita at sa mensahe :)

!PGM

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS - 0.01 WOO - 0.005 SCRAP - 0.001 INK tokens

remaining commands 10

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


Congratulations @scion02b! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 100 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 3 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Rebuilding HiveBuzz: The Challenges Towards Recovery