Beer Saturday - A night out in Edinburgh with the family, with beers from Bellfield and Brewdog

in BEER2 years ago

My wife, daughter and I went for an nice evening out in Edinburgh for a few beers and dinner. My daughter is 13 so she wasnt on the beer - although she had a couple of cheeky wee sips when bar staff werent looking !

Our first stop was a pop-up pub up on Calton Hill, which is housed in an incredible old School.

 "UgSUDQz5QmqrAhw_PxJ5CQ.jpg"

I had been there the week before with a friend and posted about it - and just had to go back, the building is incredible.

qIAVLYenRoSuAVD2iyJRbA.jpg

The pub side of things is handled by the Bellfield Brewery from here in Edinburgh and they have created this really cool bar from old pianos !

gCrSDHHWRDS1PGVxoIdAWg.jpg

Both my wife and I started with their Resonancy Pilsner - the tap in blue on the left.

95HKwzqeQbu_7t_YOl0KQA.jpg

I have to say their pilsner is really nice. Not hoppy at all and very refreshing. I had another while there, as we were enjoying the ambience in what is quite a spectacular old room in the school.

m6m_rr1dSm2wmwkC9dAlZg.jpg

My daughter was getting hungry so we then had to push on to the next place for a bite to eat. We had our sights set on a Brewdog pub which serves fantastic food.

0W45qEU1QJWuP7agjckZ4w.jpg

So we left the school - still cant get over how pretty that building is (above) - built in the 19th century in the style of an old greek temple !

eDXGx3I9Rp-Ged812Z5i2g.jpg

We quickly took in the view from the hill across Edinburgh city center and Waverley train station, before heading down the hill towards Brewdog.

M40Fbot7TKyZusxW3v9Y5A.jpg

I quite liked this graffiti we saw on the way - cool skeletons.

4OKjhz7dRR-NOmqV3dw72g.jpg

Once at Brewdog I had a lost lager. I find a lot of Brewdogs beers to be quite hoppy for me, and their lost lager is probably about the least hoppy you can get - so its my staple when I'm drinking something from Brewdog.

k830-mIJSzqdpMkHRNfSNA.jpg

Brewdog is another Scottish Brewery that has exploded across the globe over the last decade. They recently received a lot of bad press for treating their staff terribly (all in the pursuit of growth and profits), so I was pleased to see the sign above on the table, that the bar staff get a share of bar profits - which must be a pretty decent amount surely - its normally a fairly busy pub.

0olmIxqaRSGF0LIClbXDTw.jpg

The LOST beer glasses are quite cool. My mate Trevor says its so Lego people can also hold the glass !

FY8tk0yTS-6uI8gluvaZTA.jpg

The food there was lovely. Their burgers are awesome, as are their sweet potatoe chips. Not the healthiest of meals, but we had been on a long walk in the morning, so that balanced things out !

And the lost lagers, and bottle of vaporetto prosecco (which was lovely), were helping to wash things down nicely.

8Z9w_4MZR2ux0T77Z19akw.jpg

From there it was a short taxi ride home, and I snapped the building above on the way (I was enjoying its geometry !).

We had a lovely night out. Both venues were great, as was the food. The Bellfield Pilsner was the beer of choice for me tonight, and the LOST lager from Brewdog was a nice staple to follow.

All the best from Scotland @hoosie

__hf7WcjSYitzBG67tNdTA.jpg

Sort:  

Very strang kind of bar there, with the chimney in the background. But wait, are you drinking beer from plastic bekers? And you aren't even on a festival? !CTP

So the pop-up bar is actually part of a large festival that happens in Edinburgh every year, and I guess it was easier for them to use those plastic glasses - I didnt mind though ! But its a cool bar !

I must have understood it wrong. After all it's a festival...?... I thought it was some kind of a brewery visit. And in that case I woudln't expect a brewery to give "plastic glasses" to try their beer from. !PIZZA

Sorry, I'll do my best to explain. The Edinburgh Festival, is a celebration of the arts (comedey, theatre, etc) that is held in numerous venues around the city. Its note a music festival that is held somewhere in a field. In this case, it was in an old disused school. The building itself has bot been used in 60 years, so its not in great position. So they had to take everything in that they needed to set up a bar, including furniture, etc. It was just easier for them to use plastic glasses that plumb in a sink/facilities to wash real glasses, etc. I hope that helps !
!PIZZA

Oh I see, thank you for the explanation. A festival in a city with different venues seems like a lot of fun and quite special to me. Maybe one day I'd come and visit it. No worries about the plastic glasses! !LUV

looks like a nice evening with some good !BEER

Aye - it certainly was, quite enjoyed it - a nice family night out !
!PIZZA

 2 years ago  

Hey @hoosie, here is a little bit of BEER from @detlev for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
svanbo tipped hoosie (x1)
hoosie tipped detlev (x1)
@hoosie(11/15) tipped @svanbo (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Man, that popup pub looks amazing. I got some real university vibes from it. I had a few friends back then who once a month had an underground pub in the basement of a random house in the student apartment part of the town. They called it the Green Light because they hung a green light outside.

This pop-up pub is quite official, as it was opened as a venue as part of the Edinburgh Festival which happens every August - but yes, it does have a studenty vibe. And I love you green light underground pubs - that would have been great fun !

Sadly I only learned about it recently, years after they had them. So I missed them as well. =(

But might have a chance on the pop-up one, I only have to find my way to Edinburgh =)

[@quekery] !hiqvote

!BEER

 2 years ago  

Hey @hoosie, here is a little bit of BEER from @hiq.redaktion for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

Loading...