Salzburger Stiegl Gold: An Amateurish Beer Review

in BEER2 years ago

Stiegl Can.jpg

Seigl claims a history nearly 530 years old, with that anniversary approaching around the time this post pays out next week. This seems auspicious.

Stiegl Fail.jpg

And the tab breaking off suddenly quells that sense of impending fortune. Maybe that's what soured me from the start? At any rate, after applying some brute force to access the nectar within, I found it underwhelming.

I hope this isn't another example of an unrefined palate disregarding a hidden gem, but I was unimpressed. I've had beers from Germany and Austria before, so I found the hops and malt profile unsurprisingly European in contrast to the usual American micro- and macro-brew styles. I just don't think it's a particularly good example.

Don't misunderstand, I don't think it's a bad beer either, but it doesn't live up to the mystical aura of Product of Austria emblazoned on the can.

What is it? 5% ABV, and generally a mild lager profile all around. It is not especially bitter, with a slightly floral hops profile instead of PINE AND CITRUS TO THE MAX of most microbrews these days or the watery nothing of the big brands.

I don't hate it. I just don't see any good reason to give it another go when so many other options are available.


468x60-3.png

You'll more likely win just a few Satoshis per hourly spin, but it's an easy way to dip your toes in the Bitcoin ecosystem. Referral link.

PeakD Signature Bar.png

If you're not on Hive yet, I invite you to join through PeakD. If you use my referral link, I'll even delegate some Hive Power to help you get started.

Sort:  

Hey man beer is beer.

True, !BEER is beer, but this is like Glock. Austrian efficiency without any real flair to make it good.

I have to say that Glock is really not that bad after not being a fan for a long time. They aren't that bad....

img_0.6553091645981399

Not bad. Reliable. Effective. Accurate. But not great. The trigger and grip angle just aren't for me.

Get the aftermarket frame.... Changes everything. Same parts just different angle and complete difference.

After the change? I'd rather lose the cheap Glock over losing an expensive 1911 again...

 2 years ago  

Hey @ganjafarmer, here is a little bit of BEER from @jacobtothe for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

After 530 years, I'm not surprised the pull tab failed. Beer was probably stale at this point, too, which made it underwhelming.

PINE AND CITRUS TO THE MAX of most microbrews these days

LOL! I don't drink beer but I smell this from a mile away all the time. Well, at least from a few feet away.

Darn those shoddy Renaissance-era aluminum alloys, right?

Ha! Yes. Darn them.

Oof for a mediocre drink.

!BEER

 2 years ago  

Hey @jacobtothe, here is a little bit of BEER from @enforcer48 for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.