Chocolate, Oatmeal, Festive, Golden

in BEER5 months ago

Time for another round of beers, its #beersaturday! Let's see what I have been drinking these past few weeks, starting with an interesting Chocolate stout.

Milk Chocolate Stout


20231216_153537~2.jpg

Brewery: Brock Street Brewing Co
Origin: Ontario Canada
Style: Milk Stout
Abv: 5.5%

Marketing: Black and chocolate brown coloring on the can, images of bars of chocolate; everything seems to hint at whats inside and what to expect from this beer.

20231216_160942~2.jpg

Color: Pours black as ink with a frothy head of foam.

Nose: I smelled an indistinct leathery aroma at first with mild chocolate undertones coming through. The leather might have come from a smokey smell from the roasted malts in the beer.

Taste: Sweet and slightly sour with strong cocoa flavors coming through. Roasted malt flavors and a sharp-sweet finish.

Texture: Small sharp bubbles with a smooth velvety texture underneath. Full bodied mouthfeel.

20231216_153705~2.jpg

Impression: This was quite good on the first few sips but was getting pretty gross by the end for me. Overall it was way too sweet, sickly sweet even, almost like a beer and soda combo. The whole thing with milk Stouts is that they add lactose to them (milk sugar) to give them texture and a soft velvety mouthfeel. Traditional yeasts do not digest lactose though, and because of that, the sugars just get left in the liquid. That may be the point and it may be intentional but this is likely the reason why the beer tastes so sweet. I won't be buying this again, too sweet for my liking.

Sägemehl Stadt Festbier


20231218_163801~2.jpg

Brewery: Sawdust City Brewing Co
Origin: Ontario Canada
Style: Märzen
Abv: 5.7%
IBU: 25
SRM: 11
OG: 13.6P (Original gravity)
FG: 3.0P (Final gravity)
Hops: Cascade

20231218_164617~2.jpg

Marketing: Despite its very German sounding name, this beer was actually brewed in Canada by a Canadian company. The name roughly translates to Sawdust City (or so the can tells me) which is the name of the Brewery it comes from. The can is festive, seasonal, and joyful looking with traditional German imagery and colors. I absolutley love the can and was excited to try the beer. Lots of information on the can as well, which is nice. I had to look up what a few of the abbreviations meant like (OG/FG).

Color: The beer poured a rich copper color with a fluffy tan colored head that dissipated quickly.

Nose: A sweet, malt forward aroma with citrus hops. Some floral and spice notes coming through for me.

Taste: The beer had a very interesting and unexpected taste. I found it to be dry with a very pronounced bitterness. A little spicy and citrusy.

Texture: Sharp bubbles with a mild weighty mouthfeel.

20231218_163749~2.jpg

Impression: This beer was a little bit too far on the bitter side of the scale and did lack balance in my opinion, but nonetheless I really liked the beer. It was unexpected in taste and really reminded me of a dark beer that you might find in the Bavarian region of Germany. It was sort of reminiscent for me in a way. I would buy this again for sure.

Pale Ale


20231219_164621~2.jpg

Brewery: Silversmith Brewing Co
Origin: Ontario Canada
Style: Pale Ale
Abv: 5.0%
IBU: 35

20231219_164640~2.jpg

Marketing: Generic name for the beer. Monochrome yellow color palate. Simple tree design behind the company's usual stained glass symbol motif. Pleasing can to look at.

Color: The beer poured a yellow straw/hay color with a loose white foam on top.

20231219_164723~2.jpg

Nose: Floral and citrus hop notes. Grass coming through for me in background.

Taste: Somewhat dry, slight tanginess, finished strongly bitter.

Texture: Frothy in the mouth. Light body feel.

Impression: I generally don't care for Pale Ale style beers. I've always found them to be a little too hoppy and a little too bitter for my taste. That being said, I have mentioned in previous posts multiple times that I would drink any beer that this brewery produced. I have always found them to be quite exceptional. This beer was probably the weakest that I have tried from the Brewery but nonetheless I enjoyed it quite a bit. It was crisp and refreshing overall, just a little unbalanced to me, leading more to the bitter side.

Oatmeal Stout


20231223_161943~2.jpg

Brewery: Broadhead Brewery
Origin: Ottawa Canada
Style: Oatmeal Stout
Abv: 5.5%
IBU: Low
SRM: High

20231223_162000~2.jpg

Marketing: Simple black and white can. Somewhat boring to me. Indistinct information on back of the can.

