You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Showcase Sunday: My Four Tiers of Beer, or simply what I can or can't drink

in BEER4 years ago

Oh, that's shocking that you can't drink real ale without ill effects!

I find that if I drink lager or carbonated beer I get aggressive after about three pints whereas on ale I just get mellow and into the "you're my bestest friend" mindset.

That was an interesting angle on the bullying side of pub crawls - I'd never thought of it like that.. Now wondering if it's something I was guilty of in the past - quite probably, so I apologise, on behalf of others.

I'm a hardened beer drinker but not as much as I was 20 years ago. I think my bladder gives way before my legs do these days, so it's a few years since I was incapacitated by beer.
There are definitely beers I don't sleep well after (Bishop Finger being one), but often it'll be a switch to whisky or wine that ruins my sleep.

Sort:  

That was an interesting angle on the bullying side of pub crawls - I'd never thought of it like that.. Now wondering if it's something I was guilty of in the past - quite probably, so I apologise, on behalf of others.

Ah, you were an ex crawl ringleader? It wasn't so much bullying, more pressure to keep up with the rest and a night of billy-no mates if you could not conform.

Missing a pint, or spilling half of it down your shirt in an attempt to cheat was breaking the rules!

My body rejecting beer has likely made me a lot healthier than some of my old mates. Some have huge beer bellies now.