Big Sky Brewing Hazy I.P.A.: An Amateurish Beer Review

in BEER5 months ago (edited)

Take a deep breath, you are one sip away from the unrelentingly pleasant tropical aroma and refreshing taste of pineapple and citrus fruit in our Hazy IPA! As agile as a fur bearer on a matchstick boat, It's [sic] smooth and light body will help you navigate the Hazy, giddy up is going to be a flavorful ride.

HazyBox22.png
Image source: Big Sky Brewing

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

Enough of what they say for themselves. Time for my take! I like several of the offerings from this Montana brewery, but this one isn't such a great option in my opinion. It's not bad by any means, but neither is it particularly good. I don't detect the claimed 60 IBU, the hops profile is just a bit more than a basic craft lager, and it just smells OK. Tropical? no. Pineapple and citrus? Maybe a bit more than a LaCroix sparkling water.

OK, that's too unkind. But while it would be a decent lager, it just isn't much of an IPA. It's reasonably refreshing, I suppose. With options like Dogfish Head 60 Minute IPA and Voodoo Ranger Juice Force IPA as comparisons, this just misses the mark.

I will also note that my can is marked at 5.6% ABV, so I don't know whether this is a test run, a limited release, a printing error, or what. Maybe there's a good reason I found it in the discount section at the local grocery store.

While it has no bearing on the beer itself, I will also note that the can art is in fact a plastic shrink-wrapped sleeve. It's even serrated for easy removal.

canstrip1.jpg

Look at that lovely can.


canstrip2.jpg

Just a peek, now.


canstrip3.jpg

Really teasing without the full reveal just yet


canstrip4.jpg

Hey, this is isn't tagged NSFW! No full nudity. Pervert.


Sorry, not sorry. I'm not drunk, I just have an odd sense of humor.

Anyway, the beer is OK, but not a proper IPA. If you're ever out Montana way, instead look for their Shake-A-Day.

No, I won't apologize for bad poetry, either.

Upvote and comment if you really want some uncensored pics of bare aluminium, and I'll think about it. No promises, though.

dizzy d20 128.png

HIVE | PeakD | Ecency

If you're not on Hive yet, I invite you to join through PeakD. If you use my referral link, I'll even delegate some Hive Power to help you get started.

Sort:  

I have loved Big Sky Brewing for years. I first found the Moose Drool during a trip to Montana at least 20 years ago and Moose Drool is still my favorite brown ale.

!BEER
!PGM

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS - 0.01 WOO - 0.005 SCRAP - 0.001 INK tokens

remaining commands 4

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


Moose Drool is a tasty beer for sure.

Bare metal baby! Yeah!!

I hate it when they print on a plastic shrink wrap kind of thing and they robbed you of 0.4% alcohol. Outrageous. To the stocks with them!

Hi, the important thing is that you enjoyed it. That can without its cover looked sexy. Cheers.

Hahaha
I can sense some kind of enjoyment even from your write up
You really enjoyed it!

Those type of beer will really taste so nice I must confess

 5 months ago  

Hey @jacobtothe, here is a little bit of BEER from @scoutroc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

You happiness is my desire and realizing you did so is the most important thing in life.

Keep on enjoying your beer