Color: Poured black as ink with a flimsy mocha colored head.

Nose: Roasted notes with mild dark fruit aromas coming through for me.

Taste: Tangy, roasted malt flavors, strong cocoa, prune, mild smoke, finished bitter. Well balanced in my opinion.

Texture: Small bubbles, not too sharp. Medium bodied.

20231223_162023~2.jpg

Impression: I found this beer to be very flavorful but not overpowering, well balanced, fresh tasting, and very drinkable. It was an all around good beer for the style in my opinion. I would drink this again.

Original Golden Ale


20231222_161646~2.jpg

Brewery: Big Deal Brewing Co
Origin: Rochester, New York, USA
Style: Golden Ale
Abv: 5.5%

Marketing: Simple can design, baseball style lettering, and almost no additional information provided.

Color: Golden yellow hay with a hearty white foam on top.

Nose: Floral notes from the hops.

Taste: Floral. I noticed a slight staleness in the background.

Texture: I found this beer to have just slightly flat mouth feel about it.

20231222_161652~2.jpg

Impression: I wasn't a huge fan of this beer when I drank it but in fairness to the beer I drank it after having a glass of wine and while company was over so I didn't put a huge amount of effort into noticing its qualities and characters. That is the reason for my general lack of description above. Ultimately, I did not find this beer to be a "big deal" though. I didn't give it an equal shot but nonetheless I wasn't overly thrilled by it while drinking it so I wouldn't buy it again.

Conclusion


As usual, in this round of beer drinking there were some great beers and some duds. Overall I liked the Sägemehl Stadt Festbier the best followed by the Broadhead Oatmeal Stout. Which beer sounded good to you?

Well thats it for now. Until next time, thanks for stopping by. Cheers everyone!

Sort:  

At least you got a decent one with the oatmeal stout. I have found that chocolate stouts can be a little oversweet. It's a tricky balance that only a few get right but when they do it's usually awesome!

Yes I agree. When they are good they are really good. There was an excellent Double Chocolate Stout that I tried many years back that I used to see at the store every year around this time but I haven't been able to find it the past couple of years. I think its because the Liquor store has pretty much stopped selling beers in bottles (other than a select few) and has basically forced companies to switch to cans. That beer was an import and was in a bottle, so that's my guess.

I think you might be right. I have noticed the move to cans. It's rare to see some craft beers in a bottle these days.

All this talk of beer and I am feeling a thirst coming on! 😀

Yeah I think the cans are a little lighter and slightly easier to store since they are all consistent and have flat tops. They also crush down are are probably easier to recycle. That's my guess for the push in that direction.

Happy drinking

I reckon that will be the case. Far cheaper to manufacture.

And it's always happy drinking!! 😀😀

That first stout looks like a meal in itself! All good looking beers, hopefully they tasted nice too. !BEER

Some were good and some not so much. Maybe my taste preferences are changing but I haven't been too happy with my beer selection lately.

Well, at least you found one beer you enjoyed! I tend to like a sweet beer but for a dessert stout it needs to be above 7% otherwise it does just taste sweet with only a hint of the flavour they advertise. A stronger version gives so much more depth.

Yeah I would agree with that. The right time and place has an impact on how much you enjoy a beer as well I think. If I drank it after a meal I might have felt differently about it.

Nice selections, my choice will be the broadhead.

Happy Holidays

The Broadhead was the best in my opinion. So good choice 👌

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thanks for the support 👍

mother of beerss, i want the stout with milk send me a six pack. Incredible article and beers yesterday i won one can I have to look for it before Friday. Maybe today in the aftertnoon i will do it :D

Good luck in your search 👍

You are lover of beer to have taste all this verities, I don't drink beer but if am to choose from what you listed and how the advertised them I will go for oatmeal stout, I love anything that has oatmeal in it.

Good choice. That was my favorite of the lot.

I’m trying to imagine how the milk chocolate stout will taste
It must be very nice

I think it was one of those things where it sounds better than it actually tastes

 5 months ago  

Hey @leaky20, here is a little bit of BEER from @ablaze for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

It has really been long I have a quality taste like this and it wouldn't be bad to have a taste of this

Sounds like you are about due to have a beer! 🍺